We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Absolutely loved our 3 nights on the river Kwai. The rooms are basic but clean. The breakfasts were pretty basic as well... however the lunch and diners were delicious authentic Thai/Burmese food. Walking through the Mon village and elephant ride through the jungle were highlights. Lovely friendly staff who also were the cultural entertainment in the evening doing traditional Mon dance and music! Great experience for the kids. Although slightly stressful for the parents... staying on rafts, on a fast flowing river! Couldn't really let out 5 year old wonder around by himself. Worth it though!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was an experience and only being the second day in to our lengthy tour we were not sure what to expect. What we got was one of the best overnighters you could ask for. Yes there is no electricity or hot water (if the weather was warmer it wouldn't have mattered but it was not all that hot) but this means you were not long out of bed once the sun went down and yet awake at the crack of dawn! The staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was good considering the remoteness of the location. The tour through a traditional MON village was an experience, one I will never forget. The little tour group we were with were from all sides of the globe and we had an absolute blast drink JB & warm lemonade on the jetty watching some Russian's learn how not to swim in a fast flowing river! Absolutely perfect! Would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandii T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After the worst start to this two day trip with bus breaking down constantly and our tour guide hit by a car we finally made it 8 hrs late to this most amazing place. WOW so peaceful the scenery was amazing. the Mon village was also stunning the people very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Jungle Rafts were a great experience during my trip trough Thailand. There is no electricity but you know that before you go there. There rafts are a bit primative but that's somethings you forget when you lay in bed, listening to the floating river underneath you. The food is great but there are children working in the restaurant. It's possible to do some trips in the River Kwai area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to the River kwai jungle rafts, It was a great experience! there is no electricity or warm water that makes it very special experience. The staff is very friendly but that is like almost all thai people very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin21584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Originally we were to stay at this resort,
It is a experience for those who want to really be away from the city as much as possible.

We visited the mon village that is near and stopped by, I guess it was low season and no guests were around, but staff was just sleeping and lazing around when we arrived.

No electricity, fans or any facilities power generated, looks as a interesting place to visit, but I'ld give it a one night stay only, unless you are really ready to experience living as a jungle explorer in the 1900s.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sr_Kiasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What an experience. We stayed at the jungle rafts in July and it was fantastic. To get there a boat takes you to the hotel in half an hour. The fastest 30 minutes of your life because of the beautiful scenery. The staff that welcomes you is very friendly and helpful and their english is better then in most other accomodations in Thailand.

The rooms are clean and they use a heavy insect reppelent, cause the three days we were there I didn't see one musquito. I did see loads of very big cockroaches so I was very happpy with the mosquito net.

The breakfast was good. Everyone got the same amount of food on their plate and service was fast. The same goes for dinner. You can't order a la carte. Everyone gets a few dishes on the table and that's it, but the amount was good and so was the taste.

Because of the lack of luxury, two nights were good enough for me. I longed for a hot shower and electricity.

When you're in the area, please stay at least a night. The experience is something you'll never forget. Back to nature!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stedentripsvansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sai Yok hotels
9.8 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
The FloatHouse River Kwai
1.7 mi away
River Kwai Resotel
River Kwai Resotel
#1 of 5 in Sai Yok
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Banrimkwae Paerimnam Resort
6.9 mi away
River Kwai Jungle View
River Kwai Jungle View
#14 of 25 in Sai Yok
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Home Phutoey River Kwai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort

Address: Baan Tahsao | Tahsao, Sai Yok 70150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Sai Yok
Price Range: $88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Jungle Rafts. The original floating hotel or Floatel since 1976 in Kanchanaburi Thailand. It was recognized as UNSEEN PARADISE in Thailand and welcoming people around the world. The River Kwai Jungle Rafts is selected as one of the best for floating hotels in the world by The Telegraph UK in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Hotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort Thailand/Kanchanaburi Province - Sai Yok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing