We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Upcountry!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upcountry Bungalows
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Upcountry!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we set foot on the property we were greeted with a smile and an amazing locally prepared meal. Tony and Nuna bought this property in 2006 and turned it into a paradise that should be explored by any traveller passing through Northen Thailand.

My friend and I had a scooter and every morning they gave us great reccomendations on where to go. They would also arrange transport if needed to the Golden Triangle and host of many other places so all that you have to do is wake up in the morning have a great breakfast prepared by Nuna using the eggs from her chickens on the corner of the property and get in the car and they will do the rest!.

Cannot wait to return as the bungalows design is the ultimate mix of flair and fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron8513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want a small, well-tended, beautiful place in Northern Thailand: Upcountry Bungalows is for you. Tony and Nuna are the owners. They are consummate hosts as well as your chef, bartender, and tour guide...and just fun to sit around and talk to. Superwoman Nuna with the help of various family members prepared the delicious Thai dishes made from food from the garden and the Fresh Market (an enjoyable outing itself). Since Nuna is from the area we were able to go to out-of-the-way places and since the groups were small we never felt intrusive. As a registered travel agent Nuna helped us with plans for the rest of our trip. A word of caution...for one leg of our journey we did NOT take Tony's advice and were very sorry that we hadn't...he knows what he's talking about! The casual atmosphere and attitude fit our travel style and made the 7 days we spent there the best of our trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The energetic Nuna and laid back Tony have tons of knowledge about places to visit in this area and were generous in sharing with us, even though we did not use their services as guides as we had our own transport.
Nuna cooked the food from locally bought produce and we enjoyed the array of dishes, she prepared. As we are omnivores, it was great having someone else choose and we got dishes we had not had elsewhere. We accepted their offer to go to a prawn restaurant where we had some delicious prawn dishes and fried fish and vegetales acompanied by stir fried veges. Not particularly attractive surroundings but authentic and we would never have found it ourselves.
The attractive gardens and bungalows would benefit from increased care and maintenance.

Room Tip: We were in the double bungalow - which is not soundproofed, so OK if you know your neighbours. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Nuna and Tony's Upcountry Bungalows. I seldom recommend anything, but we had such a wonderful experience that I want to share this resort. We took 2 day tours led by the irrepressible guide/owner Nuna. This is her home village and she knows N.Thailand, remote Hill Tribe Villages, local dialects, Temples, hikes and more. The meals are excellent and they grow and raise much of the food served. There is so much to see and do in this area that we extended our original 2 day stay. The bungalows are comfortable and clean with great views, gardens, koi pond, wifi and a full service bar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rolynlummis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent two nights at Upcountry Bungalows and can only confirm what others have written already. We felt very welcome, almost like part of a family.

A special feature that really impressed me, is that the Bungalows are built with double walls, making for better insolation. This is something I've always longed for in Thailand, and not found here before, even in expensive hotels. I much prefer this over a noisy aircondition and it allows you to relax in the Bungalow and still enjoy the surrounding sounds and smells.

Next time we travel to the north of Thailand, we will make sure to include a few nights at Upcountry Bungalows again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this place for one night. The location is beautiful with gardens and mountains to look out at. The room was beautiful with an outdoor shower and a comfy bed. There is a tv with DVDs available if you want to relax. The owners are very kind and helpful and grow/raise much of the food you will eat there. When we were there we could not choose what we wanted for dinner I'm guessing because we were the only guests. The food was delicious but it is important to note if you have any dietary concerns. If you stay here this seems to be the only place to eat as there isn't much else around..which is why you would choose this place :)

This is definitely a place you would stay to get away from it all. There is nothing else around so you can really relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tony and Numa are wonderful hosts who do all they can to make your stay a very enjoyable experience.

Nuna is a wonderful tour guide also - we took a full day excursion with her around the Phu Chi Fa region. Nuna's knowledge of the region, and also of the people living there made this a great day out. At the end of the day we felt that we knew most of what there was to know and had seen all that we wanted to see. The day out ended with a full Thai massage which was excellent. If you do not have much time in Phu Chi Fa, then we would definitely recommend that you take a day out with Nuna to optimise your stay.

The bungalows themselves are modern and very well appointed and very comfortable. The eating and dining area is well laid out and a great place to enjoy a coffee in the mornings while you watch the sun come up over the mountains - or a cold beer or (infamous) mojito at the end of the day. The meals that were prepared by Nuna were delightful.

The only slight downside to the bungalows as that they were not quite as remote as we had expected - though this could be a positive for some travellers. The bungalows are alongside the highway, so there is some traffic noise throughout the day.

When it was time for us to move on we were planning to take a bus to Chiang Rai and then transfer to another bus to Wiang Pa Pau. Tony and Nuna were making a trip down to Chiang Mai, so they took us with them and went out of their way in order to drop us off at the door of our destination. This really was "going the extra mile".

Room Tip: They all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thoeng
9.9 mi away
Chiangkham Grand Villa
Chiangkham Grand Villa
#2 of 2 in Chiang Kham
10 reviews
32.7 mi away
Lanna Thai Villa
Lanna Thai Villa
#1 of 6 in Thoeng
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thoeng
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcountry Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcountry Bungalows

Property: Upcountry Bungalows
Address: 157 Moo 18, Ban Ton Yang | T. Ngao, Thoeng 57160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Thoeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Thoeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, eco-friendly getaway in the mountains of Northern Thailand, Upcountry Bungalows is a small, modern, affordable, privately-owned resort with many amenities. English, Thai spoken.Each bungalow has a queen-size bed, top-quality furniture, lighting, linens. Satellite TV (western Thai movies, CNN, BBC, financial networks. Extra folding bed available.Eight-foot windows, sliding doors front beautiful view and open to large wooden decks. Attached, tiled bathrooms with private outdoor showers. On site restaurant and bar. Guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Upcountry Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing