We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Love @ First Hike

I took an overnight bus from Mo Chit Station 2 (Level 3) from counter 06 to Pha Nok Khao station in... read more

Reviewed January 30, 2019
LeonardBong
The best place to start a decent hike!

Last year, my 5 yr old son’s classmate and patents went up Phu Kradeung and showed us the photos... read more

Reviewed December 31, 2018
Dermatol
,
Bangkok, Thailand
via mobile
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
106
47
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
106
47
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park sleeping bag early morning entrance fee the cliff day trip last year rented bicycles baht person nice weather elephant poo bring your own wild elephants total distance overnight bus warm clothes porter service
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 160 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2017 via mobile

Climb in the winter of Thailand is a best time. We took a very long walk, went to every spots in one day, 31 km. walking distance. Start from 9am at campsite and come back after seeing sunset at the highlight spot, arrived the camp around 10pm. Super cold. Make you have enough cloths and light.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank MayWorawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Phu Kradueng is an absolutely beautiful national park. The climb up to the top of the plateau is challenging, but doable with no training. Every 1k there is food and drink availible and benches to sit and rest. Once you make it up to the top the plateau is huge and you can easily spend 4 days exploring the trails. The views from the cliffs are stunning and the tents available are serviceable. I highly recommend visiting!

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank APinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017

I really enjoyed our trip to Phu Kradeung. I like hiking and walking so it was right up my street. This one of my favorite places in Thailand though it was a bit difficult getting to and from the national park for us. The following is some tips and information i think people might find useful.

1. 9.15 am bus from Loei (city) to Khon Kaen. 49 baht. Get off at Phu Kradeung village. Say you want to go to Phu Kradeung. Should take around 90 minutes.

2. Songteaw from the village to the national park. (50 baht per person) 10- 15 minutes
3. Entrance fee to national park: 400 baht for foreigners. Possible to get discount to 200 if you speak a little Thai.
4. Tent, 225 baht per night. Fits three people. Can rent mattress, sleeping bags and pillows at the top.
Sleeping bag 30 baht per night, mattress 20 and sleeping bags 10 baht per night. You can also rent a bungalow if you camping is not for you. The mattress made sleeping a lot more comfortable for me.
5. You can pay people to take your bags to the camp site. You will see them walking up and down the mountain carrying huge loads of backpacks!, it's truly remarkable how strong they are.
6. 5.5 km hike to the top of the mountain. Not an easy hike. From the top of the mountain it's a 3km walk to the campsite. It took us 3.5 hours to get from the bottom to the campsite. We stopped for food. We are young and reasonably fit.
7. Have food and water at several stations up the mountain. Water is expensive. 50 baht for a big bottle. Food is reasonably priced. Bring at least one big bottle of water with you if you can.
8. Showers are cold at the campsite. (but refreshing)
9. You can rent bicycles to explore the trails and paths. Some of the viewpoints are an 18km round trip from the campsite. A bicycle will make this quicker and easier.
9. They don't see alcohol anywhere. So bring your own if you want to drink and be discreet about it. I didn't see anyone drinking there. Also nearly everyone was in their tents by 10.00pm. There was very little noise after this time.
10. Stay at least for two nights. We only stayed for one and it wasn't enough to explore everything we wanted.
11. We went in February. The waterfalls were mostly dried up.
12. It was cold at night. Bring a jacket, trousers and a hat if you have one.
13. As with any trip in Thailand, bring toilet roll!

Date of experience: February 2017
20  Thank gerardboyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016

It is not a walk in the park with 5,5K upwards hiking and another 3,5K to the campsite. But it is worth it!
There's food/drinks stations at every 1K, and it is quite beautiful to see the forest changing as you walk upwards.
The camp site is (much!) bigger than I expected, and thereby also more people than I had expected. Hence only the 4/5*. There's about 10 huts you can rent, and then there's row after row of tents. All set up already. You can rent sleeping mats and sleeping bags on the top and everything seems clean and well. We had 1 of the huts and it came with clean linen. Common toilet and (cold!) shower. Plenty of food stations available.
The camp site is in the middle of the mountain, and there's a 2-3K walk to the brim. Bicycles are available, or you can do hikes on the plateau. We did the early morning hike to the sunrise cliff and it was well worth it despite the many other people, and despite the clouds blocking the sun.
Overall, the walk, the nature and the views were definitely worth the trip. Being a scandinavian, the pine trees and nature however wasn't as magical to me as it was for many of the Thais. But I would still recommend it to everyone, who's up for the walk.
(prepare yourself for sore legs after the 5,5K downward hike!)

Date of experience: November 2016
5  Thank Berit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

If you live to walk and hike. This could be the place. The hike is good with natural stairs and more challenging hike at the end of hike.
The plateau at the top is a place to be explored. Many cliffs and waterfalls to be checked.
This is just like an adult nature adventure. Though you can bring your kids as well. Just make sure they can handle a 5.5km hike. And many kilometers walk at the top.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews