We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay but had dinner here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thaton River View Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mae Ai
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Did not stay but had dinner here.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to say that i was quite surprised by the negative reviews because at first blush this was a very pretty hotel. We only visited it for dinner but I really enjoyed the landscaping. It is a beautiful resort. The Maekok river was in flood and it was raining during our visit but we enjoyed it none the less. We stayed at the chalet up top of the Buddhist monastery and the view is just amazing! Make sure if you are in Thaton, you owe it to your self to visit the temples overlooking the town.

As far as the food was concerned, it was only average, but service and quality was excellent. You must try the fresh mangoes if they are in season. Some of the best I have had anywhere.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

A friend in Chiang Mai had given us their brochure and we were looking forward to a idyllic three-night stay along the river. The flowers were blooming in front and along the riverside deck, it was so beautiful. Then we proceeded to checked in. The girls sitting behind the desk were on their cell phones and clearly annoyed with having to end their calls to assist us in registering, our mere presence garnered looks of distain. We were shown to our room and were more than disappointed with their notion of a bathroom. A family checked in next door, the walls were so thin that it sounded like they were in our room. We asked to be moved to a quieter location which they complied with quickly and without a smile. During the night I was bitten by bedbugs. It gets even worse because of the food. The free breakfast was so bad that I considered feeding the ham and hot dogs to their cats. We cut our stay short and left town.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda123itsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mae Ai hotels

Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

this is a terrible hotel! when you see pictures in the leaflet or on the internet you would think the hotel is ok but the pictures date from 30 years ago i think! Everything is rotten, the rooms are humid (really bad for your health), beds are terrible , the bathroom is disgusting just filthy and service is a joke! They don't understand a word of english and do not even pretend to try eather! This hotel was in our Jetair tour , we did not no which hotel we would go to so it's really a shame we had to stay there. Managed by children it looks who stand in front of a flat screen looking television whole day instead of taking care of their customers our keeping the hotel clean! Such a shame. Bungalows are also 1 meter next to the road so if a car drives by you think they are driving in your room. I did not feel happy the next day. Thailand is the land of the smiles , you didn't see me smile the next morning after a humid night!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddyMechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

It is situated in the middle of the mist mountains alongside the Mae Kok River. The resort blends into the natural surroundings and the long bungalows and single houses are scattered around the open space to provide privacy. Rooms are fairly basic but have everything you need, including air conditioning, hot shower and comfortable beds. Thai cookery lessons are also available on request. Herbal sauna and traditional massage is also available as is boat, car and bicycle rental service. Food is mostly Thai but well cooked and delicious. The main building services as the reception area and the restaurant. It is not a place I would not recommend for a long stay but a couple of nights en route if you are touring , it would be ideal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiang rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

It is hard to understand how they can charge 1600 Bahts for a night stay here. The rooms were clean but in great need of a make over. No control over the air conditioning. Doors and windows very badly fitting.

The grounds and walkways were very shabby and the plastic terrace seats should be totally replaced.

The american style breakfast was without doubt the worst hotel breakfast I have ever been presented with. Totally inedible.

The whole place appears to be run by a group of high school kids with no idea of how to run a hotel. It was a great shame as the place could be stunning if it were properly managed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Ai
0.9 mi away
Maekok River Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Khun Mai Baan Suan Resort
0.0 mi away
Areeya Phuree Resort
Areeya Phuree Resort
#4 of 5 in Mae Ai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saranya River House
Saranya River House
#1 of 2 in Thaton
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 2 in Mae Ai
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Phusangtawan Resort
#3 of 5 in Mae Ai
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaton River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaton River View Resort

Property: Thaton River View Resort
Address: 302 Baan, Mae Ai 50280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Ai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mae Ai
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaton River View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaton River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaton River View Resort Thailand/Chiang Mai Province - Mae Ai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing