We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
124
139
52
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
124
139
52
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice pool thai food two nights middle cabin monkeys jungle trips guide trees river dam mozzies bangkok adventure caves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 360 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here a few times now..
We have also stayed in a couple other resorts in Khao Sok, plus experienced another that my sister and family like.
For us, this is the spot... Basic but clean. Affordable but comfortable. Proper jungle gardens and the pool :)
Food is real good, hosts are pleasant and helpful.
Activity prices are not as high as a previous poster claims (300 baht for tubing, not 700).

The garden rooms are the best value... Beautiful surroundings and a sitting on the balcony with a book is a great way to spend an afternoon. The river side needs some landscaping done for sure, the bungalows there are not worth the extra money.
Temp in the day can get up a bit but at nit is perfect. Just a fan needed to keep the mozzies away.

If you eat outside, Pawn restaurant on the opposite side of the road and to the left is real good food. Opposite this is Thai Herb which also has some great dishes. There is a pizza place down by the river, but who wants to eat pizza in Thailand :)

That's it.. Will stay in another place next time to compare more but will return to Morning Mist and also recommend to friends visiting..

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornishCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It should be pointed out where Khao Sok is and why you want to visit it. It is in a National Park, in the middle of a jungle and it is much smaller than Khao Lak. It is the perfect place to visit to do elephant tours, wildlife walks, canoeing, lake tours and relax by the pool. You don't go to spend a huge amount of time in your room (though we really loved our river-side balcony, where we spotted monkeys!) or indoors in general.
Things we loved about this hotel;
-The pool is such a godsend; its not too busy and is surrounded by beautiful trees and those rocky mountains. Some of the other Khao Sok hotels don't have pools, which was all we could think of doing in the midday heat!
-The food is, as everyone mentions, fantastic. Try their lychee shake!
-The walk between the rooms and the main building is just surrounded by beautiful flowers and the staff help you with your bags on a little scooter.
-The staff are great, two speak really good English and can help out with pretty much anything and the rest are just really lovely and smile whenever you pass.

Things to bear in mind when you book;
-They charge extra for fan and/or air-con. We got by without as it cools down at night, but you don't really want to be inside during the day.
-The rooms aren't spotless. If that's a problem, don't stay in a jungle. Usually we came back so dirty from big days out that so long as the sheets were clean, we didn't care in the slightest.
-We are two 20 year old students from Australia and were hoping that the street-side bars would light up a bit at night. We were there in December (apparently the main season hasn't started yet), but apart from the friendly bar staff who play Jenga with you, the tourist couples (who seem to populate the town) seemed to stay in every night. So our river balcony saw a fair bit of action...

Room tip: The river rooms seemed much better
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came by bus from Surat Thani. It stopped on the main road and from there it is cca 1,5km walking (if you have a small luggage) or there should be someone with a car picking you up. If there is not, talk with taxi drivers and dont get scamed... It should be no more than 50 baht per person. The resort is big, it has many types of bungalows with or without aircon. We stayed in a bungalow with "garden view" and the garden was really nice and we enjoyed to chill on the terrace of our small, but cosy cottage. Dont forget to take your repellent, as there are moskitos everywhere. Beware of taking the cottage with "river view" - as the surroundings of the stream which borders the resort from one side and has a couple of cottages built on the bank, is not really nice. It seemed to us a little "wild" and dirty. The resort should do something with the bushes on the bank and plant some more flowers/trees there. Entering the water is also a little "wild" so be careful. The water has a perfect fresh temperature and is really pleasant after hot day. They also have a swimming pool which is really small and not for swimming. I didnt try to go there as I dont like chloride water and was enjoying fresh waters of the stream/river... The nature around the resort is beautiful. The activities are little too expensive - for example they charge 700 baht per person for the simplest thing like tubing... WTF... They just drive you couple of kilometres up the stream and kick you from the bank into the stream on the tire... :-) Another activity is kayaking, they charge about 1200 baht/person and the thing is - you have to have a guide with you in a kayak, you cant do it just as a couple, which would be more convenient... Couple of activities, you can do by yourself - there is a possibility to walk about 2 kilometres up to the main road, then turn to the left and just follow the road - you can not miss a local buddhist temple, where the monks and the tourists use to feed monkeys which are coming for a dinner every day about 4pm... Chanting monks in the small cave next to the temple about 6pm is also very interesting and spiritual experience. The hiking into the Khao Sok National Park will cost you 200 baht/person and I recommend to hire a mountainbike to go first 3,5 km on the bike which you can leave with the park rangers at the last building on the way up to the waterfalls as the road from that point is a real challenge and sometimes hardcore - I recommend it just for experienced hikers and dont forget to bring trekking shoes or at least the snickers with you. There are 6 waterfalls on the way, but actually, except from the rainy season, they are just rapids... The nicest one is number 5 and it is the one before the last one (dont remember the name) It has nice stream and a big basin, where you can swim (even naked when nobodys around :-) I forgot the price for renting a bike - it is 300 baht, which is pretty expensive, but the local just try to really dig into your pocket. So as the Headquarters of National Park - at least they could make a little better paths for hiking for the money they already got from all the visitors.
After visiting Khao Sok National Park I highly recommend the visit to the Ratchaprapha Dam, as that is one of the nicest places in Thailand. But be prepared for high prices - one trip of 2 days/1 night on the lake can be around 2500bht/person even more, depending on the quality of bungalows (rafthouses) build on the water.

Room tip: Garden view, not the river view...
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lacog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

2 nights at Morning Mist was a totally relaxing experience. We had one of the river view rooms and it was in a wonderful location, set way back from the restaurant and away from the other bungalows. Bring a torch for the night walks back to your bungalow! The grounds are well maintained with the grass between the bungalows kept short to deter snakes and lights along the paths. Prepare to see and HEAR the wildlife all around, bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. We loved the sounds of the night jungle. Bungalows are basic but comfortable with the basics and more supplied - mosquito net, towels, fridge and fan. You can pay for air-con but we didn't feel it necessary. The pool area is lovely, a real treat with sunbeds, shower and amazing view. Best thing for us was the friendly staff and atmosphere in the restaurant. Great food & as already mentioned on here, superb cocktails, the most beautiful presentation ever! We were travelling onto Khao Lak after our stay here and after 3 local buses failed to turn up, after 2 and half hours we called Nid at Morning Mist & she arranged a car for us which was excellent service. Overall we had a wonderful time here & would definitely recommend it to anyone coming to Khao Sok. loads to do/see in the area & Nid can arrange tours & trips too. We'll be back one day.....

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraR529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arrived by bus, coming from Phuket. Walk from the mainroad (about 10 min) and you'll find them on your right side. Unable to e-mail resort, so I called and made reservation. Friendly staff who gave us some good tips, good food! They have a nice little pool! Bungalows are simple, they have different types (stone/bamboo/..?). We stayed in bamboo, nice garden view, bathroom quite basic, rather old, more or less open air. They offer the jungle trips on a rather old/primitive sheet of paper, but we decided to book our 2 day 1 night jungle trip in this resort. Good choice, nice jungle trip,although you shouldn't be afraid of some really basic sleeping fascilities on your floating hut! But looking back, it was really fun and above all, stunning views on the lake. The trip through the cave was considered to be of average level. We are both former athletes and we can say that the level of this hike on day 2 was between average and difficult! Really exciting!.Kayaking on the lake was great too! The food during this trip was very good! Important tip: The jungle tour starts with a pick up at resort, and than a 45 minutes drive in the direction of Surathani. When you want to travel on towards Surathani after your 2 days jungle tour, the can drop you on the higway near endpoint jungle tour! You don' t need to reurn to Morning Mist Resort!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews