We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand and we had heard about this place from several people who had also stayed here. We were a bit worried about the no electricity bit but decided to give it ago and treat it as an adventure! The location is truly breathtaking, being taken there by longtail boat, seeing the different accommodation and animals along the way was great, it's about half an hour from when you get on to the jungle rafts. The accommodation is totally natural, being completed in natural wood. The room is not big but it has everything you need and the cold shower cools you down - just remember to have it not too late or it will be really cool and don't forget - there isn't much light only an oil lamp and a torch, so get everything out you need for the night! Seeing the elephant have a bath right outside your hut was electric at 7am. The food was good, not much choice, not fancy at all, but you are in safe hands and the beer is great too! The staff were really good, one in particular that came with us for all the trips but unfortunately I have totally forgotten his name. He was very profesional and friendly and told us lots of stories just walking with him. he even rowed us up to our next accommodation on his afternoon off! We went on trips arranged by the company and all was good. There was some changes and sometimes you are not sure if they know what they are doing but everything always falls into place, and you miss nothing! The elephant ride here was amazing, no tourists, just an hour in the jungle with hubby, elephant trainer and me and of course Wendy the elephant. Only negative was the show in the evening was not great only 25 minutes and they didn't look like they were enjoying it which was a shame. Remember, wherever you go, a 3 / 4/ 5 star hotel all starts looking the same - this is different, and it is something you will remember, our next 6 hotels was nice but this was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingJulie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    387
    135
    45
    20
See reviews for
288
429
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We wanted to see the bridge over the River Kwai, visit the WW II Hell Fire Pass Museum and see some other areas of interest in the Kanchanaburri area of Thailand and found one of the best ways to do this.
We were collected in Bangkok, driven to the Kanchanaburri area and arrived via long boat to the Hotel that floats on the river. After travelling up river passing some rather average looking Hotels were a little concerned about what we may have got ourselves into but we should not have worried.
The Hotel was fantastic, certainly not over the top in a 5 star way, no electricity in the Hotel at all and air temperature showering, but it was picture perfect. The one restaurant served a very good lunch and dinner, Thai-style, and then a reasonable Western breakfast the following morning.
Highlights were floating in the river after a day of touring and sitting relaxing at the waters edge with a drink and good conversation. Very peaceful!
With all of the tours taken care of by great English speaking guides, pick up and drop off to Bangkok, the meals all included, and a very nice restaurant / bar / Hotel rooms, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingJolphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a tour, and absolutely loved this place. The journey on long tailed boats was exciting,scenery beautiful. Visited the Mon village,very interesting. The food was excellent,we had a communal Thai dinner and a bacon and egg breakfast! The cold shower was refreshing.Free wi fi in such a remote place was a bonus. Mon dancing show was great entertainment in their little theatre. Comfy beds and mozzie nets, hammock to relax,a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We wanted to stay in Kanchanaburi to see some WWII history, but our travel agent booked us this place. Quite far from the city of Kanchanaburi, but accessible by boat and car if you have the time. Unfortunately, we didn't have the time to do what we wanted to do in Kanchanaburi because of the distance, but the accommodation was worth the sacrifice. Absolutely stunning location in the jungle, right next to a village of Mon people. The place was a haven for relaxation in the afternoons, with decks and hammocks for sunbaking and a river for swimming, and massages if you want one. The bar prices are cheap and the rooms are small but homely. You can see the stars at night and feel the cold, so pack a jumper and warm PJs! The cold shower is a shock to the system but the only downside to the electricity situation is the lighting so it might be good to take a torch for some extra lighting (they do have lamps and keychain torches but they sometimes didn't quite do the trick). The staff at the hotel vary from amazing to extremely passive (one guy behind the counter wasn't keen on talking at all), some were very understanding and helpful when my girlfriend got sick. The atmosphere was fantastic at night, definitely check out the Mon dancing! The village was right on the doorstep and you can stroll around and see how they live. They bring the elephant down for a bath and feeding in the mornings so don't miss out on that! Definitely recommend a couple of nights here if you can, thanks for the person who recommended taking small notes, lifesaver!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfisher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent one night at the River Kwai Jungle Rafts as part of an excursion to the region of Kanchanaburi. We arrived by boat as it is remote and not easy to get to by road. It was an exciting experience as the scenery is beautiful and the river twists through jungle with stunning wildlife. Be careful where you sit as you can get a bit of spray from the river.

We were given lunch when we arrived which was very nice, we were sat with the rest of our tour group and we shared a selection of food. Initially we were slightly unsure about this format but it encouraged us to speak to each other and we enjoyed mealtimes on the Jungle Rafts.

The rooms are simple. There is no electricity so it can be quite dark here. At night, the rafts are lit with gas lamps but it is still quite dark so be careful when staying here. I nearly tripped over on several occasions! Also bear in mind – the walls are very thin and I could hear EVERYTHING from the next room (including bathroom sounds and 4 hours of snoring!) so might not be the best for romance.

We stayed here in January and it did get very cold. I was surprised at how cold it got at night! I would definitely recommend bringing some warmer clothing if you are coming up to this area.
All in all, staying here is an experience. It is basic (no electricity and no hot water) and it is different to any other place I have stayed. I did enjoy staying here but I think one night is enough due to the lack of mod cons. It is very quiet here and there isn’t much to do in the evenings. This is rafts on the River Kwai and it is a unique type of accommodation in the heart of the jungle. We even saw elephants drinking water along the banks which was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixibelle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Officially the rafts are only accessible by long tail boat, though there is a Mon village up the hill behind the rafts, which is accessible by road. The boats however are a nice way to approach the rafts. The rooms are a little small, but you visit here for the experience, not the luxury. Dinner and breakfast are served in the bar area, with dinner being the far better of the two. We visited in January, and it gets quite cool in the early hours and at dawn, so go prepared, but waking to see the river shrouded in mist is a pleasing experience.

You can swim in the river, or rather be carried along by the current, and although life jackets are provided, I would not recommend this unless confident.

The highlight for me though was being able to sit outside our room after dinner and see stars that are not normally invisible because of light pollution, and with little noise to disturb. There is entertainment (160 bht) provided by the local Mon village for about 30 mins after dinner. Not really our cup of tea, but helps to fund the village.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our 2 night stay at the Jungle Rafts was by far the best part of our 2 week stay in Thailand. Our guide Sam was brilliant, and he taught us much about the local Mon people and their heritage of which he is clearly proud. He certainly helped enhance our stay there. The setting for the Jungle Rafts is absolutely magical, and only being able to access it by a 45 minute journey up the river by long tail boat adds to the exclusivity. The basic facilities only add to the charm of the place. We tried the massage which we would recommend, especially relaxing watching and listening to the river flowing past a few feet away. The food was tasty and there was plenty of it. The bar prices reasonable considering the remote location. We could have joined the various excursions on offer, but it was too tempting just to relax in a hammock listening to the sounds of the river and jungle. Go there, it's an experience you won't forget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWarwick1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Yok
9.8 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
124 reviews
6.9 mi away
River Kwai Jungle View
River Kwai Jungle View
#11 of 25 in Sai Yok
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
River Kwai Resotel
River Kwai Resotel
#1 of 5 in Sai Yok
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The FloatHouse River Kwai
9.1 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Home Phutoey River Kwai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort

Property: River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Address: Baan Tahsao | Tahsao, Sai Yok 70150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Sai Yok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Jungle Rafts. The original floating hotel or Floatel since 1976 in Kanchanaburi Thailand. It was recognized as UNSEEN PARADISE in Thailand and welcoming people around the world. The River Kwai Jungle Rafts is selected as one of the best for floating hotels in the world by The Telegraph UK in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Hotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort Thailand/Kanchanaburi Province - Sai Yok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing