We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and serenity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Life Foundation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiang Chai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Life Foundation
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent two awesome, relaxing, self discovering weeks here after spending 2 months traveling Thailand and i loved it so much i will most definitely return.
The community is a mix of volunteers and residents. The residents are a group of people who are recovering from life's stress's. drugs alcohol or just burn out.
Being honest i was expecting a farm full of hippies but the reality was that i met a great bunch of people from all walks of life and from every corner of the world.
Food was amazing, if you like mango's you will love their sticky rice it is delicious....
Oh and expect LOTS of ants and skeetos :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrior86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLFThailand, Manager at New Life Foundation, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Warrior86,

Thanks a lot for this great review and all the compliments! We do try very hard to keep the ants and mosquitos to an absolute minimum. New Life celebrated its 6th birthday this year and we daresay that by now we figured out some good ways to make it work: e.g. closing all the doors of the dining hall around 4.30/5pm, having special bins for food waste far away from the dorm tracts, etc. We hope to see you back one day so you can see all the improvements for yourself!

Best wishes,
Julien Gryp
Director, New Life Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The New Life Foundation is an intentional community geared towards those in early recovery from drugs and alcohol and also for those dealing with stress, burnout, depression, anxiety or just struggling with life in general. The Resident program is quite structured, offering individual life coaching, workshops, group therapy, EMDR, art therapy, meditation, yoga, tai chi, and occasional retreats. It's incredibly affordable and also requires that everyone work for 2 hours each day on a variety of different projects: the garden, (much of the food consumed is grown there) mud/clay building structures, meal preparation (there's a great Thai chef who puts it all together; everything is cooked from scratch with fresh ingredients daily) housekeeping, marketing and a number of special projects. There is also a program aimed at volunteers who work more than the residents but can participate in specific activities. Go the website for details www.newlifethaifoundation.com.
I went for 3 weeks due to stress, burnout and depression. I received a tremendous amount of support to address those issues. The other residents are from all over the world, most traveling alone; it's a very inclusive environment. The food's great, there's a beautiful pool, the grounds are gorgeous and it's a very peaceful place to be. There's a short morning meeting that everyone attends and the same in the evening, allowing time to share what's happening, what the plan for the day is, then later, how it all went. An intentional community that truly cares and supports who's there, dealing with whatever issues that brought them. I feel so grateful for my stay; it has transformed my meditation practice, brought me to a mindfulness practice that slows me down while I actually get more done, and also allowed me to work on some past trauma with a well-known therapeutic process called EMDR (eye movement desensitization and reprocessing). It's a very unique place created by a few very committed people. They respond quickly to emails, and there's a lot more information on the website. I think everyone deserves something like this to enrich and maybe, reinvent, their lives.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pippabreakspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLFThailand, Manager at New Life Foundation, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear pippabreakspear,

Thank you so much for this amazing review and for taking the time to write such a fantastic summary of New Life/the program we offer here!

By now we only have a community meeting in the mornings - the one in the evening doesn't exist anymore. Instead there is a different activity happening almost every night, e.g. life story/speaker's meeting on Mondays, women's circle/men's group on Wednesdays, public speaking group on Thursdays and occasionally a movie or dance night on one of the other days. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future!

Best wishes,
Julien Gryp
Director, New Life Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had an amazing time in New life foundation. Throughout my stay there, I was constantly learning, being challenged, and growing. It is the community for self growth through work, yoga, meditation, mindfulness, and through the wonderful people you meet.
Food provided there is fantastic, nice clean accommodation, beautiful meditation and yoga halls, swimming pool, and beautiful nature. It is the place for getting in touch with yourself without destruction of busy modern day life. There are variety of community work you can choose from and there are always some new activity happening in the community.
Depending on the status of your stay (either a volunteer or a resident), you have different schedule to follow. Residents have varieties of workshops in the afternoon while volunteers are working. Being a resident for a month and getting life coaching helped me to get in touch with myself in a deeper level, and made me stronger. Being a resident doesn't necessarily mean that you are an addict. There are many different reasons why you choose to be a resident and I really appreciate that diversity in the community.
I am so thankful that I found this place and get to stay there. It is one of the best place to stay if you need to take some time out of your busy life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tm n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Such a beautiful, peaceful community. I really enjoyed all the activities (yoga, meditation, art therapy, etc). Rooms were ensuite, clean, comfortable. Fee covers accommodation and all meals and most activities (Enneagram and life coaching at low extra cost). Sunday excursions to nearby attractions, trekking, hot springs were fantastic. Met so many lovely people during my 4 week stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

New Life Foundation is an amazing place to be, a friendly self-sustained community where you can take your time to relax, enjoy the lovely calming setting and just appreciate the simple things in life. It's a place where you will meet lots of people from all over the world, from all ages and backgrounds, sin everyone is welcomed here. You can come as a guest, volunteer or resident, different options for different people and different needs.
There are lots of activities going on everyday for you to enjoy: yoga, tai-chi, chi-gong, meditation, steam bath, sports, ...
You will forever cherish your New Life experience!

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, en-suite bathroom. If you want to have internet in your room, ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

New Life Foundation, a non-profit mindful community, is located on a 70-acre sustainable farm outside Chiang Rai in Northern Thailand. Yoga and meditation are offered throughout the day. Day begins and ends with a community meeting to share and organize. There is a wonderful pool, steambath, plus two meditation halls. Everyone has their own en suite bedroom unless you choose to share. Three delicious meals a day included. You can come as a guest or volunteer to work on the sustainable farm. But, either way, it's incredibly affordable, a true value for the money. You'll meet people of all ages from all over the world. A great place to take a break from long-term traveling. Good website at newlifethaifoundation.com.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glendaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

a must if you are in north of thailand! perfect place to relax, do some mindful exercises like yoga, meditation, tai chi, ...you can either be a guest or even a volunteer, but you enjoy all the classes + steam bath + swimming pool for free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaNogolica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiang Chai
3.0 mi away
Pa Sak Tong
Pa Sak Tong
#20 of 108 in Chiang Rai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Phufatara Resort
Phufatara Resort
#71 of 160 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
11.7 mi away
Museflower Retreat & Spa
Museflower Retreat & Spa
#1 of 2 in Wiang Chai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Life Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Life Foundation

Property: New Life Foundation
Address: 49 Moo 1 | Don Sila, Wiang Chai 57210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Wiang Chai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wiang Chai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a mindful recovery community, nestled amongst the mountains, lakes and rice fields of Northern Thailand. We have beautiful modern facilities, and more than 67 acres of land: a lake, a forest full of teak trees and many gardens with fruit trees and rice fields. From the meditation hall, situated on a hill, we have a beautiful view on the surrounding valleys and mountains. We offer a relaxed, easy-going atmosphere in a breathtakingly beautiful landscape, only 30 minutes away from Chiang Rai airport. All year long we have an energetic blend of people from all across the world and there are free yoga, meditation and tai chi classes every day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing