We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We left after an hour... terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We left after an hour... terrible”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We decided to come here based on the good reviews here, but were very disappointed. The bungalows were in very bad shape and there was mold everywhere. Even worse, when we turned on the shower only very little water came out, which is extremely frustrating after having travelled all day in the heat. The next bungalow we were given had the same problems, so we left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    44
    21
    13
    12
See reviews for
17
72
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a great time here. First we stayed 1 night at the bungalow outside of the park. We went for tubing which its a Nice way to spend hot afternoons.
After one night e went for an overnight trip in the jungle. It is really recommended :-) there are only 14 places of lake houses in the jungle and one of them is smileys. There are even only 3 lake hoses that are owned by resorts. Its recommended to stay in one of the resorts.
The jungle trip was fun and relaxed. No busy programme: canoing, boattrip, jungle trip and we saw lots of animals. On the jungle trip there was also a cave trip (don't be surprised if you have to swim in the cave :-))

The bungalows were simple and clean, just what you need and also very cheap (maybe even the cheapest around. We took the more "expensive" of 500 bat p/night). The staff was very friendly and spoke English very well.

From our experience: highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0bbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We really enjoyed the time at Smileys. The owners are very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant has tasty food. We really can recommend this bungalows for backpackers. Great value! The tours they are selling we're are highlight during our Thailand Trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Residenz-Cafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow is a great place to stay! The staff are friendly and helpful. Both the treehouse and floating bungalows are amazing! The food is delicious and cheap as well. A definite must if you're going to Thailand!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in the bungalows and lake house for a total of 6 nights this summer...unbelievable staff, GREAT parties, awesome food, clean rooms. Definitely highly recommended! The value is great and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagansax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been to smiley's twice (Jan 2012 & June 2011), and both times I've stayed in both bungalows (on land and on the lake.) Both experiences are absolutely amazing, and I can't wait to get back. I know I'm one of hundreds of people who consider the Smiley family their own family away from home. I've never seen a family who is so hospitable, and tries to treat each guest as a member of family. On top of that, the setting is breath-taking, the bungalows are adorable, the food is fantastic, and the Vodka is par none! ;) 100% recommendation to anyone! Love you guys!

Room Tip: The rooms are cute, and all you need - but I guarantee you'll barely be in them! It's too be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695Kandeee695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a 3 hour bus journey from Phuket, we were both quite exhausted when we arrived at the road down to where the various resorts we situated at near Khao Sok national park. A handful of representatives advertising there accommodation greeted us but we told them we were staying with Smiley's. As we had not given Smiley's a time of our arrival I expected to walk the mile or so to them. However after approx 2 mins of walking the owner Phaiwan (excuse the spelling if this is wrong) arrived and picked us up "someone at the gate told me you were here" she said and took us back to Smiley's, love the Thai attitude!

We stayed in the tree-house bungalow fro 1 night and the floating bungalows for 2 nights.

Tree house

Pros
This is a family run business and upon arrival we were made to feel completely at home. As we went in the low season we were offered any room we liked and sat and talked with the family while we drank. This didn't have that resort feel to it, it felt as if we were staying round our friends house!

The surrounding mountains, trees and jungle are a beautiful experience.

We stayed in one of the newer bungalows, and felt a little more comfortable knowing there would be less chance of creepy crawlies invading our room. These rooms were clean and simple and were more than adequate considering we were living in a jungle. If you are looking for luxury you won't find that here as there is no air con, only fans in each room - although these cooled us sufficiently.

Food was excellent and very cheap approx 80 baht for a decent meal. The restaurant area has mountainous vistas as well as the soundtrack of the jungle, very peaceful and surreal.

Cons

Smiley's is situated on the main road, which I have noticed on this site that people have found noisy. We were fortunate to stay in one of the bungalows away from the main road, however the noise from the street is a far cry from Bangkok.

If you don't like insects you may have a little problem as there was quite a variety. Our shower room had a cockroach that had climbed through the plug hole, although this was because I had not put the plug in, an easy remedy, and the only visitor to our room.

On our balcony at night there we a cornucopia of bugs attracted to our light, my advice would be to get a mosquito coil.

The Floating Bungalows

Pros

We were picked up early in the morning by Bao who must have been one of the nicest people we met in our 3 week week holiday. So friendly and took the time to remember our names and where we were from.

The long-tail journey to the floating bungalows was such a beautiful journey, you felt like you were in Jurassic park, completely away from civilisation. the floating bungalows themselves were completely secluded from the other floating bugalows advertised so there was a lot of privacy.

Food was good, a lot of fish, pineapple and watermelon, caught and cooked on site.

The sounds of nature, from gibbons to cicadas absolutely beautiful.

The arranged trips were fun and run by the extended members of the Smiley family as part of the package. Although we didn't get to see a lot of nature on the night boat trip, the view of the stars on a clear lake was incredible and will stay with us forever. The cave hike with Tom was great fun and his knowledge of the flora and fauna was exceptional.

The floating raft house was definitely one of the most memorable parts of our holiday.

Our rooms we reasonably bug free (just a few ants) and the on-suite toilets were a god send.

When eating the staff gave us a separate area to eat away from the other tour groups which was nice, although you are not offered a choice as in a restaurant, with fish being the main meal.

Cons

Whilst we we there two other tour groups made themselves known. Firstly were a group of Canadian teenagers who got very drunk and noisy. We were lucky to be in an end bungalow but the sound of the spice girls at full volume coupled with aggressive fighting and squawking was quite annoying.

I understand from Bao that they want to give everyone at Simley's a good experience and I appreciate telling everyone to shut up goes against this ethos. However all power is turned off at 11 and everyone goes to bed by this time so we always had a peaceful nights sleep.

I would thoroughly recommend Simley's as a choice of accommodation if you are considering visiting Khao Sok. They really looked after us and made us feel so welcome, it was very had to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road / bar area are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandKBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phanom
0.2 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan Khao Sok
Baan Khao Sok
#1 of 6 in Phanom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Palmview
Khao Sok Palmview
#1 of 11 in Phanom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khao Sok Royal Cliff Resort & Spa
Khao Sok Royal Cliff Resort & Sp...
#6 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow

Property: Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
Address: 35/5 Moo 6 T. Klongsok, Phanom, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalows is a familybusiness with bungalows in different pricerange. All bungalows are 3m above the ground with outlook. All bungalows with shower and toilet but without aircondition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow Hotel Surat Thani
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow Thailand/Phanom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing