We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exotic Place”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Exotic place in a very beautiful natural site, not for everyone - here you can find no electricity and only wooden stuff, but it's very romantic in the evening in the light of oil lamp. It is very challenging to spent here a week, but it's a great experience to stay in one night!You can have a walk to the Mon village and see their traditional dance in the evening, the trip to the hotel in a small thai boat is unforgetable

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphirdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    385
    132
    45
    19
See reviews for
287
423
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed on the jungle raft for 2 nites couldnt have had a better time. All you people going on about no power and cold showers you knew that before you went on them. The food was so nice and you could eat as much as you want and they never over charged you for drinks we drank at the bar both nights with another 2 couples we meet which one couple have become really good friends now.
Drink prices were so good, We went on a cruise on Halong Bay, Vietnam for 2 nite and they really charged you for drinks once they get you on their boats but not the River Kwai Jungle Raf/t.. The gardens on the raft were so nice and they they take you to beauitful waterfalls.The staff couldn't do enough for you it was our highlight of our holiday we have travelled heaps and this was one of the best things we have done. The tours from the rafts were good all up best time 10 out of 10. Worth doing

Room Tip: all the rooms are just about the same you have a hammock on the back and front of your room . and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear SummerGoldC.,

Thank you for your stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts, the world’s awarded floating hotel in Thailand.
and sharing your great fun and experiences to other readers.

We love to hear that you like our floating hotel style and perhaps this might bring you back to revisit us in different seasons which you will have different magical atmosphere and experience that you will never want to forget.

We really look forward to welcome you back to River Kwai Resotel Resort in the near future.

Kindest regards,

River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
239 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Floating hotel on the River Kwai Noi in west of Thailand. No electricity so no aircon, no lighting other than dozens of oil lamps, no hot water etc. But western toilets (into tanks on each pontoon) and great food cooked by gas. You do get a 3G signal for as long as your phone battery lasts. There is rudimentary (on and off again) wifi in dining area. I am not sure how that is powered.

Staffed by Mon villagers from the village on the hill behind the hotel. They are knowledgable and very helpful. And friendly of course!

The place was started 40 years ago and is in great condition. There are plenty of side trips if you like that stuff but it is also a very relaxing few days.

It seems it is mainly occupied by Westerners so don't expect a Thai cultural interchange!

We spent three days there and had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: Tips. 1. Take cash with you. Especially smaller notes. All side trips and soft and alcohol drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Johnnie1948,

Thank you for your stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts and sharing your experiences to other readers.

Thank you for liking our floating hotel offering the concept back to the nature.

For your question, we provide internet WiFi as we believe that it is important these days. However we do not provide any other electronics equipment like TV that could spoil the atmosphere. We are proud to share to you that the way we get the internet to the floating hotel is not easy. We wired the cable across the mountain buried under the group to the shore. Then the modem router on the floating hotel is charged with big batteries which need to be recharged thrice a day to make sure that the power is constant enough to provide the internet to our guests. We do aware that sometimes the internet does not work due to the weather that affects the signal and that might be during the time that the batteries are recharging.

We love to hear that you like our floating hotel style and perhaps this might bring you back to revisit us in different seasons which you will have different magical atmosphere and experience that you will never want to forget.

We hope to see you back to River Kwai Jungle Rafts again soon.

Kindest regards,

River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is not for the faint of heart as it has no hot water and electricity. Also the walls are made of rattan so there is no chance of napping during the day. The location us un-believable and the hotel itself if an experience strait out of Swiss Family Robinson. If you are like me and have secretly always wanted to take the Disney Jungle cruise to the Swiss family tree and stay there, then this is the place for you!. At night the lamp light gives everything a warm glow. In the morning the mist rises off the river and you can sit and watch people floating downstream. Or you can watch the Elephant come down the hill for it's morning feeding. The hotel was nice enough to arrange all our transport to and from Bangkok, plus our excursions. We even got a great massage for only 10.00 for the hour!. I also enjoyed hiking the Mon village behind the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The jungle raft hotel is amazing. You get there with a long tail boat, beautiful 45 min journey on the river. Great opportunity to see untouched bamboo forest on the banks of the river, which is refreshing after coming from Bangkok. Our guide Sam was very fun and knowledgeable, the Mon village above the hotel is very peaceful and pretty. If you like you can join some kids playing soccer on the field. Food is plentiful and delicious. At night the hotel lights up with candles and oil lamps as there is no electricity on the rafts, which is absolutely magic. There are plants covering the bamboo rafts, which make you feel part of the jungle.

The rooms are simple but comfortable with hammocks. There are good mosquito nets above the beds. During the dry season you can go for a swim... its quite fun with the current.

An elephant came to the back deck of our room for a bath :-)
In the morning we were there two mahouts brought there elephants for a swim and we were able to feed them some fruits.

Very beautiful experience that we definitely recommend :-) However we should say that getting in and out of the long tail boats requires a bit of flexibility.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naha, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect from our trip but were definitely surprised. If you arrive willing to be friendly with the people who run the Resotel (as opposed to ignoring them as we saw many folks do), this could potentially be the best experience of your trip to Thailand. As a few other reviewers noted, you get to take a long-tail speedboat down the river to the hotel, but you'll also get to visit the nearby (easy walking distance) village of the Mon people who run the hotel, feed the local elephant right by the hotel, float along the hotel from one end to the other, and watch the Mon employ the elephant to help repair the hotel. Just as enjoyable, we were able to befriend a few of the Mon who work at the hotel. My son was invited to play soccer with the local boys when they took a break from work and we always felt welcome and never wanted for help for travel arrangements while we stayed there. You'll also never go hungry - we had plenty to eat at the included breakfast and dinner, and almost regretted arranging for lunch because we were so full. One note: I would call the hotel rustic - clean and well kept, but with no electricity or hot water, so expect a floating camping experience, with a comfortable mattresses that rocks you to sleep with the river current. Also, the Resotel is 60km South of Konchaniburi - some guidebooks list it as only 6. The hotel can arrange transfers to your next destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velojake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The floating Hotel is a Mini-Adventure. The arrival happens with a longboat from the "Resotel Pier" (Sign at the Road also indicating River Rafts would have been helpful!). The rafts don't have electricity, but oil lamps are provided, so at least You can find something at night. Dinner was VERY good. My girlfriend choose vegetarian, me regular, so our desk ended up with 10 different platters of delicious food ;-)


Very romantic atmosphere and great service.


Only negative thing: The website announced kaiaking down river Kwai from hellfire pass for 1200 baht. On side, we have been told that there's an additional 1500 baht transport costs...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank realdognose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Yok
9.8 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
9.1 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.9 mi away
River Kwai Jungle View
River Kwai Jungle View
#8 of 25 in Sai Yok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
River Kwai Resotel
River Kwai Resotel
#1 of 5 in Sai Yok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.2 mi away
The FloatHouse River Kwai
0.0 mi away
The River Life Resort
The River Life Resort
#18 of 25 in Sai Yok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort

Property: River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Address: Baan Tahsao | Tahsao, Sai Yok 70150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Sai Yok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Jungle Rafts. The original floating hotel or Floatel since 1976 in Kanchanaburi Thailand. It was recognized as UNSEEN PARADISE in Thailand and welcoming people around the world. The River Kwai Jungle Rafts is selected as one of the best for floating hotels in the world by The Telegraph UK in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Hotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort Thailand/Kanchanaburi Province - Sai Yok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing