We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upmarket eco lodge with access to great wetlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An upmarket eco lodge with access to great wetlands”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good points:
A very upmarket eco lodge. It’s only been opened a couple of years & the “habitat” cabin was very well presented, with floor to ceiling windows & sliding doors to make the best of the view. The rain shower also had a floor to ceiling window view.
There was a beautiful infinity swimming pool, good bar room and a large dining room. They served a really good standard of food, including local barramundi fish and crocodile and the wait staff were very attentive.
Free wifi internet in the bar area.
Access to a great air boat (a flat boat with a propeller at the rear) tour of the wetlands. Although expensive at $165 for 45 minutes, it gave us great sightings of the birds & some crocodiles.
Not so good:
A door separating the bathroom from the bedroom would have been appreciated for privacy.
Expensive at $500/night but we were on an Outback Spirit Tour, so we probably stayed there at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Geckau
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay whilst touring with Outback Spirit. The team and I very much enjoy hosting our Outback Spirit guests. PJ & Ange are like family to the Wildman team and this includes the guests that travel with them. Our chefs work tirelessly to ensure we serve the freshest of food including many locally sourced items (NT Barra is the best). I have passed on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in the neighbourhood.
Kind Regards
Jason Yule
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    75
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
69
156
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed 3 days in an air-conditioned Habitat Villa that sets the standard for luxury outback accommodation. Very friendly, attentive staff who went out of their way to ensure we were looked after from front reception, bar and wait staff, tour guides right through to the room keeping girls - hats off to all of you! Highlight was definitely the air boats with Scott, I have been on many wetland tours but never as close to the wildlife as this. Guests need to understand you are a long way from nowhere and consequently you'll have a lot of down time which was just the thing I needed to finally sit down and read a book with only birdsong in the background. The food was good. Couples wishing for a quiet, romantic getaway might reconsider booking during school holidays. As Darwin locals we were pleased to find a getaway such as this so close, but far enough from home and will certainly be back to treat ourselves again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07sistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear 07Sistas
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Wildman’s location is ideal for our Darwin neighbours who are seeking a break from the city. Although only 2 hours’ drive from the heart of the city, you can feel like a million miles away. I’ve passed on your compliments to Scott. The airboats really are something special. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future anytime you feel like an escape.
Kind Regards
Jason Yule
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having travelled up from El Questro it was going to find somewhere so good .
Stayed in Habitat villa which was spacious,spotless,and generally very comfortable though the bed was too hard for my liking .Great verandah and views.
Food was plentiful ,sort of home cooking style, certainly not high end cooking.
Some decent trips but not a touch on Kimberly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
DearWorldtraveller1953
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Wildman Wilderness Lodge. You really have experienced the best of the Top End of Australia. There is so much variety and so much to see and do on a journey across the top of WA and the NT. The team and I take pleasure in offering an “outback” experience that we hope meets and exceeds our guests expectations. We look forward to reading your travel updates from other journeys you take in the future.
Kind Regards
Jason Yule
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We liked it so much we extended our stay ... Great team looking after us and so nice to come back to an air conditioned villa after touring Kakadu. Mega hi-lite is the airboat tour with Scotty of the amazing wetlands that surround Wildmans, one of the best travel experiences we have had !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well what do you expect staying out in the middle of the bush? Noises that go hoot and squeal in the middle of the night. Also incredibly passionate and friendly staff, great food and wonderful guideded tours on the river, through the billabongs and wetlands. The wildlife and scenery are magnificent here. We sat on the porch and soaked up the big red sun as she sank in the west.
Yes it was hot during the day, but the a/c took the heat off and a swim in the pool did the rest.
It is a friendly and caring place. If you can afford it, the only minus are the mozzies. Be warned, they will carry you away if you are not prepared.
It's a great place to see Australia at its best.

Room Tip: The lodge has a/c and the rooms are so quiet. Repellant is provided but take something extra to ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveller082010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

At $700 a night we expected to be greeted with smile and red carpet instead we were told that dinner was being served and would not be shown to our rooms until after dinner. We ate with filthy clothes and screaming kids in tow then made our way to the rooms in darkness toeing our luggage behind us. One of our travelling companions was following and fell over one meter off the edge of the walkway on to rocks below narrowly avoiding serious injury, due to unbarricaded and poorly lit walkway. The experience didn't improve. Rooms / tents were not serviced, mozzies in the rooms and you were pretty much left to yourself. Meals were good - but that's about it. Save your $$, at best the experience is worth no more than $300 a night!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnybegood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I have read your review with concern and would like to follow up with you directly if possible to obtain the details of your stay. It is our intention to exceed guest expectations at Wildman Wilderness Lodge and I am very sorry we did not achieve this for you. If you would like to follow up, I would be pleased to talk with you in more detail about your stay. I can be contacted directly at the property.
Kind regards,
Jason Yule
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Beauty, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this as a group and stayed three nights. While it is not cheap, it is good value for money unlike other places in kakadu. The accommodation is either separate villas or luxury tents - both are good but we were glad we'd paid the bit extra for the villas so we had aircon. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us and the food in the restaurant was top class. It has its own airstrip in front of the villas so you can park your plane out front if you fly in. It is a drive away from some of the kakadu attractions, but that is the casa wherever you stay in kakadu. Excellent - we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildman Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildman Wilderness Lodge

Property: Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Address: Point Stuart Road | Point Stuart, Mary River National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mary River National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mary River National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wildman Wilderness Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the lush wilderness of Australia’s breathtaking Top End, Wildman Wilderness Lodge is a new nature-based travel experience, situated in the Mary River Wetlands area half way between Darwin and Kakadu National Park. Recently opened in April 2011, Wildman is a small-scale, high quality safari lodge featuring a variety of boutique and environmentally sensitive touring options, including tours of Kakadu National Park and cruising on the Mary River. An unforgettable journey to an incredible destination, Wildman Wilderness Lodge is poised to become one of Australia’s must-visit locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wildman Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing