We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Canaria in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kantang
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

First if you want to pay, have no service, no smiles then this is OK. For families with small children resort is OK but there it is. Food is over priced, not good ect.

Activities are expencive, like kayak is 150bath/1hour.

Rooms are quite clean, but really expencive.

But if you dare to walk a bit, you will get much better service,food, better prices from near by.

Also there are quite nice bungalows next to the resort. Check them out.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folivora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Koh Mook, Charlie resort has the best location, we were 20mtrs from the beach, the island is so unspoilt and beaches are clean and nice and quiet.

The resort staff were full of smiles and very helpful, our room was big and nice and clean, bathrooms nice and spacious. The bungalows are set in beautiful gardens.

I have stayed in nicer resorts but value for money and location make this a great choice.

Room Tip: Choose the Beachfront Bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location of Charlie Beach Resort is unbeatable, and there aren't a whole lot of options on Koh Muk Island. Our air-con bungalow was clean and had a safe in the closet for storing our passports. There was a sewage odor for virtually our entire stay-we think that our bungalow was situated near a sewage/septic drain field?

Our experiences with the staff varied from very friendly (pool bartender) to indifferent, if not unfriendly (snorkeling tour agent). Definitely skip the Charlie Beach Resort restaurant and go to Hilltop or Ko Yao Seafood! And if you're not into beach side resorts, maybe try Rubber Tree Bungalows just up the way.

Of Special Note: From what we gathered in talking with different tour agents (Bangkok & Trang) and staff working at various lodging and restaurants (throughout Thailand), the general consensus is that if a resort or restaurant is not owned and operated by a local Thai family, then the staff are not as happy working there. Many of the larger resorts & restaurants are owned by wealthy investors that do not live nearby or even visit very often, pay their staff less wages, and have created an impersonal atmosphere. We found this to be true when comparing the mom 'n' pop establishments that we stayed/ate at to the corporate ones.

Room Tip: Try to book the beachfront bungalows; garden view bungalows may have the septic/sewer drain field pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was pretty apprehensive because of the previous negative reviews, but I couldn't have been happier. Yes, the non a/c beach bungalow rooms are small. Yes, there is a mattress on the floor with a mosquito net and not much else. But frankly, why the hell would you want to be in your room when you have one of the world's most beautiful beaches just steps away? This was more than adequate for our needs. The room was perfectly clean, no problems with vermin of any kind (which was honestly my biggest concern--it seems they have really taken care of that from the past). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't even need the fan at night, that's how cool it gets with the ocean breezes. I will echo what others said about their tours being expensive--shop around and you will probably find cheaper prices for things like the Emerald Cove.

I am really happy we stayed at Hat Farang instead of on the other side of the island, at Hat Sivalai. While the sand at Sivalai is "whiter," the water is much murkier due to the fishing village nearby. At low tide it feels pretty icky to swim in it. Farang, on the other hand, is crystal clear even waist-deep. I really felt like I was in paradise. If you aren't happy with staying at Charlie Beach Resort, you are probably a really fussy, entitled person.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wishain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Not my first visit. But each time I feel more relaxed. The island is a real beauty, the sunset right in front of the hotel viewed from the Rock restaurant to the left of the hotel is breathtaking. And Charly Beach has the perfect location (if you dont need an amusement center near by) but nature, beach, views.
I visited the hotel alone, with - romantic - company and also with a group of friends. All have been very impressed.

Room Tip: Cottages are distributed over a larger area below coconut trees. Try to get one near to the beach, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My Husband and I were originally booked at Pawapi, but after one night we changed to Charlie Beach and it was the best decision we made. We rented a A/C bungalow and it was clean and comfortable. The beach is stunning as is the pool that over looks the beach. The service was fantastic! We found the restaurant was a little pricey and was not the best food. You are a 2 minute walk to other restaurants that are cheaper and better food. I would recommend Charlie Beach to anyone going to Koh Muk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Whilst I wouldn't want to ruin someones business I do feel I have to be truthful about our experience of Charlie Resort. We arrived with the intention of staying for 3-4 days but had only booked 1 night provisionally in one of the basic bamboo beach huts (for which they were charging us 1200 THB). When shown the room we were less than impressed. As previously described it was a tiny room with a mattress on the floor and mosquito net. It resembled something more akin to a prison cell than a holiday bungalow! We explained that we wouldn't be happy to stay there and asked if they had other rooms, the only room available was an a/c room at 2500 THB per night. As there were no other resorts nearby we bit the bullet and stayed 1 night. The room was pretty average to be generous and way above what you'd expect to pay anywhere else. I get the impression that Charlie Resort have monopolised the beach and know they can charge whatever they like as there is nowhere else to go.
The food in the restaurant is awful and the staff don't seem to have any idea as to what they're doing. There were numerous occasions when they placed plates of food (that we hadn't ordered) onto our table and that was for one sitting.
The resort appears to be aimed at family package tourists as there were numerous families staying there and it had the feel of a Costa Del Sol hotel about it.
I would never recommend this resort to anybody. The only good thing about our 1 night on Koh Muk was the Thai restaurant set on the cliff, Ko Yao. If you are unfortunate enough to be staying at Charlie Resort then do yourself a favour and visit Ko Yao!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mali_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kantang
1.0 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
The Sevenseas Resort
The Sevenseas Resort
#1 of 2 in Kantang
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Koh Mook The Sun Great Resort
7.3 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
418 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort

Address: 164 Moo 2, Koh Mook, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Kantang
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kantang
Price Range: $31 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Mook Charlie Beach Hotel Kantang
Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort Thailand/Kantang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing