We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
Nearby Hotels
Morning Mist Resort(Phanom)(Great Value!)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort(Khao Sok National Park)(Great Value!)
$24
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort(Khao Sok National Park)
$62
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Khaosok Island Resort(Surat Thani)(Great Value!)
$19
$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Khao Sok Paradise Resort(Khao Sok National Park)
$45
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$314
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort(Khao Sok National Park)(Great Value!)
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort(Khao Sok National Park)(Great Value!)
$22
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Khaosok Rainforest Resort(Khao Sok National Park)
$49
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort(Khao Sok National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
104
47
23
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
47
23
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone bungalowssmiley lakethe ownerlake tournational parkkhao soijungle hikewooden huthot showerboat ridelow seasontwo double bedsday tripcheow lan lakerestaurant areabasic accommodationsurat thani
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 205 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We really enjoyed the time at Smileys. The owners are very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant has tasty food. We really can recommend this bungalows for backpackers. Great value! The tours they are selling we're are highlight during our Thailand Trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Residenz-Cafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow is a great place to stay! The staff are friendly and helpful. Both the treehouse and floating bungalows are amazing! The food is delicious and cheap as well. A definite must if you're going to Thailand!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in the bungalows and lake house for a total of 6 nights this summer...unbelievable staff, GREAT parties, awesome food, clean rooms. Definitely highly recommended! The value is great and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meagansax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been to smiley's twice (Jan 2012 & June 2011), and both times I've stayed in both bungalows (on land and on the lake.) Both experiences are absolutely amazing, and I can't wait to get back. I know I'm one of hundreds of people who consider the Smiley family their own family away from home. I've never seen a family who is so hospitable, and tries to treat each guest as a member of family. On top of that, the setting is breath-taking, the bungalows are adorable, the food is fantastic, and the Vodka is par none! ;) 100% recommendation to anyone! Love you guys!

Room Tip: The rooms are cute, and all you need - but I guarantee you'll barely be in them! It's too beautiful to sit inside.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695Kandeee695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a 3 hour bus journey from Phuket, we were both quite exhausted when we arrived at the road down to where the various resorts we situated at near Khao Sok national park. A handful of representatives advertising there accommodation greeted us but we told them we were staying with Smiley's. As we had not given Smiley's a time of our arrival I expected to walk the mile or so to them. However after approx 2 mins of walking the owner Phaiwan (excuse the spelling if this is wrong) arrived and picked us up "someone at the gate told me you were here" she said and took us back to Smiley's, love the Thai attitude!

We stayed in the tree-house bungalow fro 1 night and the floating bungalows for 2 nights.

Tree house

Pros
This is a family run business and upon arrival we were made to feel completely at home. As we went in the low season we were offered any room we liked and sat and talked with the family while we drank. This didn't have that resort feel to it, it felt as if we were staying round our friends house!

The surrounding mountains, trees and jungle are a beautiful experience.

We stayed in one of the newer bungalows, and felt a little more comfortable knowing there would be less chance of creepy crawlies invading our room. These rooms were clean and simple and were more than adequate considering we were living in a jungle. If you are looking for luxury you won't find that here as there is no air con, only fans in each room - although these cooled us sufficiently.

Food was excellent and very cheap approx 80 baht for a decent meal. The restaurant area has mountainous vistas as well as the soundtrack of the jungle, very peaceful and surreal.

Cons

Smiley's is situated on the main road, which I have noticed on this site that people have found noisy. We were fortunate to stay in one of the bungalows away from the main road, however the noise from the street is a far cry from Bangkok.

If you don't like insects you may have a little problem as there was quite a variety. Our shower room had a cockroach that had climbed through the plug hole, although this was because I had not put the plug in, an easy remedy, and the only visitor to our room.

On our balcony at night there we a cornucopia of bugs attracted to our light, my advice would be to get a mosquito coil.

The Floating Bungalows

Pros

We were picked up early in the morning by Bao who must have been one of the nicest people we met in our 3 week week holiday. So friendly and took the time to remember our names and where we were from.

The long-tail journey to the floating bungalows was such a beautiful journey, you felt like you were in Jurassic park, completely away from civilisation. the floating bungalows themselves were completely secluded from the other floating bugalows advertised so there was a lot of privacy.

Food was good, a lot of fish, pineapple and watermelon, caught and cooked on site.

The sounds of nature, from gibbons to cicadas absolutely beautiful.

The arranged trips were fun and run by the extended members of the Smiley family as part of the package. Although we didn't get to see a lot of nature on the night boat trip, the view of the stars on a clear lake was incredible and will stay with us forever. The cave hike with Tom was great fun and his knowledge of the flora and fauna was exceptional.

The floating raft house was definitely one of the most memorable parts of our holiday.

Our rooms we reasonably bug free (just a few ants) and the on-suite toilets were a god send.

When eating the staff gave us a separate area to eat away from the other tour groups which was nice, although you are not offered a choice as in a restaurant, with fish being the main meal.

Cons

Whilst we we there two other tour groups made themselves known. Firstly were a group of Canadian teenagers who got very drunk and noisy. We were lucky to be in an end bungalow but the sound of the spice girls at full volume coupled with aggressive fighting and squawking was quite annoying.

I understand from Bao that they want to give everyone at Simley's a good experience and I appreciate telling everyone to shut up goes against this ethos. However all power is turned off at 11 and everyone goes to bed by this time so we always had a peaceful nights sleep.

I would thoroughly recommend Simley's as a choice of accommodation if you are considering visiting Khao Sok. They really looked after us and made us feel so welcome, it was very had to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road / bar area are much quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandKBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews