We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maesalong Mountain Home
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ben Guesthouse(Chiang Rai)
$15
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monpacome Resort(Mae Fa Luang)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Khum Nai Phol(Mae Fa Luang)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Baan Ruam Cha Resort(Mae Fa Luang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban Khun Yom(Chiang Rai)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B2 Chiang Rai(Chiang Rai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
30
22
2
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
22
2
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheir websitetea farmthaithbmountainshillmotorbikeairaccommodationtribeownermaptown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 62 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived by songtew from Chiang Rai ($30) and were totally stuck there until we could get someone to come and get us out. No guides or tours available in low season. The owner has no transportation to offer. Don't know what he'd do in an emergency. The bungalows are spartan with concrete poured "furniture"; beds are rock hard; modern plumbing was a pleasant surprise. Two of us had noodles for dinner but the person who had rice got food poisioning. You are not told he accepts only cash until you arrive. This was a big problem. Unless you have your own transportation or don't mind treking long distances on steep terrain, choose another place.

Room Tip: The bungalows numbered with an "A" have the best view. Some "B' ones have very limited views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janiebaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was some 5 years ago when we stayed there the first time. We loved it for it's tranquility, welcoming owner and staff and the lovely rooms with terrace where one can absorb the mountainous scenery. We've kept coming back over the years with the latest visit this February(2013). We still love it for the same reasons. The place is well maintained, the rooms are still romantic. The road leading to the place is a bit adventerous but, at the same time, has its charm and is somehow part of the package. There's only Chinese food availabe which I, not being particularely fond of Chinese food in general, found very tasty and really enjoyed.

Room Tip: found all rooms nice, the room on the far left though seems to have the best views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herbertbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is not at the main street, but the rewards is what surrounds it. You can see the hill from you room window. There are tea plantations nearby. You can walk down between the tea plantations to the river bellow. Or you can walk up very early in the morning to reach the top of the hill to see the beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank eddharj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

While a little more expensive than many places in Thailand, the setting is very picturesque with mountains all around. There is some good hiking and the friendly Chinese owner will give you a map. One day we hiked down to the river and spent a few hours dunking ourselves while a local cowhearder came by. Nearby tea plantations make for some great pics. Restaurant good and reasonable. We didn't have a car and although the owner picked us up it would have been difficult to get around without wheels. We just stayed put for a couple of days. No AC but one of the few places where we didn't need it. Rooms simple

Room Tip: We opted for regular as opposed to deluxe and didn't see a difference
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A small resort run by a lovely couple who think everyone are their friends plus a small amount of rooms and tents you can feel like your own place. surround by tea farm and mountian, seeing sunrise and sunset, no such a fancy things to serve your need just a comfy bed, hot water and television in the room can you imagine that?
A very warm welcome from the owner and staff make everything perfect, the food was simply serving rice soup with mashroom and miced pork from thier own kitchen which you can't miss in the morning. aslo try the Yunan sausage on their menu is not a bad idea.

Room Tip: because of number of rooms you should book in advance especially in winter, better call first otherwise you'll miss it!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angela_PThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews