We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ban Ta Khun
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cheow Lan Dam (Ratchaprapa Dam)
from $133.89
More Info
from $111.54
More Info
from $276.79
More Info
from $132.20
More Info
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveler rating
453
132
9
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
453
132
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip national park cheow lan long tail boat boat ride khao soi beautiful place halong bay raft house beautiful lake floating hotel limestone cliffs floating houses stay overnight baht per person surat thani private tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 598 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2019

We stayed two nights in a floating hotel on the lake. Fantastic setting, terrific food and very good service. All of the included excursions were fantastic. You must have a little bit of sea legs because the floating bungalows do move!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank eric v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019 via mobile

We did a full day lake excursion with guide with a group of 19 people in 2 vans

- The ride from the hotel area of the National park takes about one hour with a bathroom / store break on the way
- Long tail excursion (1hr) through the lake system with rock and mountain cliff formations getting more impressive progressively
- Lunch stop at a floating resort. Food was very good and portions impressive
- Kayaking
- Long tail boat to a hiking trail
- Our guide pointed out a lot of interesting things on our trek
- At end of the hiking trail, a bamboo boat ride (neat) across a small lake
- Trek up a steep set of stairs to a really impressive medium size cave where the stalactites sparkle
- Return to hotel via trek, long boat, then van

Hotel pickup 08:30 and arrive back at hotel around 18:15

Recommended to bring:
- Quick dry towel or regular towel
- Camera
- Bathing suit
- Hat for shade
- Mosquito repellant
- Sun screen
- Dry bag for camera (store stop does sell them)
- Sturdy sandals with straps or hiking shoes you don’t mind getting wet
- Socks!! At least medium length if you want to minimize the chance of getting a leach on you

Safety:
- The long tail boats are fully equipped with life vests which you must wear
- For the bamboo boat ride across the very small lake to the cave, there was only one life vest per boat
- For most of the large lake system, there was zero cell phone service for the mainline carrier I was using and I didn’t see anyone else able to use phones. Then on the longtail boats I didn’t see the crew have any portable radios, so I’m not sure how they communicate in an emergency situation

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile

We've been going here for years and it was the most beautiful, unspoiled paradise. Sadly it is now overrun by the Chinese Tourist Machine. You won't find the authentic peace and beauty unless you can avoid 90% of the offers and tours and do it yourself, go beyond the short day trips that contain hundreds and hundreds of Chinese and travel beyond their reach. It is still a beautiful place but we won't go there again.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Insearch O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2019

We went to the lake on a group tour from Khao Sok. The lake is totally stunning! Such emerald water and such impressive landscapes. We were totally mesmerised. It was just phenomenal.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank awonderinglobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

The gardens and lookouts at the dam are a credit to the gardeners and authorities
A well laid out plan and executed superbly
The road to the dam is excellent and easy to travel on in a hired car ( budget rent a car from Khao Lak )
What is confusing is the 320 baht entrance fee into the National Park only if you wanted to go on the boat trip around the lake for an extra 1000 baht
Not sure of the value of the boat trip as much of the scenery can be seen at the dam or around it
Remembering that during October the monsoonal rain is well under way and the clouds are low obscuring the surrounding hills and scenery. Its a lot to pay to get wet

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews