We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Grande Maison

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The swimming pool with stunning views The front view of La Grande Maison
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The swimming pool with stunning views
The front view of La Grande Maison
The front garden area
The rear view of the properties
The large kitchen
The large kitchen from the rear door
A Welcome Box with staples, and any additional items on request
Outside eating and BBQ area
Large dining room
Large Living Room
Living Room
Living Room and large jotul woodburner
Living Room with TV/DVD corner
Living Room with original stone walls
Living Room with large doors to the front terrace
The mezzanine floor
The large downstairs bedroom with en-suite shower room and WC
The large downstairs bedroom
The large downstairs bedroom
The new en-suite bathroom off the downstairs bedroom
The new en-suite bathroom off the downstairs bedroom
The large landing
The large landing area
The Highland Cow on the large landing
The king size bed in the large family room
The Bordeaux Room - Child's bed area
The en-suite bathroom off the large family room
Double room with en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Twin or Triple bedroom
Twin or Triple bedroom
Twin or Triple bedroom
Twin or Triple bedroom
Double plus single Family Room
Double plus single Family Room
Double plus single Family Room
Shared Shower room
Double (or triple) room with en-suite shower/WC
Double (or triple) room with en-suite shower/WC
Front Door
Front path to front door
The swimming pool area
Rear garden (and table tennis)
Rear garden and giant chess board
Rear garden
Rear garden looking onto La Grande Maison
Rear garden showing badminton and petanque courts
Our fishing lake
Ariel view of the property
Private patio and BBQ area
Farmhouse kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Razac-d'Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
originalo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The gite is perfect. We were a mixed group of 13 travelling to a wedding nearby but made a holiday of it. The facilities are clean and ideal for large groups. Paul and Lisa were very good hosts but at the same time provided privacy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2018
Well you were 5☆ guests.....and you're always welcome x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Dav...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderful scenery and friendly, helpful, considerate owners. Would recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in glorious countryside. Close to local village and town and only 30 min from Bergerac.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2018
Bless you x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scenic539...
1 review
“Stunning spot in the countryside to relax and unwind...”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were a large family party of 13 and very lucky as the sun shone for most of the week. It was glorious!
The house was plenty big enough for us to all get together for meals and to gather in the lounge, but also for everyone to find space and do their own thing! The kitchen was huge, which meant that we could all mill around and not get in each others way. (It also meant that everyone could chip in and help!) No mean feat with a large party.
Some of us cycled to get the daily bread (bikes courtesy of Lisa and Paul) which was a couple of kilometres away and loved the early morning exercise.

The garden was a particular feature, as there was a huge lawn for the kids to run and play on, with a swing ball set and a wooden swing/slide set. Lisa and Paul have three lovely dogs and a cat who are very friendly and playful and shared the garden space. We were fine with this, as we love animals. The grown ups had space to organise a yoga session on the grass in the early evening...
The games area upstairs got a lot of use. The pool table was pretty much in constant demand in those free moments, during the day and helped to keep the kids entertained.

Even though it was early in the season, many of us went swimming in the pool. It gets full sun from early in the day and heated up a little whilst we were there, as it was a very sunny week, although not heated. It was a great spot to relax on the sun loungers and chill out.

Within the area, there are many small, historic towns to visit. We enjoyed Bergerac itself, which is beautiful, where we flew into from Exeter, but also
Duras, Issigeac, Eymet, and Castillonnes to mention a few. Most have markets on during the week. Its best to get there early if you can, as they start to shut up shop by lunchtime. Great to buy fresh veggies, although tends to be more expensive than the supermarkets.
Lisa and Paul were wonderful hosts and answered all our questions (there were lots!) and provided information on when and where the markets were happening, to help us plan our days. They cooked a meal for us one night (Paul was a chef in a previous life), which was great. He came and set up in our kitchen and served the food for us on our dining table in the garden. We had a lovely three course meal for a very reasonable price...and no one had to cook!
All in all, we had a fabulous week and would happily return in a heart beat. The best thing was that the kids were happily entertained, so the parents could have some chilling out time...

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you here....our first guests of 2017! I took some photos of the yoga on the lawn so will send those to you xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron D
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Dordogne”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

22 of us took over all the accommodation at La Petite Auberge.

A warm welcome awaited us from Paul and Lisa who had just taken over the property and they were so helpful throughout our stay. Stunning accommodation which Paul and Lisa intend to upgrade.

The family loved every minute of our time there and look forward to returning some time in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
We loved having you all...the place feels empty without you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just come back from an absolutely fantastic holiday at La Petite Auberge. You couldn’t ask for more helpful hosts who had the place spotlessly clean for our arrival in spite of only having moved out to France that same day! They were extremely helpful, especially on our last morning when our 3yr old developed an ear infection and we had to find a Doctor immediately (Pharmacy in Eymet also very helpful and arranged an appointment in Sigoules for us when they heard our predicament). La Grande Maison is such an interesting place to stay and very spacious! We made use of the BBQ most nights, lovely to sit out in the shade at the side of the house after a hot day. The first week became very hot and so we spent a lot of time by the pool which was lovely. It became slightly cooler and cloudier for a few days at the start of the second week and so we made the most of it and did some sight-seeing. Highlights (other than the gite!):
Eymet – Lovely little town, nice to sit and have a coffee and watch the world go by. We ate at La Maison D’Amour twice, their savoury pancakes and Plat Du Jour were very good. The night market on a Tuesday is a must visit. Very busy but excellent Moules Frites and wine!
Bergerac – Lovely to wander round the old streets and lots of places to choose from to eat at. We did the riverboat tour which was good.
Chateau Monbazillic – Absolutely stunning building, amazing views over Bergerac and interesting place to visit. They offer wine tasting as part of the price which we didn’t partake in, only because it was 11am and the wine is very sweet, having tasted it the previous year!
Chateau Bridoire – Brilliant place for children (and adults!). The grounds are full of hundreds of games; skittles, croquet, hook a clog, you name it is there. Café was very good for lunch, tasty quiche. “La Vallée Mystérieuse” was new for them this year and is extremely good, the owners have put an incredible amount of effort into creating this treasure trail/puzzle solving labyrinth. Good test for your French skills as the clues and puzzles are in French! This place is made even better when you read the history and realise that the owners are using the funds to gradually restore the chateau and they are the ones selling you the tickets, serving food etc.
Beynac – Incredibly beautiful town on the edge of the Dordogne with a very good riverboat tour. We spent quite a lot of time just wandering in the streets and taking in the views.
Wonderful 2 weeks and we will definitely be returning. Lisa and Paul have some great ideas and we can’t wait to see what happens!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
Thank for a lovely review.
We hope you be able to exceed expectations for your next trip x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing