We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and cheap with everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap with everything you need”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Smiley Bungalows we stayed at the wooden bungalows at 300bt per night which was in very good order. Large bed with a mosquito net, hot shower, fan, and reasonably clean. There's reasonably good wifi in the bar area and you can manage to pick this up if you stay in the closest wooden bungalow to the bar, although it is switched off when they close the bar. The food was okay but id recommend heading down to the restaurant on your left just before the bridge.

Room Tip: You can manage to pick up wifi if you stay in the closest wooden bungalow to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    43
    21
    13
    12
See reviews for
17
71
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at smiley bungalow en 1 night at smiley lake houses and had in both of the them a great time. The stone bungalows are in a good state, basic but for 600 bath really great. Yes you have to ask for new towels, but that's in many places in thailand normal.

The service of the owners Phaiwan and Bao is really amasing. Here some examples:
- Paiwan booked for us the transportation back to suratthani.
- Phaiwan helped us so much when we did forget a bag in the taxi back in surat thani. With a few calls she had the bag in 1 hour back at us in Don Sak!
- Bao provided free monkey feeding 5 minutes by car of the bungalows
- Normally the lake house trip (1 night, 2 days) starts when there are minimum 4 people, but we did it with Bao with only the 2 of us! I booked it 1 moth before arrival.
- When they have time, the love to talk with guest but only if your open for it!
- You can use free internet computers, free water/ coffee/ tea in the bar area.

Make sure you do the lake trip with smiley, because the lake houses are great. They are only 6 months old and have a fantastic view. We saw some other lake houses witch are made of bamboo. Those houses looks a little bit better, buth are in a bad state and not animal/ insect free. We did there a jungle hike, longtail trips to see animals, kayaking and swimming!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Smiley Bungalows does live up to its name - the family that run it are lovely, helpful and .... smiley. We chose a stone bungalow at 600bt per night which was in very good order. Large, comfortable bed, hot shower, fan, and glass doors. There's reasonably good wifi in the bar area, although this is occasionally switched off. The food was great, and we weren't pushed to take tours from the bungalows (although we did as the prices and offering seemed fairly consistent in the area). I'd recommend this as a good option while in Khao Sok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I would not recommend a stay at smileys bungalows.
The owners are kind and the bar looks nice, but the bungalows are in a bad state and the service isn't good.
We had to ask for towels, clean pillows (those were mouldy), a lock for the room and a fan that works.
We didn't get breakfast although we ordered it the day before.
Better go to Nung House. They have good & cheap bungalow, a good restaurant and a nice crew.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I traveled for a year all over se asia and india and smileys was one of the best places we stayed the rooms were extra clean and the staff were more then friendly they truly treated us like family I would highly recommend staying with them if your in the area also make sure to check out the floating bungalows too

and make sure to say hello for Ezra and Lisa from Canada :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezraweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pardes hanna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

we stayed in the Smiley Bungalow for 3 nights with a baby and a small child and loved the place so much!
only good words to tell. the place is so nice, amazing veiw from the rooms (we stayed in the newesr rooms - with a big window). waking up at morning with this hudge limestones and the jungle voices is amazing.
the place is verry cozy, cheap but nice and clean and the owner - paiwan - is an amazing woman - so nice, clever, and helps us alot of deciding what to do in our visit. she also took us in her private car, no charge, to look at the monkeys.
we took a day trip to the lake from the hotel and really enjoyed.
near the Smiley Bungalows there are some resturants, thai massge places, minimarket.
the food in the Smiley Bungalows resturant is verry good. 2 computers near the resturant with no charge. really really great place to be!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Myself and my fiancée had planned on visiting Khao Sok national park for 3 days staying over 2 nights. We ended up staying for a total of 5 nights, partly because of the absolutely stunning natural beauty . But also in large part to the extremely friendly owners and staff at Smiley Bungalows.

The bungalows come in at least two variations; new brick bungalows at 600 bath pr. night and older wooden bungalows at 300 bath pr. night. All the bungalows are built around 4 meters above the ground. We stayed in one of the new bungalows which was clean and well appointed, with a fan and a functional though no frills en-suite bathroom. The newer bungalows all have glass fronts and a nice patio with benches facing some of the amazing limestone karsks.

The restaurant area is outside but roofed and also feature a nice lounge area where you can sit back in the cushions and use the complimentary Wifi or lie in a hammock and just relax. Smileys also have a couple of computers for your use. I think that we where supposed to pay a small fee to use them, but we were never charged anything. The food is very good and they also make excellent cocktails if you are such inclined.

The owners Paiwan and Bao did everything they could do to ensure that our every need was fulfilled. Including carting us around in their car to where we wanted to go. We booked all our tours in Khao Sok at smileys. Their tour prices are the lowest to be found in Khao Sok and they include the same amenities as all the other carriers.

Among shorter tours, we booked a longer overnight stay at the amazing Chieo-Lan lake. The accommodation there was in a floating house on the lake. Our guide Ya, is Baos cousin and he made every effort to find and show us the sights and animals around Chieo Lake. He made us feel safe even when trekking an hour through a cave traversing an entire mountain from underneath. When it became time to swim through part of the underground cave, Ya, first safely guided us through and then returned and piled the backpacks from the whole group on his back and climbed the top of the cave monkey style keeping our stuff safe and dry. We encountered other guides while traversing the forest of Khao Sok and they all made us even happier with having Ya as ours.

In conclusion I can only give the warmest recommendations to Smiley Bungalows. The cosy and welcoming atmosphere coupled with the nice rooms made this a perfect base for our Khao Sok adventure. They have a website at www.smileybungalow.com

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phanom
0.2 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Palmview
Khao Sok Palmview
#1 of 11 in Phanom
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Khao Sok
Baan Khao Sok
#1 of 6 in Phanom
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow

Property: Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
Address: 35/5 Moo 6 T. Klongsok, Phanom, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalows is a familybusiness with bungalows in different pricerange. All bungalows are 3m above the ground with outlook. All bungalows with shower and toilet but without aircondition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow Hotel Surat Thani
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow Thailand/Phanom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing