We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Bamurru Plains

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamurru Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The lodge is beautiful, the decoration is modern yet colonial, the outdoor is very trendy,the service is excellent. At night the main area could benefit from a lot more light ( solar panel should be doubled), the rooms could be a tad larger, but they are very functional and clean., the bedding is very good. The food is good but the cook is unable to cope with a full house. On our first night there the lodge was full and the service was sloppy, they insist of having everybody sitting around the table and by the time the last people were served, your meal was cold.... since the food was not good it was not important...., the rest of our stay however was far better, the cook redeems himself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmanuelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

If you like riding around flood plains on airboats, ogling prolific bird life, seeking out secretive crocodiles, floating noiselessly on still billabongs, sleeping in luxury tented cabins and enjoying gourmet meals, then 'Wild Bush Luxury' at Bamurru Plains is for you. An extraordinary place with fantastic staff, we enjoyed 3 of the most unique days of our lives here. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cassandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon it was an awesome experience. We were there on the last week of the season, there was a lot of bird life waiting for the wet season and the flood plains to expand. We enjoyed daily trips on the boat and a few opportunities to explore remote areas with a helicopter. I recommend staying here it was a great experience in such a remote and beautiful place.

The staff at the hotel made us feel very welcome, we enjoyed evenings outside eating great food by the fire and brilliant tours conducted by Lauren and Steve.

The highlight of our trip was having a picnic on a remote beach which we accessed by helicopter. We saw crocodiles catching the last sunrays as we departed, the scenery was beautiful.

The rooms were very comfortable including a large bathroom and living space.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SineadR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

There are holidays. And then, there are experiences. Bamurru Plains is both.

We've been travelling now for 5 weeks in Aus. We've stayed at a variety of places, seen a lot of things. Its at Bamurru Plains that I had the moment in the entire trip when I thought - "This. Is. It".

The service is understated yet excellent. The accommodation was high end yet beautifully in touch with its surroundings. The food was, undoubtedly, the best we had on tour to date.

Going on the plains on the airboat though was the closest thing I have felt to utter joy. I would have wept with the sheer beauty of it had I not been with my whole family (I would never have lived it down). The birds taking off in their droves will remain with me as one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen in my life.

Just go. Hang the expense. Its worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 245lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Let me start by saying that we enjoyed ourselves. The staff and the guides are warm and friendly. The food was delicious. Since this is a place where venues are rated in an honest forum of experiences, please indulge me, and take this as my opinion. You will note how others rave, so take my review with a grain of salt.

The elephant in the room: Staying here is very, very costly – even if you take into account its relative remoteness. At this price point, the guides should be trained to know and relay advanced information on the ecosystem and the flora and fauna. This is a working buffalo station where, historically, the land has been used to raise non-native buffaloes for their meat, but the Asian water buffaloes degrade the natural environment, and the natural environment could be the biggest draw in a Top End luxury eco-resort such as this. While there are several helicopter flight excursions that are available, there should be some options that are not on the airboats for those who are active and express interest. They might consider doing short talks or slideshows around the fireplace before dinner; this area and its people have many interesting stories to tell. The bungalow units are nice especially the bathrooms), but not as nice as other places at this price point.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank travels2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As an Aussie who has heard about the Top End for years I thought I knew what to expect but I got so much more than I ever dreamed. Wall to wall birds, wallabies, buffalo and more with the most knowledgeable guides on 4WD , airboats and helicopters topped off with cuisine to rival the top hatted restaurants in the big cities. Our every wish was catered for with friendly, warm and unobtrusive service and smiles from all. We had plenty sf signtseeing as well as time by (and in) the pool and for try first time in years we had no phone or Internet to distract us - absolute bliss!!!
This is worth every penny and is undisputed outback in delightful style - you cannot miss it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have just returned from 3 weeks in Australia, during which we spent three nights at Bamurru. The three nights were the highlight. The setting is beautiful. filled with wallabies, water buffalo, and birds of every description. Our 9 and 11 year olds enjoyed checking off their sitings of birds and wildlife in the checklists located in every room. They were at over 40 kinds of birds, two types of snake (non-venomous --- although there are venomous snakes that we never saw in the area), the wallabies and water buffalo, and crocodiles. Each morning there is an airboat safari with very knowledgeage guide, each late afternoon a driving safari, and in between relaxation at the lodge, by the pool or in the rooms. The rooms are safari style, solid roofs, tent fronts, solid back with a very nice bathroom. My wife and I took one, and the three kids had an adjacent one. They are very private. Meals are top-notch, restaurant quality and three course. We spent a lot of money on other meals in Australia of inferior quality. Drinks are included, and the wine is very good. The sundowner drinks on safari, looking at the sunset, always hit the spot.
For my wife and I, three nights were just right. For our 16 year old, two were probably enough.
Service is truly excellent.
Maybe the only downside is that when you are in safari-style housing, you hear a lot and, given how replete the area is with birds and animals, the night noise is quite audible, and the sun rises earlier. But we adjusted, and that became part of the experience.
Bamurru is by no means inexpensive, but it was real value for money and we loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calgaryfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bamurru Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamurru Plains

Address: West of Kakadu National Park | Mary River, Mary River National Park, Northern Territory, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mary River National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mary River National Park
Price Range: $968 - $1,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bamurru Plains 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the savannah bush on the edge of the Mary River floodplains, Australia’s answer to the Okavango delta, Bamurru Plains’ is the setting for a wilderness experience like no other. With just nine safari suites, each blending seamlessly with the surrounding bush and with a focus on the key luxury comforts, a supremely comfortable bed, innovative Australian cuisine and premium wines (no TVs, minibars or telephones to distract from the wildlife outside), Bamurru deliberately tries not to be a typical luxury hotel room in the bush. The floodplains and savannah woodland offer one of Australia’s richest wildlife experiences: tens of thousands of Magpie Geese mingle with Whistling Kites, egrets, herons and buffalo on the floodplain, while Blue-winged Kookaburras, parrots, cockatoos and Agile Wallabies inhabit the fringing woodlands. Bamurru’s team of passionate field guides offer a variety of activities, including exhilarating airboat trips on the floodplains, cruises on the Sampan River to spot crocodiles, four-wheel drive safaris, scenic flights over the floodplains and coastline. We can also arrange tours to the rock art galleries of Arnhem Land or guided fishing trips. In the evening, sit back with a sundowner drink and canapés and enjoy the soft ‘Wild Bush Luxury’ touches that are the Bamurru trademark. There is also an open bar, a small swimming pool and nature reference library. Bamurru Plains, its facilities and 300 km² of country are exclusively for the use of its guests, so you can be assured of a quiet, privileged outback experience. Bamurru Plains is a member of the Luxury Lodges of Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bamurru Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing