We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardenesque”
Review of Saimoonbury Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saimoonbury Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Chai Prakan B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Now, my wife and I have occasioned to spend at least one night here, twice. Excellent place. Very quiet. NO bad rooms.

The rooms we have seen are all quite spacious - definitely comfortable enough for a week of relaxation. The rooms are nicely furnished and decorated. The rooms are well kept and clean. Seems that this resort is very much a secret and occupancy rate is low. Both Thai and International tourists would enjoy a relaxing time here.

The resort is gardenesque - lush with many kinds of flowers, trees, and shrubs - a beautiful place. The staff are very kind and helpful. The owner of the resort is proficient in English (she insisted on using English with us). I can't speak about the staff as I spoke in Thai with them.

Because of its' location, I doubt anyone would use this as a central point from which to go sightseeing. One would want to just relax here for a week or so, or, just a night on the way to another place. I don't know of other points of interest close to this resort.

My only complaint is that the beds are too hard for me and my wife.

A suitable place for couples, family and friends. They also have a nice restaurant on site as a nice coffee shop.

We did not use the pool, but looks nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentpelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Saimoonbury Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and as usual, this last time was as good as before. This time I tried the saltwater swimming pool, which was very pleasant. The rooms are all spacious and large comfortable beds. Also free wifi. I will be back as it is in a convenient location for my travels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59Thunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This unique resort with a swimming pool looks the best in the area with perfect hid away. This is a decent resort so far within this area.There are various type of food outlets with a major restaurant being located by the lake, a decent coffee shop at the entrance perfect for an evening romantic dinner. The room was specious and large compare to the other Hotel and clean, giving it a nine out of ten for my recommendation. The resort equipped with a Free Wifi for the public area and the service are much better than the other places within the area, despite having problem in English communication but the staff they goes beyond my expectation and help me in getting around the area. The Resort also provide a decent massage with a very good price, this is perfect for a day rest by the swimming pool. The resort provide a various food type but for breakfast you will need to inform the resort for your specific requested because they will visited the local market at early morning otherwise you may find yourself with a scramble eggs only..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wtirakeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a wonderful evening at this hotel. The staff was tripping over themselves to help you. The food was delicious and abundant. Spent the evening with the owners learning about Thai culture. Delightful experience for good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a beautiful resort in a large spacious garden area and the price is fair. Rooms are private, large and comfortable. Clean and all the room amenities you would need. Free wifi worked only in the reception/restaurant area. Breakfast rice soup was a bit tasteless. Staff very friendly and helpful. I will stay again if passing this way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59Thunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Similar to the most recent review, we stayed here as part of a cycling tour (Spice Roads tour which was excellent by the way) and were more than pleased with the hotel. Service was excellent at the hotel with the staff and happy and willing to accomodate any of our requests. The hotel has a family feel and all all members of the staff happily pitch in whenever required. Food was also similarly excellent (and our guide had ordered on our behalf as well - the deep fried fish in particular was very delicious).

One review below had mentioned that it was difficult to find staff to prepare breakfast in the morning. However, one tip for those staying in those hotel is to let the front desk know in advance what time you will be eating breakfast when you check in. Breakfast will then be prepared and ready when you arrive the next morning. Staff typically do not arrive in the hotel before 8AM so if you require breakfast before this, letting the hotel know about your preferred breakfast time is essential.

Because we stayed in the hotel as part of a cycling tour, we did not have extremely high expectations for the accomodations. Beause of this, we were extremely impressed with this hotel. However, one should be aware that this is a 2-3 star hotel. While the rooms and linens were clean, you did see the occasional insect/lizard in the room and bathroom (no cockroaches though) so one should be prepared for this.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know what time you will be eating breakfast so they can prepare accordingly!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheManT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Looking at the last review, things have really changed here. We stopped at this hotel as part of a bike tour and it suited us down to the ground. Staff were really friendly and the food was great. Our guide had ordered for us so maybe that is why it was so good but still. Drinks were also reasonably priced and they mixed a REALLY good gin and tonic.
Rooms were big with a decent shower - in fact the water was so hot we had to be careful

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saimoonbury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saimoonbury Resort

Address: 52/1 Chotana Road Nhongbua, Chai Prakan 50320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chai Prakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chai Prakan
Price Range: $58 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Saimoonbury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing