We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and interesting cooking course”

Baan Hongnual Cookery School
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Saraphi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A Lanna style school located in a country-side village, Just 15 minutes from the city of Chiang Mai. The school offers lessons in how to cook delicious Thai food, Thai sweets, fruit-carving and presentation. When cooking Thai food, various local spices, that enhances your health and physical well-being, are used as ingredients. It is the ideal school to learn how to cook Thai food, to preserve the traditions for generations to come. The atmosphere surrounding the school is filled with warmth, understanding empathy and helpfulness, all representing ancient, traditional Lanna custom and culture. It is our aim to teach you how to cook delicious and sumptuous Thai food perfectly and to preserve this culinary art for future generations.
Pforzheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good and interesting cooking course”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and me booked a six meal cooking course at Baan Hongnual Cookery School. After a very interesting visit on a local market we prepared all our meals made of very fresh ingredients. We were thaugt by very good proffessional Thai teachers in English. It was an unforgetable day, and we are very glad we chose this interesting cooking course!We received a lot of hints and information we will think of when we prepare Thai food at home, choosing receipes in our new cooking book we received at the end of our course. Many thanks to Mrs. Amporn and her very friendly team. We enjoyed the time cooking with you!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ute S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant food that is easy to make”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Instructor is an experienced chef. She breaks down the recipes into easy to follow steps. The class was a mixture of food buffs and novices. Setting is lovely. They grow many of the herbs used in the class. The full day course is worth the extra money and time. Whether half or full day you get a cookbook at the end of class.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iaminoznow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai cooking class”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were collected from our hotel in Chiang Mai, taken to a market where our teacher explained to us about all the different ingredients used in Thai cookery. We bought many of the fresh ingredients that we were going to use during our cooking class. There were 6 of us and we all mostly cooked the same dishes, but had the choice between red, green or massaman curry; tom yum or tom kha, and we all cooked pad thai and spring rolls (or we could have done a dessert instead).

It was very hands-on (unlike some other schools where you mostly watch), our teacher was excellent and the food was lovely (even though I say so myself).

I would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyandGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tastes Better Than Local Restaurants!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe we cooked, and it was even better than most meals we've paid for in Thailand! Our first trip in April was so good with two friends, we brought family back here in May!

With a full day course, they pick you up and drop you off at your hotel. After a stop on the way to a local market to buy the ingredients for the day, we arrived at the friendly HongNual cooking school. Aoy was our guide for the day both times. They give a book at the end that provides all the recipes

Great for a day activity when you're in the north for a while...highly recommend it. You'll feel like you can open your own restaurant after this!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thai food at home - best souveneir of the trip”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We attended a full day cooking class (6 different dishes), in December and loved it. Even my husband, who does not cook at all, enjoyed it. Pam was wonderful - a great instructor and lots of fun. We started with a trip to the local market, which was fascinating. So much to see and didn't know what half of it was. Pam guided us through, picking out ingredients for the recipes we chose to prepare and pointing out different things and telling us how they were used.

Ours was a small group and we each had our own prep and cooking station. We harvested many of the herbs from their garden at the cooking school. The food was excellent and we were stuffed when we left. They gave us each a cookbook so we can try the recipes at home. If you have some free time in Chiang Mai, I would highly recommend trying this. We did a full day, but a 1/2 day (3 dishes) would be fun too, if you have limited time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TammieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Hongnual Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Saraphi, Chiang Mai Province
Saraphi, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baan Hongnual Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing