We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Must See' If You're In Umbria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascata delle Marmore

Cascata delle Marmore
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Marmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 'Must See' If You're In Umbria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited the falls because a Danish family at our accommodation mentioned that they'd done some white water rafting there and it was only down the road from where we were staying. WOW! For once, our expectations were exceeded. The waterfalls - in 3 drops - are breathtaking and at times I felt like I was at the Angel Falls in Venezuela rather than in Italy. A visit to the falls was a 'must' for people like Byron, as part of their 'Grand Tour' of Europe and there's a monument to Lord Byron, who was inspired to write a poem about the place.
Best to go at weekends, as, otherwise, I understand they divert the water to power generators (and at weekends they do the same from 1pm- 3pm).
It's worth taking the long walk up to the top of the falls (it takes about an hour). It costs 8 euros per person and you have to pay for the toilets, which is a pain BUT we were there all day - well worth a visit. And don't miss out 'Lover's Balcony' - but you'll get soaked!!
We wished we'd found this place sooner, not at the end of our holiday. We'd definitely have gone back for some white water rafting. Fantastic place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,411
    895
    187
    66
    74
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice surprise on our way to Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Last day of our trip ,we travelled from Orvieto to Rome and decided to make a left turn on A1 towards Tern in Umbria. After a short turn in town (very sleepy, all shops closed on Sunday) we drove to the cascades and we were very surprised to find an enchanting natural park , very well organized and with several walking options towards the cascades . In such hot weather , it was both pleasant and enjoyable to our family. We will recommend it to all friends traveling in the vicinity of Rome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AvivaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you have time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Won't say much about their history etc. as you can easily find these on the website. I visited the Cascate on my way back to Rome from Orvieto.

Although the waterfalls may be viewed at any time of the day, they do open them up (and therefore are more spectacular to watch) at certain times of the day. Presently that's 4pm. There are excellent viewing points and walking tracks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FarrellMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just breathtaking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was a hot day the day we visited here but as soon as we started walking up the track to the top of the cascade, the cool spray of the water just delighted us. The view from below and above was just breathtaking. Mother nature is so beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonietta1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Still functional after 2300 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

How many 2300 year old engineering works are still fully operational?

This is simply amazing to see in the full flow state and then linger to see the thundering falls reduced to a trickle as the flow is diverted upstream.

According to one of the staff,the shuttle bus from lower to upper viewing areas is ONLY servicing on SUNDAYS which was a bit of a disappointment.

Get ALL your two way bus tickets before leaving town, as the are between hard and impossible to get at thr Falls area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascata delle Marmore also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Cascata delle Marmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing