We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Kwai Jungle Rafts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Absolutely beautiful place in a secluded spot on the River Kwai. We were only here for one night but totally fell in love with the place. There is no electricity (although WiFi is available at the bar/restaurant so the whole place is lit up at night with parrafin lights making it exceptionally beautiful and peaceful. The craftsmanship of the rafts themselves is something to behold. The food is reasonable, slipping on a lifejacket and floating down river form one end of the resort to the over amazing fun. Add in visits from the village elephant, the overall beautiful setting and the fact that the whole thing is run by the local villagers and you get a really special experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolfester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
There are newer reviews for River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We did the 2D/1N tour, I thought it was very good value, the experience of staying on the river is amazing. We did the tourist excursions and they were very interesting and informative. The guide seemed well informed but rather impatient. Swimming in the river was definitely a highlight, grab a life jacket and float down the river, good fun and relaxing. If you go to the performance after dinner sit up the back as the music is like a bunch of kids banging pot lids. The food was OK, no massage available, receptionist rather rude. The attraction of this place is definitely its location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Syrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

What an amazing place. It is absolutely beautiful. Tranquil and relaxing in the middle of the jungle.
From the journey along the river to the rafts, to the food, staff and accommodation everything was perfect. An unforgettable experience. Cannot recommend highly enough. Everyone should experience this!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roundtheworld3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is my first adventure/natural trip… i never thought that i can spend my holidays in some places without electricity.. But i'm wrong, i really fell in love with this place and i think i can stay more than just 1 night. I want to spend more time reading the book and listen to the music nearby the River Kwai, in the middle of peaceful jungle. And wana a enjoy more at night looking at the millions stars in the very dark sky. There are many activities you can enjoy around the raft ex. enjoy the private moving raft, walk to Mon village, swimming in the River Kwai and watch the Mon show at night.

The staff, the room, service, and location are all good. Especially the Mon staff, they are all nice, friendly and full with service mind. Looking forward to spend my weekend at Jungle Rafts again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoupaeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days 2 nights in November last year. It was total relaxation and I would recommend to anyone, you will struggle to find anywhere that would make you feel more relaxed and at one with nature. It was simply amazing.
It was raining heavy when we arrived and we got soaked during the journey to the rafts, however the journey there on the boats was stunning and not even the rain could dampen the mood.
We visited hell fire pass and the local village. Sam was our guide, he was brilliant, friendly and always happy to give any advice or help. The food was good considering everything is shipped in and cooked on site, staff were always happy to bring you more, if like us you were sat on a table with vultures!! Bar prices were reasonable and had good choices. The food did become a little repetitive towards the end of our stay but as I say it was always delicious.
The entertainment at night wasn't good and I'm glad we didn't pay extra for this, it was bad dancing and people banging pans with a spoon (or at least that's what it sounded like).
The cold showers and paraffin lamps are all part of the ambience. Make sure you take good mosquito repellant and keep the mosquito nets around your bed, we never had a problem with them. We swam in the river which was a good experience, make sure you wear a life jacket as the current is very strong and you could easily get carried away. Youre not supervised so have to manage to stop and get out of the river on your own, not sure where you end up if you miss the steps on the last raft!
It was total relaxation. Sunbathing, laying in the hammocks on your raft, listening to nothing but the sounds of nature. We were lucky enough to see monkeys in the trees opposite our raft and laid listening to them for hours.
I'm glad we didn't just go for one night, two were ideal, more than that and you may get bored.
If you are a light sleeper you may want to take ear plugs as you can hear everything from the next cabins.
The highlight of the trip was waking in the morning to elephants bathing in the river outside our cabin and feeding them at breakfast.
If there's one thing you do when visiting Thailand it's got to be this.
I was ready for a hot shower by the end of it but the experience was truly amazing, who needs electricity!
I would recommend asking for an end cabin which is what we did, that way you don't get people running past and its a little more private.


Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KazandSilky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The rafts are beautifully located on the river Kwai with beautiful surroundings. We stayed for one night only and booked our room with dinner and lunch as well as transfer to and from the Resotel pier.

The atmosphere at the rafts is great, especially at dusk when the petroleum lamps are lit and everything gets dark.

The food is not great, but okay. Considered that everything has to be brought by boat thats not too bad. However we wouldnt recommend to order lunch when you're just staying one night. Not worth it. Drink prices are alright, not overly expensive.

The staff is not very friendly, but also not unfriendly. Just bored I guess.

There's no electricity! So load up your camera before you arrive.

The rooms are spacious, clean and equipped with comfy beds, bathroom (with shower) and a hammock. Don't forget... they are floating on the flowing river! So bring ear plugs if you are sensible to noise.

The transportation to the resotel pier has to be organized by yourself. You should also arrange the pickup from the pier beforehand since the rafts reception will charge more.

All in all it's a very nice experience and worth the money. However we thought that one night was enough. We wouldn't have wanted to stay more than two nights.

Oh and we didn't like that there was some mobile float with a large group of tourists docking on the neighbouring float blocking the view for over an hour shortly before sunset. You should make sure you'll get a float far from any possible "docking" float.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

OMG can only describe this place, cause im sure it was designed for only him to enjoy, wow what a breath taking paradise in a remote jungle location with only a 30 min or so long boat trip past the other hotels, purchased land by a french man in the mid 70's a 3 mile stretch of paradise has been left untouched, apart from the small village of Mon People and a couple of elephants, and the superb Jungle Rafts hotel, Didnt know alot about this place until i arrived, he no TV NO electric No wifi, great the only noise is from the jungle and the Bar, another chang please, Basic food but great quality full of taste good portions good price on drinks and the chance to unwind,

Get up in the morning and feed the 2 local elephants which is wow one hell of an experience, and the staff cant do enough for you, there is also the chance to have a massage or go for a human raft ride in the river from one end of the hotel to the other, life vests provided,

Most of the staff speak really good english and several other languages, theres a good range of clients and overall this is one place you should not miss, like truly being in heaven

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank numptydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Yok
9.8 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
125 reviews
6.9 mi away
River Kwai Jungle View
River Kwai Jungle View
#14 of 26 in Sai Yok
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
The FloatHouse River Kwai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
River Kwai Resotel
River Kwai Resotel
#1 of 5 in Sai Yok
815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Home Phutoey River Kwai Resort
9.1 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort

Address: Baan Tahsao | Tahsao, Sai Yok 70150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Sai Yok
Price Range: $82 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Jungle Rafts. The original floating hotel or Floatel since 1976 in Kanchanaburi Thailand. It was recognized as UNSEEN PARADISE in Thailand and welcoming people around the world. The River Kwai Jungle Rafts is selected as one of the best for floating hotels in the world by The Telegraph UK in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Hotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort Thailand/Kanchanaburi Province - Sai Yok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing