We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marndadee Heritage River Village
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saraphi
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It's not clear exactly how or why this place exists but I'm glad that it does. Seemingly a showcase for the owner's collection of art and antiques, this is not your typical B&B. The place is simply stunning. Mind you, if your goal is to hit the Night Market or the temples, this may not be the place for you. It's a hike from central Chiang Mai. But if you're ready to calm down for a while and watch the river flow by (more interesting than it might seem) then it's hard to beat this place. Excellent rooms, perfect service, good food in the restaurant, wildlife in abundance...I could have stayed here a long time, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
107
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel as part of our honeymoon in February 2014 and we really loved our stay here! We booked one of the rice barns and it is amazing how much eye for detail this hotel has. From the bathroom products, the bathtub, the door key, the teak floors to the organic food in the restaurant - it was beautiful.

Location wise, yes it is a 20 min drive from the city center, but you stay in the middle of the locals, next to the river where you see fishermen passing by and next to rice fields that you can explore by bike. It really is something different.

The service is perfect, very friendly and open to help. We booked a trip to visit Doi Suthep temple with the hotel and that was great and went smoothly. We even used the pool which has a view on the river and is salt water.

This is an amazing experience if you want to get out of Chiang Mai and stay in an authentic, luxurious and beautiful place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

along the river, between the rice fields and only 30min from bustling Chang Mai.
We stayed in the rice barn villa which is beautifully decorated with some antique pieces and with extremely comfortable beds. very peaceful environment to relax completely.
Take the funky hotel bikes to visit the nearby handicraft village.
Staff and management is very friendly and helpful.
For those fed up with big lobby hotels with huge breakfast buffets, electronic keys, being a room number... Here they know you!
Mardadee is not just a hotel, it's an experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoCa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The resort is located about 30 minutes by car from Chiang Mai city near the Ping river.

What this relatively new boutique resort is about
- countryside living away from hustle and bustle of city life;
- you can lie down on deck chair beside the swimming pool on the 2nd level and watch fishermen throwing their nets on the Ping river;
- hear the sound of crickets, frogs, birds, roosters and other animals within the comfort of your room;
- excellent and good variety of authentic Thai and western food at the restaurant;
- mineral water swimming pool and spa;

What this resort is NOT
- typical high rise hotel chain;
- impersonal service;
- use of the room only for sleep and rest;

We would strongly recommend this resort to guests who look out for something different and love living with nature. Try to book the Rice Barn Villa instead of the Colonial rooms. If you are a light sleeper, bring along some ear plugs as the crickets and frogs really "sing" at night.

Room Tip: Choose the Rice Barn Villas and they come in different sizes. We stayed in Rice Barn Villa number 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Marndadee is magical. If you want a place which is calm, gentle, cheerful, welcoming and very different to the formality of normal hotels then this is the place for you. My Rice Barn became my haven for three days - a little cocoon of comfort, a huge bed in which to sleep like a baby, fresh air through old style windows, interesting antiques, hot water, clean linens, a hammock to swing in, a table to think at, a balcony from which to gaze at the river, tree lanterns to make the evening glow and a chorus of frogs to sing you to sleep. And after all that staff who cheer your day with a smile and good food.

It is not, and should never try to be, the Radisson/Four Seasons of Chiang Mai.
It is Marndadee and has a magic of its own.

Room Tip: Rice barns are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwenllian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The place is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. The landscape, with it's rice patties and undulating creeks, tropical plants and trees, art, lanterns, and river-side setting, with beautiful "rice barns" and white colonial buildings so tastefully placed along the meandering paths -- it's a feast for the eyes and the senses. There is also an infinity pool which, thoughtfully, does not have outlets all over. This allows for a serene feeling, without a bunch of people doing business and yammering on their cell phones. The restaurants, terraces, reception area are so pretty, all filled with an eclectic and sometimes even whimsical collection of antiques and crafts.
After being picked up at the airport by hotel staff, our party of seven settled into 3 adjacent rice barns which, on the upper level, shared a large and lovely deck, outfitted with a long table and chairs, perfect for outdoor dining for our group. We had cocktail hour and two delicious dinners out there -- one room-serviced over from the restaurant and one of street food from the nearby neighborhood (easy walking distance). It felt like our private paradise.
The rooms are so beautiful, so much attention to detail. lovely antiques, comfy platform bed, screened windows which open to allow plenty of fresh air. There was a tv in the room but we had zero interest. Beneath each rice barn is a patio with hammock, table, multiple chairs, bucket of flip flops, lots of outlets, all in the shade. One person in our group had to work a bit and used the space like an outdoor office. We used mosquito repellent in the eves, just in case, and had no bites at all. The frogs are loud but we had no trouble sleeping. Bring ear plugs just in case.
The staff, from the managers to the housekeepers, gardeners, drivers and car attendants were so friendly and kind. I felt they had a lot of pride in the place and it showed by how they went the extra mile to make things good for us. My husband accidentally cut his finger and everyone fussed over him to make sure he was okay, including driving us to the local pharmacy and coming in to translate so he could get the items he needed. There was some construction going on during the day but was pretty low key and did not bother us.
This hotel in not in the hubbub of Chiang Mai, but about 20 mins drive from there in a quiet neighborhood. We really enjoyed walking by the houses, through the markets and shops on our numerous forays out for cut fruit, pad Thai, grilled bananas, Chinese donuts, etc. Also, the food in the restaurants at the hotel was quite good.
Thanks to everyone at Marndadee for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: I think our 3 rices barns were 7, 8 and 9. Perfect for groups travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel6086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I arrived late in the night on the first day. In the room that I checked in, there was a scarecrow out front. There it stood, an evil shadow of a figurine in front of our Sino Colonial room, the silhouette of a ghostly figure with its head posed like its neck was broken. That's when I realized scarecrows are not only meant to scare birds, but to scare a few drops of pee out of me.

On the second night, we stayed in the Rice Barn. A wooden house erected on large stilts, each of those strong support, parts of an old sturdy tree. The resort aims to retain the rustic authenticity of the north, so a majority of parts in the barns are actually recycled from pieces of rural houses which had ran out of their useful past. Both the Sino Colonial room and the Rice Barn we stayed were fully loaded with antiquity. And every room there is christened by a name, not a number. The name which is from a nearby district and no two are the same.

I find the Rice Barn most interesting of stay, but very small she is I have to say. Going up a flight of wooden stars, there is a patio that overlooks the bordering Ping river out front. Wooden chairs and a low table, that was where I spent the afternoon sipping tea. The entrance into our room is made up of two swinging doors, very small and can get stuck going in especially with luggage.

The barn is made for hobbits I am sure, I think they made it small so that it's a novelty. A large bed took up most of the space within, and we had to move furniture around when we wanted to open them windows to let the winter air in. The Sino Colonial rooms are much larger and easier to move around in comparison. The Rice Barn spots more luxury, she has a colonial style bathtub that stood on four legs in her bathroom. But small, very small so you may overturn the tub if your are too large. And below the deck a sitting area there is, a hammock for one to snooze, a table and two chairs for my blogging there is.

This resort had only opened in recent months, operationally they seemed to be still figuring out how to run the place smoothly. Tell tale signs were the inadequate sitting space for breakfast with the food line setup in what seem to be in a abrupt fashion. Egg station, cooks and all, enclosed in a small pack area on the second floor. Breakfast selection was limited, but the taste was pleasantly above acceptable. However, the food ran out too fast, and a different dish was served later in place but of an equally small quantity.

Chamber maids had trouble coping with the full occupancy rate it seemed. We were told our room was ready but we had to wait a half hour below our barn before the staffs came to ready our room from the previous occupant's stay. Actually they never came till we called the reception to complain. And that's where for the first time in my life I seen elderly ladies move so fast up and down the stairs executing frantic task carrying bed sheets, linens, the broom and the mop in flight.

If you travelled enough, you will know that in most hotels, there is a lack of free electrical outlets to charge your phone and gadgets. Not in Marndadee. I counted 14 free outlets in total within the Rice Barn. I can charge my phone or power my notebook almost anywhere. Also interesting to note about Marndadee is that your room doors can be locked form the outside. So much like Medieval times, you can engage the latch on your neighbor's door, lock them in and set their barns on fire.

We had picked this resort to be the finale of our trip and glad we did. Its far away from bustling Chiangmai, getting there required some travelling through surrounding pastures of paddy fields. How more natural can it get? This last leg of our journey, after tiresome driving and all, we rested well in Marndadee not venturing out anywhere no more after lunch. It was the night before New Year's eve. As we sat chilling out beyond dusk, the croaking frogs orchestrated the night. Occasionally our barn was illuminated in a radiance of colors, followed by a delayed faint crack of distance fireworks. The chilly air we breathed, the winter blanket we were in. Marndadee, a perfect place to rest and sink into total relaxation she will be.

Room Tip: Take the Rice Barn for an interesting stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kings L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saraphi
8.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
9.9 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
6.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
6.5 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
8.0 mi away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marndadee Heritage River Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marndadee Heritage River Village

Property: Marndadee Heritage River Village
Address: 9 Moo 1, Kuamung | Kua Mung Subdistrict, Saraphi 50140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Saraphi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saraphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marndadee Heritage River Village 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marndadee Heritage River Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing