We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
17
47
60
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
47
60
8
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 137 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were only here for one night for an early morning start for the Anzac dawn service next day. However the room was spacious although spartan, the bed comfortable and everything clean although old looking. Rooms are air conditioned and ours had a balcony that looked out over the river. The swimming pool was an excellent way of cooling off after a long day travelling. Dinner was provided and was a lovely selection of Thai dishes - so much food! There was a floor show of small children performing Thai dances which was very cute and enjoyable. The resort is a good way from anywhere however so it is difficult to want to eat elsewhere or browse markets stalls etc. This would be somewhere I would want to stay if I just wanted to relax and do nothing!

Room tip: It doesn't seem to matter, every room is a long way from reception and the restaurant!
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Located in its own large grounds on the banks of the River Kwai (Yai) with a great swimming pool, the hotel is nearly really good. However, the seclusion makes it difficult to walk outside and choose another restaurant if you don't really like the hotel restaurant (it is 2-3 kilometres into town). Similarly, the rooms we stopped in were somewhat spartan/functional and you viewed them as somewhere to sleep, rather than spend any time in. We didn't find the hotel restaurant that good on the first night and so went into town on the other night of the stay. Breakfast was OK.

On the plus side, our son loved the number of geckos that lived in the main part of the hotel, and that was one of his holiday highlights. Swimming pool was the largest of the trip and the small pool for young kids was particularly large.

Room tip: Ask to see the room type when booking. We were on a trip and the room we had was basic (but OK). From the web site, it looks that some of the other room types were more inviting.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mqb2766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Pung-Waan resort,Kanchanaburi is next to the Kwai river, The rooms are nice, with a TV though old, balcony, fine bathrooms. There is no buffet breakfast but overall i had a nice stay

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Experto109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

If you are looking to get off the beaten trail, but like your luxury – a ride on the railway from Kanchanaburi to the end of the line (Nam Tok) and a stay at the Pungwaan resort - is a great combination.

The train ride really is special. I sat by an open window (there are only 3rd class carriages) and watched as the train passed through fields of sugarcane, maize, rice and cassava. At one point we passed a group of buffaloes wallowing in the mud – an intimate glimpse of rural Thailand. The last half hour of the ride, we caught sight of the river and the mountains of Burma – with some really spectacular views.

This is the infamous railway built during WW2 that once ran to Burma. Now the line terminates at Nam Tok, but at Hellfire Pass you can still walk along the old train beds and take in the extreme terrain the prisoners and conscripts had to work in – digging out a line with hand tools. No wonder so many perished!

I got on at Kanchanaburi and it was just under 2 hours to Nam Tok – at a leisurely pace with lots of stops….which was great as I was enjoying the ride. Most tourists got off the train before the end. The hotel had arranged a minibus to meet us and take us to the resort (only about 5 minute drive away). You can travel to Nam Tok all the way from Bangkok (it’s still only 100 Baht for a ticket), but I gather it’s a very slow journey that takes all day and is probably not very picturesque before Kanchanaburi – so only for the hardy!

Pungwaan resort is very green and peaceful – a real change from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. (If you are looking for nightlife, this is probably not the place for you). Rooms and amenities are luxurious, corresponding to its 3 star rating. It is under Thai management, some but not all staff speak English – a chance to practice your Thai!

We stayed there as a family party, and the kids found lots of activities within the hotel grounds (a challenge course, biking, and rafting down the river which flows through the resort). The adult option was to enjoy a massage at the spa and wander round the scenic gardens.

Most tourists to the region seem to stay at Kanchanaburi and take a day excursion to Hellfire Pass Museum, Erawan Falls that includes a short ride on the train – but it makes for a very full day. Staying at Pungwaan Resort gave us a more leisurely option – we could allow a whole day each for Hellfire Pass and Erawan Falls (excursions which the hotel can arrange), enjoying the beautiful grounds (and huge swimming pool) at Pungwaan in between.

Room tip: the resort is spread out, with many different styles of rooms. We stayed in chalets close to reception. Had nice balcony.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meadowmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid August 2011. It is in a lovely part of Kanchanaburi province and it's proximity to Hell fire Pass and all the other WW2 sites makes it a great choice if you are looking for complete relaxation and a unique out of the way resort. The grounds are gorgeous and you can walk around for a long time on beautiful walking paths. The pool area is absolutely stunning. The rooms were very nicely appointed and very comfortable. You can use the bicycles at the resort if you wish to explore the area, but as the title of my review states, this resort really is in the middle of nowhere.
Because of this fact, your eating options are really limited, other than breakfast, which is included, as is a lovely spread of both Asian and western choices, including omleletes and fried eggs, you have little option other than to eat at the resort for lunch and dinner, unless you are with a tour and are out of the resort.

The dinner menu presents itself as rather comical upon presentation at first glance. It is almost like a children's menu with it's colourful design, but in actuality it is excellent for english speakers, as it caters to all dietary needs. they will make dishes vegetarian if needed and if you have an allergy they will adjust the dish as necessary. all the dishes we had were excellent.

it appears they have a schedule for fun activities at night, but we din't partake in any of them as we were too tired and went to bed early!
I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet out of the way resort and spa.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank default29012019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews