We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Christmas Island”
Review of The Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunset
Reviewed February 8, 2013

When you compare the remoteness of Christmas Island against other northern WA towns, the cost of food at Christmas Island and the demand on accommodation here, the price for ocean views is surprisingly low. This is my fourth trip back in 8 years. The accommodation has always been neat, clean and with all the amenities you need, its a place worth considering. I have always chosen the superior ocean view rooms so I've had the best of what they have to offer.
The hotel is a short walking distance to the pub and the pharmacy as well as a few shops between the two.

Room Tip: If possible make sure you book a minimum of three nights as they have a booking surcharge of $30 for...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lordtazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for The Sunset
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 54 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Located at the Settlement, this lodge is within walking distance of restaurants, post office, visitor center, Flying Fish Cove. Very convenient location. Great view in the evening of the Indian Ocean. Peaceful and quiet. Had a most wonderful stay, watching the red crab migration and forest trekking. Rooms are clean and spacious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChinPongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Quiet, cleaned daily, own bathroom, some rooms over look the ocean and see the setting sun, short walk to pub and restaurant, on site parking for your hire car, need to book advance,all rooms have fan and air conditioning,the red crabs can bee seen around the hotel during the spawning season,

Room Tip: book in advance
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hosta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is named the Sunset for a reason. The views are magnificent! Angela ia one of the friendliest hosts you could wish for. I was really impressed that before I asked, she had worked out that I was leaving for the airport in the afternnon, and so she offered me a late checkout without even being asked. The Sunset does not offer any meals, and as they are quite small, perhaps that is understandable. I had no difficulty finding good dinners every night, but breakfasts were a problem. I could not find many places, and those I did find all opened quite late, when I was already at work. My sugggestion to the Sunset would be to provide a sheet in each room, of available restaurants with opening timesand a simple map.
If I go back to Christmas Island, I would stay nowhere else...

Room Tip: Sea view, upper level, is the best. Also the most pricey.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwilymHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Amazing view over the ocean and Flying Fish Cove. Owners Angela and Dennis couldn't do enough for you. Daily room service. Swimming pool to cool you down at the end of a hot day.
Very clean. Air-conditioned for comfort. What more could you want.
Cafe and Restaurant in walking distance for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Room 201, upstairs on the corner. Car hire for any trip to Christmas Island essential, can be arran...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annelies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great place to stay on an Island with amazing bird life and scenery- plus the red crabs! Very friendly staff and owners (Angela) who make you feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are good for the views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mikel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

For the price, it was disappointing however everything is expensive on the island. The rooms could do with makeover - new and softer pillows, new bed covers, curtains that close properly, better lighting and the bathrooms need a total refurbishment. Also, I had ants and cockroaches in my room - the ants even managed to get into the fridge!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Passepartout55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset

Address: 4/55-63 Gaze Road | Settlement, Christmas Island, Flying Fish Cove, Christmas Island 6798, Australia
Location: Australia > Christmas Island > Flying Fish Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Flying Fish Cove
Price Range: $113 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset has a perfect location with ocean frontage. The rooms are serviced daily. Rooms are air-conditioned with king / queen size beds or twin share. All rooms have an en-suite, microwave, fridge, toaster & cutlery/crockery for two. Centrally located at Settlement, The Sunset is only a short stroll to shops ,The Golden Bosun Tavern & Rumah Tinggi Restaurant. WIFI is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Christmas Island/Flying Fish Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing