We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil atmosphere by the lakeside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterjade Health Land Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Thai Mueang B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I feel the reviewers have been over harsh about this hotel. As you can see from the pictures the setting is idyllic; chalets hanging over the edge of a lake which you can also swim in if you find going to the sea too far. The hotel will let you have a plastic kyak free of charge. But it is away from everything and you really would be better with your own transport. The chalets are large with an enormous bathroom with huge bath made of cement and an outdoor shower which only has cold water. It is not the most practical bathroom but fun. The double bed was huge and comfortable. Our room was perfectly clean when we arrived and the staff spoke enough English between them to be very helpful about finding a bank, beaches to swim at etc. It is a place where you can be private as the chalets are hidden amongst the bushes shielding each from a view of the next. It is not a posh, modern Andaman Sea Resort it is a more home grown natural place at a fraction of the price. Some people may call it scruffy, others will find it charming as we did.

Dinner was well priced and good and could be eaten on a terrace over the water. Breakfast was the usual fruit, eggs however you like them and toast and jam served with good coffee. Wifi was free and fast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

So I was recommended this place by a friend who lives here in Thailand ( I have lived here several years as well) and they warned me this is a very local place, no bars, no night life, no people and I thought Absolutely Perfect. My wife and I arrive (she's Thai) and by the way signs everywhere, very easy to find, anyhow we are greeted with a fresh juice served in a martini glass- Nice. They brought us around to each villa and we chose #5, this was the most private. The hotel is exactly what my mates said tranquil and peaceful, nothing around chirping birds and a gorgeous lake, we are in love with this place. Oh and a note about dirty rooms this is not a four seasons, it's a boutique resort so do what the wife and I do at every place we stay at- pick your room and have them clean it again while you go explore, problem solved about so called "dirty rooms". They have kayaks here and are going to set us up with fishing rods(free of charge) what we hopefully catch they will cook at a small charge. We are at the breakfast table and it was excellent ( might have been fish cooked on the pan previously but who cares) the coffee is lavazza so yeah it does cost for a second cup, it's really expensive to buy in Thailand and it's only 40 baht here. The menu is well priced for a hotel at about 150 baht a meal, have not ate here for dinner yet. So anyhow the past 3 or 4 reviews were done by unhappy idiots who probably never travelled out of there home country before, hopefully this place stays as it is- less people the merrier. If you want Thailand 20 years ago with no crowds, this is it. Cheers

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yachtiechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Its very nice place if you are planning on doing nothing and just laze around. This place has no fun factor whatsoever but its very quite and secluded for sure.

Loved the outdoor shower but not hot water!! Dont be fooled by the bath tub, its just a huge tank which takes 3hrs 16 Mins to fill up, Yes i timed it!

Staff are friendly but do not speak any English (they don't event understand the word "Water") except the manager. We didnt regret the stay because we wanted to a secluded place just for ourselves, that what you get here.

Nearby beach (10 mins cycle ride) is beautiful but abandoned.

Room Tip: Resort is hard to find, book a taxi from the Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstateMornings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay somewhere which locates between Phuket and Phang Nga, then we found this hotel as suggested site in Google. We checked the website and the photos are great! We called the hotel, and yes, the staff offered a better rate than other booking website. Why not try?

We found that coming to this hotel is quite a headache. The map is not clear. The staff was not very informative on the directions. Once we arrived the hotel, we found ourselves as the only guest in the hotel. We checked in and get a room. OK, the room is big, but we were not given sufficient toiletery kit (No shampoo in the bottle, expired liquid soap). The toilet was left dirty before we got in. The bathtub was covered with dust. The TV didnt work.

Never mind, as long as the airconditioner is working well. We had to admit that the price was very special.

We went back to the reception to ask about the "famous restaurant" in the hotel. Believe it or not, the kitchen was closed at 7.30 pm. We had to drive out to the town which was like 10 km away.

Never mind, understanding that it was in a low season, this may be the policy to save cost and survive the business. And besides, we got a very special rate.

We cam back at 9 pm to find that the whole resort was totally in darkness. There was no exterior light provided in the pathway to our room. There was to security guard to patrol the area. We slept with fears that the car might be stolen at night.

Waking up the next morning, we found that the room was full with ants. They came from outside when its raining. Must be good for nature lovers.

The balcony reaching out in the pond was dirty. The mattress has been left there under a big tree with leaves piling up, covering the whole thing. We didn't get to sit there and enjoy the lake view like we were offered from the information of that particular room type.

A total disaster this time.

Room Tip: Choose a room closes to the reception to make sure someone can hear you at night when you have to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tao_Chitpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Where do I begin? I read other reviews talking about the quality of the rooms, the helpfulness of the staff, the tranquility of the setting. I think they stayed somewhere else!

- I didn't feel like we got the usual attentive service that we experienced at every other place we stayed in Thailand. I had to ask for bags to be taken, I had to ask to check in! And a deposit, for a room key? Really?
- Room actually dirty on arrival, with dirt and stones on the bathroom floor.
- The bed was pretty uncomfortable to lie on for 5 minutes. Didn't sleep on it though (see below) but I wasn't optimistic!
- No toilet paper in the room. Our friends who stayed here at the same time confirmed they had toilet paper, so clearly this was mistake. But seriously? This is basic stuff.
- This "resort" has no pool, only a (probably crocodile infested) lake in the middle of the site. But no problem; our room had a massive bath which could easily immerse 2 people up to their necks... Except it wouldn't fill because it clearly had a leak, and the water pressure was very low. I ran that tap non-stop for over 20 minutes and there was 3cm of water in that thing. Leaving the plug in, I stopped the water. Minutes later, the water was gone.
- Cigarette butts in the outdoor shower. The outdoor shower that you can't walk over to without being in full view of dining guests on the deck near the main building. I usually shower naked, so this was a bit of a concern.
- The room had air conditioning, but because the door didn't seal to the door frame properly, the heat still creeps in.
-The restaurant was above average price-wise, but the food quality wasn't that great. They forgot to bring my dish out to me, causing me to have to ask for it. They didn't just forget to bring it out, they forgot to cook it; it was 15 minutes after chasing it up that it finally arrived!

If you're reading this far, and thinking "Okay, so the room wasn't perfect, the service could have been better, but come on man, it's a retreat from the world, with peaceful and calm surroundings". If only. The whole time we were there, they were building...something somewhere. I don't know. All I know is there was constant drilling, hammering and sawing. Not my idea of tranquility.

We booked 3 nights at this place, but we'd checked out after about 4 hours just after the food we had, which was pretty much the final straw. We were here for a wedding, but most importantly, for some relaxation and rest. After finding the very basic things were just bad and wrong, the whole experience was tainted for me, and we had to go. I suspect a lot of the things that happened were a degree of bad luck, but I've stayed in many hotels and the good ones don't leave things to chance.

Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel are almost certainly superior in every possible way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in both standards of room. For the few extra £'s the deluxe lagoon room is far superior. The owner was kind enough to pick us up from the main road after getting off the bus saving the expensive taxi ride from the local bus terminal. The location of the resort,surrounding a stunning freshwater lake is both idyllic and peaceful and the lagoon rooms have a private deck right over the water. Some of the standard rooms also have a lake view but are rather sparsely finished.
The resort has free kayaks to explore the peace and tranquility of the lake and we were lucky enough to see beautiful birds including two types of kingfisher. They also rent out bikes for 50 baht. They are truly terrible but do get you to the beach (just!).
We loved our two days here- the only let down for us was the cost and quality of the food. It was not very, very expensive, but the portions were small and some of the food pretty bland. We also felt that the owner was quite money orientated and little was given for free. For example additional toast or tea and coffee at breakfast is seen as an extra and she is very keen to secure your dinner order! The taxi to the airport is extremely expensive but to be fair in line with the cost on this part of the coast.
The local beach is worth the walk or ride. It is huge and we never saw more than 2/3 people on the entire 10 km stretch. The trip to the beach is interesting too with many friendly locals wanting to say hello on the way.
We would recommend this resort if you love nature and peace and quiet but dont expect great things of the food.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading the article on Khao Lak self-drive trips on TripAdvisor, we decided to check out the restaurant of the Water Jade health resort, located a few miles from Thai Muang just north of the Sarasin bridge. The resort is tucked away on a quiet lagoon set amidst verdant countryside and presents a complete contrast from the hustle and bustle of Patong beach. I can't comment on the rest of the place because we did not stay there but it is certainly set in an idyllic location and we had lunch on the deck built right out across the water. The food was mouth-wateringly delicious and the chef made a special effort to substitute the missing papaya salad with a carrot-based alternative. They even had a few unusual delicacies like frog and ostrich and I now regret that we did not have the courage to try them. The best part was that it was so incredibly cheap !! We paid only 600 baht for the four of us and would have been more than happy to pay at least double that, given how excellent it was :) The only downside was the limited English of the serving staff but they were friendly enough in that special way that the Thais have and we ended up getting what we wanted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayoite74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thai Mueang hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotspring Beach Resort & Spa
Hotspring Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thai Mueang
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wanakarn Beach Resort & Spa
Wanakarn Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Thai Mueang
115 reviews
19.4 mi away
Sawasdee Lagoon Camping Resort
Sawasdee Lagoon Camping Resort
#1 of 3 in Thai Mueang
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterjade Health Land Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterjade Health Land Resort & Spa

Address: 20/2 Moo 7 | Na Toey, Thai Mueang 82120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Thai Mueang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thai Mueang
Price Range: $24 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterjade Health Land Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterjade Health Land Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterjade Health Land Resort & Spa Thailand/Phang Nga Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing