We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to get better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Needs to get better”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in a number of 5 star eco lodges around the world. Wildman has the potential to be be truly great, but it needs lots of hard work.

The safari tent was great. Well appointed and very comfortable. When planning they could have been a little more spread out and not in a straight line.

The food was terrible, certailnly not 5 star, it would be lucky to scrape in 2 - 3 star. We have stayed in other remote lodges in the NT who have done this much better.

The girls who served were great, the boy just couldn't care less...sorry if we bothered you! There is no excuse for such poor service.

The resort needs to work on the experience, we wanted to walk, but were advised to just walk along the road. When we did venture towards the back of the resort, towards the billabong, there were huge piles of rubbish. There needs to be more walks and activities. Neddie was great, it would be outstanding to have more of the traditional owners available to share their experiences.

I hope that the resort improves quickly, there is such a shortage of choice once yu get out of Darwin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eduonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    77
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
162
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

There appears to be a similar theme in all reviews so far, and I have to say I agree entirely. Overall this is a great place which really hits the right balance between luxury and connection to nature. However the food service is quite poor and stands out as particularly bad compared to everything else which is excellent.

The safari tents are just superb and really great fun. Well appointed, spacious and yet still feels like all the best bits of camping.

The food is average at best, and occasionally terrible. The menu is very limited and repeats itself every 2 days or so. One day we arrived for breakfast (in plenty of time) only to find they had packed everything up and the chef had left, because they thought all guests had alread eaten!

If they can sort out the issues with the menu and the food quality then this would be a clear 5 star location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eponline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear eponline,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

The Wildman team were delighted to read your comments. Wildman is surrounded by the beauty that is the Mary River National Park. The property effortlessly blends into the environment and offers our guests the opportunity to get a true feeling of the area.

We appologies for not meeting your expectaions in regards to our resturant dining however, we look forward to welcoming you back to Wildman in the future and we wish you the very best for the upcoming festive season.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Anthology Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

For a brand new lodge, it's easy to be impressed by the facilities (you have to see the tents to believe them!). And we loved the outdoor fire at night. But what impressed us most were the staff. They took the initiative and obviously care about what they do. The activities were well done, although I expect even more options will be added as the lodge matures. We were lucky enough to be given a preview of a new tour being planned - the Mary River Rockhole. Its much better than Yellow Waters, (heaps of crocs, birds, fish) and a beautiful wetlands area. The day tour into north Kakadu is long but very worthwhile. We stay in high end lodges and resorts all the time and really rate this one.

Room Tip: Habitats in hot months (Oct - Mar) as the have aircon. Either rooms otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Public Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear roamers1,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

The Wildman team were delighted to read your comments. Wildman is surrounded by the beauty that is the Mary River National Park. The property effortlessly blends into the environment and offers our guests the opportunity to get a true feeling of the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wildman in the future and we wish you the very best for the upcoming festive season.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Anthology Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent two nights here in a family Safari Tent (family of five). The accommodation is definitely glamping. There is no fault to be found. The tent accommodated us perfectly with a King Size bed, a set of bunks and a trundle with plenty of extra space. At night it can get a little chilly as there is only fly wire seperating you from the outside but it's all part of the experience. (Blankets sit on the edge of the bed)

All amenities are supplied including hair dryers, mosquito repellant and torch.

The early morning Billabong tour was great as was the walk around the property with one of the traditional land owners Neddie.

The pool area and service around the pool is great but there is teething problems when it comes to dinner service or getting advice on the surrounding areas activity. The food was a bit disappointing and the staff are bustling about looking frazzled. There are only a couple of staff who seemed to be in control and you could rely upon for exceptional service. Hopefully time will sort out this issue as it's a wonderful destination only a couple of hours away from Darwin.

Room Tip: The Family Safari tents are marvellous, feels like Africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus3explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear 2plus3explorers,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

The Wildman team were delighted to read your comments. Wildman is surrounded by the beauty that is the Mary River National Park. The property effortlessly blends into the environment and offers our guests the opportunity to get a true feeling of the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wildman in the future and we wish you the very best for the upcoming festive season.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Anthology Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We chose to stay in the habitat for two nights and found it very comfortable, with one of the best bathroom views, looking onto the wet lands. Very private, romantic...
The lodge offers tours of the river and home billabong which was a great chance to check out the crocodiles, jabirus and other wild life.
The breakfast and dinner which is included in your rate was passable if not a little under whelming, but then again you are staying in the out back, did however find it a little odd that lunch was not included as there is no where else to dine.
We did over hear some over seas tourist complaining about the amount of insects, we did not find it too bothersome, long sleeves and a little insect spray goes along way.
The staff and service is very laid back which i think goes well with the whole out back thing.
We would absolutely stay again should we visit the NT.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kensington61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Public Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear kensington61,

Thank-you for your review, it is so lovely to hear your feedback.

The Wildman team work hard to ensure our guests experience the best the “Top End” has to offer and we really do hope to see you visit us again when you return to the NT.

Best wishes from us all here at the lodge to you both for the upcoming festive season.

Guest Relations
Anthology Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Driving to Kakadu is always a special experience no matter January to April or june July august.The seasons explode before you with wildlife and the natural beauty of the landscape and river systems. Anthology has one of best sites to research Wildmann before you plan your trip to Kakadu..................Wildmann has a long pioneering history in the NT. I can remember my first trip to Kakadu in 1987 and calling into Wildmann as I explored the Territory for the first time as a young man.The website shows what is on offer far better than I could describe. A fun drive off the highway and the lodge appears before you after a 20 minute drive.A 4 wheel vehicle is recommended.The entrance and first impression are everything you could ask for.a boutique maybe bespoke lodge that has been planned to ensure you get to feel what nature has to offer.If you don't stay make sure you call in and have a look around while traveling to or from Kakadu.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Public Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Hotelsareourlife,

Thank-you for your review, it is so lovely to hear your feedback.

The Wildman team work hard to ensure our guests experience the best the “Top End” has to offer and we really do hope to see you visit us again when you return to the NT.

Best wishes from us all here at the lodge to you both for the upcoming festive season.

Guest Relations
Anthology Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This lodge is just outside Kakadu National Park and well placed if you want to visit the park but stay somewhere more upmarket than seemed to be available in Jabiru.

We stayed three nights. This gave us time to do the local billabong tour, a day trip to Kakadu (guided by Joan who helps manage the lodge) and still left us with a day to laze about the pool. Both tours are recommended, the tour to Kakadu was very good and tailored to our interests.

It has not been open very long (having been relocated from Queensland earlier this year, I understand) and consequently when we stayed there were few other guests - one other couple and a TV crew of seven.

The staff were friendly and helpful but the young lad left in charge of the bar and dining area seemed to find the job a bit beyond him or he was just bored. One morning there was nothing put out for breakfast at 7:20am, even though breakfast is supposed to be available from 7:00am. The food was variable: some very good, mostly fine, but one meal which was adequate but no more than that. There's a TV in the bar which we were surprised to see was left on most of the time. At least the young bored bar guy turned the volume down when requested.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They are positioned for good views of the sunset and so you can leave the blinds open without fear of being overlooked. The communal part of the lodge has an open-air lounge set up round an open fire which is a great place for pre-dinner drinks.

I had an unexpected medical problem just before we arrived which meant I had to take great care not to over-exert myself. The staff were very understanding and helpful. Joan, in particular, made sure my problems didn't get in the way of a great day trip to the national park.

In summary, a good place to stay. Although there are clearly a few teething problems they did not detract too much from our enjoyment of the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Charles2006,

Thank-you for your recent review, it is so lovely to hear your feedback.

The team and I work hard to ensure our guests experience the best the “Top End” has to offer and we really do hope to see you visit us again when you return to the NT.

Best wishes from us all here at the lodge to you both for the upcoming festive season.

Guest Relations
Anthology Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildman Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildman Wilderness Lodge

Property: Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Address: Point Stuart Road | Point Stuart, Mary River National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mary River National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mary River National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wildman Wilderness Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the lush wilderness of Australia’s breathtaking Top End, Wildman Wilderness Lodge is a new nature-based travel experience, situated in the Mary River Wetlands area half way between Darwin and Kakadu National Park. Recently opened in April 2011, Wildman is a small-scale, high quality safari lodge featuring a variety of boutique and environmentally sensitive touring options, including tours of Kakadu National Park and cruising on the Mary River. An unforgettable journey to an incredible destination, Wildman Wilderness Lodge is poised to become one of Australia’s must-visit locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildman Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing