We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy and private gite”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Campsegret, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NOEL D
Belmont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Comfortable, cosy and private gite”
Reviewed May 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fully self contained with all new kitchen. Great location as a base to explore region. Very friendly and helpful host, nothing too much trouble.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2018
Thank you Noel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your trip is going well. Regards. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david7_ed...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent refurbished Gite in a perfect setting”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Gite is independent of the house in whose grounds it stands with large gardens, swimming pool and ample parking. Being in countryside some 20 minutes drive from Bergerac, with its airport, it is perfectly situated for exploring the Town and the Dordogne area - and for local walks or just relaxing.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyB19...
2 reviews
“Beautifully designed gite, in a stunning location.”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved the stylish gite and had to force ourselves to get out and about and visit the stunning surrounding scenery.
Ali was incredibly helpful with tips for places to visit and eat out, in fact nothing was too much trouble for this gracious host.
We enjoyed every minute of our wonderful stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Thank you Tracey. We hope to see you back soon! Best. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stylish, comfortable gite”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a lovely and relaxing few days in Ali’s gorgeous gite. It is beautifully decorated, cosy, bright and very comfortable. Everything we could possibly have needed was thoughtfully supplied (along with some very generous extras) - the kitchen was so well-equipped and everything worked perfectly. Ali was a very friendly and discreet host.

The gite is situated in a quiet hamlet surrounded by a few hectares of nature. There are some lovely walks to take around the property. It was only a 15 minute drive to Bergerac, which we spent a day exploring.

We stayed in the dead of winter and had some challenging weather - it poured, it snowed, it was really cold outside - so the gite really came into its own as we spent a bit of time inside just relaxing and unwinding in warmth and comfort. It was so much more than somewhere to simply rest your head for the night.

You could easily spend a month in this gite. We’d love to return some time in the summer to fully appreciate the flowering natural surrounds and the lovely looking swimming pool.

I thoroughly recommended this beautiful gite.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it ....”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed in the beautiful gite for three nights. It was winter grey and snowing outside, yet inside was a warm and cosy place we didn’t want to leave. The setting of the house and gite is in a beautiful hamlet where only a few houses exist and it is like somewhere time has stood still, somewhere forgotten.

You are surrounded by woodland and wake to the sound of nothing but bird song, yet you are only 20 mins from Bergerac so you have the best of both worlds. The Gite was spotlessly clean, the bedding and towels were of top end hotel quality, and the bed super comfortable. We even had the luxury of a heated blanket. The gite was tastefully decorated and the layout was very spacious. You have English and French TV so another added extra.

The gite is totally independent from the house and very private. Ali welcomed us with a warm welcome and left us an abundance of lovely foods and wine. It was an absolute pleasure staying here and I highly recommend it. We can honestly say this is the nicest accommodation we have stayed in during our month in France.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Dear Andrea, I'm overwhelmed by your kind words, and pleased we are doing something right! Reviews are so important to our business, so that future guests know what to expect, especially as this is our first season hosting. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you back. Best Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed our time in the south of France near Campsegret. We flew into Bergerac and it was a simple 25 minute drive to La Maure. You won't miss Greg and Ali's place, a stunning building overlooking some forest behind. The gite itself is set slightly further back on the property and is far enough away to offer privacy. The inside looks as though it has recently been refurbished and is brilliantly stylish.

There are plenty of local markets all offering different cheese to sink your teeth into and wine some of which is produced locally. We used most of our time to relax and for me to get on with my writing but we hear there was plenty to get on with - kayaking along the Dordogne was unfortunately something we missed out on!

Greg and Ali were fantastic throughout and we could easily have stayed for longer had the gite not already been booked the following week. We will be back.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahbet...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed January 16, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rain or shine, this is a perfect getaway for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. Ali and Greg are warm and welcoming hosts (and fab cooks!), we instantly felt at home here. There was also plenty of activity going on in the surrounding villages if we wanted to be a little busier. I can't wait to visit again in the summer.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2018
We hope to see you again soon Hannah!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing