We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pretty place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kranuan
Ft. Collins
Level Contributor
229 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very pretty place”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This property is beautiful, poolside/garden area etc. Hot shower, comfortable and quiet room, tv, 2 breakfasts came with our room. Food on menu was expensive though. Overall the place was way over our budget.

Room Tip: If it's during Winter stay back away from the water. Can get cold at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
19
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

How fantastic is that - to be able to walk out of your room and straight into the pool. Beautiful grounds if you want a stroll and so peaceful. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and even the pool is cleaned daily. Everything you can possible want or need is at hand, if it's not, then the hosts - Howard and Roong will make sure it is. This is definitely a 10 out of 10 place to stay. A huge variety of meals to choose from all cooked to perfection. Howard and Roong not only made us feel welcome but also our family who live nearby and who came to swim with us every day. You can not ask for better hosts who proved to be incredibly generous in every way. A holiday is much more than finding a good place to stay but finding a well run establishment with kind and thoughtful hosts is a major factor leading to success. I fully intend staying here when I visit in the future.

Wherever I stay I always write a truthful review but this has been the hardest to write because I can't find fault with anything!

Room Tip: All rooms that I saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at Castle How Chow during august 2011. We were met by hotel staff at Khon Kaen airport on a wet evening and transported back the resort. My wife and I had one room and our daughter had her own accommodation. This was spotless and to my daughter's delight had free wi-fi and satellite TV. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every morning and the laundry service was a godsend. Food was excellent including a full english breakfast for those who need it. The beer was cold and the sun was hot. The staff could not have done enough for us including sourcing some diabetic tablets for my daughter when she lost hers! The pool was really nice. Our only small gripe was the lack of sunbeds. I am sure this will be rectified for the coming hot season. All in all a great value relaxing location which is away from the tourist bustle of bangkok. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Anything poolside or in the lake garden is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackdog968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Factotum
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Im not sure who wrote all of the glowing reviews. They are either friends of the venerable owner. who seems to feature in every report. I didnt get to meet The Chap. I was expecting an oasis. The reality was quite different. Firstly the hotel is about 60kms from Khon kaen. No bad thing in itself. It is in the back end of nowhere. The pool is large but is treated by something that makes the water extremely murky. The beach is basically the dogs toilet. The furniture in the communal areas is well past its sell by date. The rooms are in need of a complete refurb. A bit musty and not very clean. No control for aircon.....Ok positives. the bed was comfortable..... the check in lady at reception was extremely friendly. The food in the evening was great. The english breakfast included in the relatively high price was one of the best ive eaten in Thailand.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ocnrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have over the last 4 years probably stayed at HowChow at least 9 times. So have seen it develope and take on board the many bits of feedback provided by the customers directly to the Owner Howard, who is always availble and can be found sharing words of wisdom about the local area, Thailand or any other topic that you may wish to enquire about.

In context this is a golden oasis in the far north east of thailand, that strives to achieve a level of comfort and facilities for the western traveller, which are hard to fault or find equivelant in the area for the price. Free wi-fi, swimming pool, broad international menu, easy communication with most of the staff, pool table etc.

The only downside is having to leave !!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room by the pool best rooms and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalRoverMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

A nice resort.The swimming pool was great.Lcd tv in room.I recommend this hotel to everybody.I found the prices of the restaurant expensive for Isaan.No internet in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This is a magical place in the heart of Isaan. Howard and Roong have done wonders with this resort. Their hospitality is genuine and heartfelt. The pool is immaculate and enormous, more than a million liters with a state-of-the-art treatment system. The attention to detail is meticulous -- comfy beds, excellent TV, air con, decor, Fusion food, snooker, and even tropical birds! My kids were thrilled day and night -- in the daytime with the pool and during the evening Howard hooked up the Nintendo Wii. If you're staying in Isaan, this is the place; if not, it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickpurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kranuan
23.8 mi away
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
0.0 mi away
Phaiboon Place Hotel
Phaiboon Place Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kalasin
26 reviews
25.0 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 62 in Khon Kaen
150 reviews
24.3 mi away
Piman Garden Hotel
Piman Garden Hotel
#11 of 62 in Khon Kaen
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rimpao Hotel
Rimpao Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kalasin
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 309 Moo 1, Howchow Road | Nong Go, Kranuan 40170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Kranuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kranuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khon Kaen's Best Kept Secret.Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel is a retreat for friends and family alike, nestled in the Tranquil Countryside of Amphur Kranuan in the District of Khon Kaen, Thailand. Facilities for Weddings, Seminars and Parties. We have Rooms for a capacity for 146 Persons. A 20 rai Resort with three different geographically themed Thai locations. Within the Resort, you can reside, and relax with views over 'The Beach', 'The Lake' or 'The Orchard'.An Oasis in the middle of IssanImagine yourself in the middle of beautiful northeast Thailand, with breathtaking views of rice paddy fields from the comfort of modern chalets with all modern facilities. Castle Howchow is your private escape, where privacy is coupled with the ultimate in luxury accommodation. Make your escape now to rural Issan and enjoy the laid back lifestyle and friendly people from the comfort of our modern resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Howchow Beach Resort Hotel Kranuan, Thailand - Khon Kaen Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing