We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and active”
Review of River Kwai Resotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Kwai Resotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sai Yok
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Central and active”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a good value location at Khanchanburi , right on a tributary of the River Kwai. Would be good for children. It seems to be a bit of a centre so all activities are easily accessed. There is s a lot of boat trips involved so if you are unsteady around boats, be aware. We had an isolated villa /cabin.It was clean and good with effective aircon , which you will need, and wifi. The Mon village is associated with the resort and we enjoyed the visit to their village and their music and dance performance at night. The breakfast was OK, a bit meagre. Staff were generally helpful ,some more than others,and fairly laid back. Staff seemed to be mainly geared for groups. I would recommend this hotel as a sound place for an overnight stop on the River Kwai precinct. For Australians, Hellfire Pass and Burma rail locations are well accessed from here.

Room Tip: All villas seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    368
    137
    39
    17
See reviews for
181
381
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The location is just amazing as you take the long boat down the Kwai River to the Resotel. The staff are also friendly and helpful. However it was obvious the tour buses take priority to independent travellers. Never expect a great table location for dinner because they are always reserved for large parties.

The Resotel also has a captive audience and buying from other locations is difficult while the amenities are lacking. If you want a tissue, your choice is toilet paper. If you want chilled white wine they only refrigerate the very expensive option. Towels are also old and tore with use. Massage is hardly relaxing when it is an open area above the restaurant.

From the website we expected a bit more - but it is what it is. Concept is right, location is right, staff are good, just disappointed with the overall quality.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the river which is pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at the River Kwai Resotel for 3 nights in a deluxe room from 23 - 26 March 2014. I would highly recommend this hotel for the adventurous way of getting there (10 minutes up a river in a long boat), also the great staff, rooms and variety of food available. The deluxe room was on the top floor which was like waking up in a tree house. The food was hot and delicious and the staff were extremely helpful in arranging private transfers to Hell Fire Pass, Erawan Waterfall and Bridge on the River Kwai. Sitting on the river or relaxing by the pool was a great way to relax at the end of the day. The resort also has the cultural Mon village with a traditional dance is performed every night as well as a few small stalls selling local handmade items. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLK13131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We loved the resort for its location and character. You feel like you are in the jungle, the arrival is by a 10 minute boat ride. We were there for two nights, perfect. We had activities planned, but their staff is very helpful. We did ride bikes to the Lawa caves, fun but a little scary that we could get lost in there. The Mon dance show was entertaining, loved the stone showers. The rooms are rustic but charming.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this resort as part of a tour with Gate 1 Travel.
When we were told that it was only accessible by boat, we had no idea what to expect. All I can say is - WOW! The ride up the river in the longboat past spectacular scenery was just the beginning of an amazing adventure.
The resort is "rustic" in keeping with the surroundings. Our bure was clean and comfortable.
The main reception and dining area is all timber and quite quaint. Breakfast was included and was nice. We ate a la carte both nights and enjoyed the food. The pool was lovely and so good to return to after a long day sight seeing in the extreme heat and humidity.
The staff were lovely and service was good.
I would love to have a longer stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakedecadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel amazed me from the beginning. You feel so close to the humid jungle when you stay in your little cute bungalows. Like Tarzan and Jane. The River Kwai runs directly near the hotel garden. Oh.. the garden. It is a poem. The perfect place for reposal and relaxing, totally off the world. If you are stressed from the noisy, vivid and exhausting Bangkok, take a 2 hour ride to this oasis and come back deeply relaxed.
The club house for dining and breakfast is made of wood and in the morning the hills around you welcome you foggy and the sun breaks through the thicket. It is breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The boat ride on the river to our hotel was a great start to our stay! Beautiful scenery and cool breeze off the water helped us enjoy our stay during this very hot time of year. We had great service and the food was good. The breakfast option were not very broad but adequate. The service during dinner was a bit slow and disorganized at times. The pool was nice but they need to skim the top often to keep debris out. No bug problems at all. Be sure to hire a boat to take you up the river to float back to the resort in your life jacket!!! Great fun! Overall, this was a terrific resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinsam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Yok
8.2 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
8.6 mi away
River Kwai Jungle View
River Kwai Jungle View
#14 of 25 in Sai Yok
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The FloatHouse River Kwai
2.5 mi away
Home Phutoey River Kwai Resort
7.4 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Resotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Resotel

Property: River Kwai Resotel
Address: 55 Moo 5 | Wangkrajae Subdistrict, Sai Yok 71150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sai Yok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Resotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Resotel is the unique river jungle resort along the River Kwai. With its jungle setting and lush green garden just beside River Kwai, there are lots of jungle and river activities that guests can enjoy and fulfill the days. The resort is connected to Lawa Cave, one of Thailand national reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River Kwai Resotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Resotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Resotel Thailand/Kanchanaburi Province - Sai Yok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing