We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At home in the jungle”
Review of Khao Sok Palmview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khao Sok Palmview
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
Certificate of Excellence
Lummen, België
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“At home in the jungle”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

First of all, insist to your driver to drop you off in FRONT of the resort, and not at the street sign saying "Palm View Resort 150m". For them it's a detour of 10 min, otherwise you'll be jungletrekking with your bags for the next thirty minutes trying to find the resort. Like I did. But I'm still young and vivid, so it was a free experience for me. Once arrived at the resort (which isn't really a resort, but hey, who knows the difference anyway?) I was immediately warmly welcomed by 'mama' and 'papa', the hosts of the resort. They we're cursing on the stupid driver too for dropping me there. They told me I could've called them and their son would've come and pick me up. Didn't knew that! So, future visitors, if your driver really doesn't want to drop you of in front, just call them! The bungalows have no AC and the small holes in de wooden walls allow some insects to enter, but that's nothing a good bugspray can't solve. I think the general feel of the bungalow was very nice, with a good bed, clean sheets and matrass, klamboe with no holes and a perfectly equipped bathroom. You had to flush with a bucket, but that wasn't a problem for me. You will spend most of your time touring (they offer a good selection) or just sitting in front of the house in the restaurant, chatting to other guests or the hosts. Kong, their song is an extremely sweet, helpful and friendly young man. He came back from living in Bangkok to help his parents out in their business because they can't handle it all by themselves because of their age. This is a proof of what a warm and true family this is. So, you shouldn't go here if you expect it to be a 5 star resort. Go there to stay in a real Thai-family resort. To the family: thanks for making my stay in Khao Sok memorable and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: I think they have new bigger bungalows with concrete walls and AC, so it all depends on your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    44
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
75
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Cons
Very nice treat: I felt like part of the family!
Close to national park
Different types of bungalows, basic bungalow very good price

Cons
I think there are no AC rooms
Bungalow does not get cleaned during stay

Room Tip: Very nice if you are tired of tourism industry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed only two nights here but wish we had time to spend longer. The main reason to stay here is a combination of excellent, genuine and trustworthy hosts with good value for money and good quality accommodation.

We spent one night in one of their older bungalows (350-400 baht, fine for backpackers), then a second night in one of their two new concrete bungalows (500-600 baht) after we had spent a night on a floating raft house (which they arranged for us). The bungalows were good value for southern Thailand in high season, and particularly the concrete bungalow was very comfortable and clean, to western standards. Once they have it fully furnished with a proper bed/shelf (at which point, they say the price will go to 600 baht), it would be comfortable enough to stay even long term as well.

It's obvious from the start that it's a family business that Mama and Papa started as a retirement project, but it's successful enough that their son Kong and other family members help them too. You can tell from the start that they aren't only interested in the profit and that they enjoy meeting their guests and making them feel welcome in the most genuine way. This is really refreshing after many other places we stayed in Thailand. Also Mama cooks delicious food at very reasonable prices so it is definitely a good idea to eat in when you stay!

We would love to go back to Khao Sok at some point and we would definitely stay at Palmview again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new concrete bungalows - worth paying the extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Palmview Resort was really a perfect stay. Food delicious, Bungalows are cheap (about 250Bht) and very nice. Mama is an unique and despite of her age speaks a good english. Teng (the nice) manges everything and she speaks english fluently, so you can give her a call prior to your arrival, if you do so she will pick you up from the bus station.
All bungalows have their own bathroom and some even hot water.

Room Tip: Double-and Family Bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This place makes you feel like home again. You really get a good experience about the real Thai life. The family takes care of everything --> cooking by Mama, watching football with papa, niece (Teng) takes care of the trips into the park and arranged our bus ticket back to Surat Thani.

Price is good, houses are clean and comfortable and are surrounded by a beautiful garden.

If you go, say hi to the family from us ;)
erwin en sarah (Netherlands)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Er_en_Saar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phanom
0.4 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
#5 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baan Khao Sok
Baan Khao Sok
#1 of 6 in Phanom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.3 mi away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Royal Cliff Resort & Spa
Khao Sok Royal Cliff Resort & Sp...
#6 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Palmview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Palmview

Property: Khao Sok Palmview
Address: 234 Moo 6 | Khlong Sok, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Khao Sok Palmview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 150 meter from Khao Sok National Park. Khao Sok Palmview Resort offers a peaceful retreat in charming wooden or mortar cottages. They have private balconies and offer massge services a restaurant and a variety of outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khao Sok Palmview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Palmview Thailand/Phanom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing