We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Kakadu Resort(Kakadu National Park)
$167
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bamurru Plains(Mary River National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
168
78
33
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
78
33
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari tenthome billabongmary riverair conditionedbillabong cruiseday tournational parkairboat toursunset drinkscourse mealoutback experiencehabitat roombar areaearly morningceiling fandinner menunorthern territory
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 302 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Driving to Kakadu is always a special experience no matter January to April or june July august.The seasons explode before you with wildlife and the natural beauty of the landscape and river systems. Anthology has one of best sites to research Wildmann before you plan your trip to Kakadu..................Wildmann has a long pioneering history in the NT. I can remember my first trip to Kakadu in 1987 and calling into Wildmann as I explored the Territory for the first time as a young man.The website shows what is on offer far better than I could describe. A fun drive off the highway and the lodge appears before you after a 20 minute drive.A 4 wheel vehicle is recommended.The entrance and first impression are everything you could ask for.a boutique maybe bespoke lodge that has been planned to ensure you get to feel what nature has to offer.If you don't stay make sure you call in and have a look around while traveling to or from Kakadu.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Public Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Hotelsareourlife,

Thank-you for your review, it is so lovely to hear your feedback.

The Wildman team work hard to ensure our guests experience the best the “Top End” has to offer and we really do hope to see you visit us again when you return to the NT.

Best wishes from us all here at the lodge to you both for the upcoming festive season.

Guest Relations
Anthology Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This lodge is just outside Kakadu National Park and well placed if you want to visit the park but stay somewhere more upmarket than seemed to be available in Jabiru.

We stayed three nights. This gave us time to do the local billabong tour, a day trip to Kakadu (guided by Joan who helps manage the lodge) and still left us with a day to laze about the pool. Both tours are recommended, the tour to Kakadu was very good and tailored to our interests.

It has not been open very long (having been relocated from Queensland earlier this year, I understand) and consequently when we stayed there were few other guests - one other couple and a TV crew of seven.

The staff were friendly and helpful but the young lad left in charge of the bar and dining area seemed to find the job a bit beyond him or he was just bored. One morning there was nothing put out for breakfast at 7:20am, even though breakfast is supposed to be available from 7:00am. The food was variable: some very good, mostly fine, but one meal which was adequate but no more than that. There's a TV in the bar which we were surprised to see was left on most of the time. At least the young bored bar guy turned the volume down when requested.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They are positioned for good views of the sunset and so you can leave the blinds open without fear of being overlooked. The communal part of the lodge has an open-air lounge set up round an open fire which is a great place for pre-dinner drinks.

I had an unexpected medical problem just before we arrived which meant I had to take great care not to over-exert myself. The staff were very understanding and helpful. Joan, in particular, made sure my problems didn't get in the way of a great day trip to the national park.

In summary, a good place to stay. Although there are clearly a few teething problems they did not detract too much from our enjoyment of the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Charles2006,

Thank-you for your recent review, it is so lovely to hear your feedback.

The team and I work hard to ensure our guests experience the best the “Top End” has to offer and we really do hope to see you visit us again when you return to the NT.

Best wishes from us all here at the lodge to you both for the upcoming festive season.

Guest Relations
Anthology Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We loved our stay at the Wildman Wilderness Lodge. After spending a week in national parks in the Outback, it was great to relax in a beautiful setting.

The location is something you will always remember and the cabins are absolutely stunning. Very comfortable, design and private units with air conditioning and great views. You can see lots of wildlife (wallabies, birds, etc.).

The pool area is pleasant and there is a great lounge are on the terrace that makes the place look like you are on a safari in Africa.

The service was good in general, but inconsistent. When we arrived, we were greeted by the woman we thought was the manager. Then another woman took us to our cabin. Both were very good at explaining things and we had a good first impression of the way the place was managed. The restaurant staff was not as experienced and even though they were well-intentioned, they lacked the savoir-faire that you would expect from such a high-end lodge. They were very friendly, but some would probably think the service is a bit too informal.

Unfortunately, there is a major weakness in the kitchen. The price of the room at the WWL includes breakfast and dinner, as there is nowhere else you can eat given the remoteness of the place. On both mornings, there was a very basic buffet breakfast (cereals, fruits out of a can and yogurt) as well as a choice of eggs on toasts or eggs on toast with bacon and mushrooms (which, in my opinion, is pretty much the same thing). Great improvement has to be done to bring the breakfast up to a reasonable level. Our dinners were good, but again there was a lack of variety. On our first night we had a choice of chicken or beef fillet and on the second night, the choice was beef fillet (again!) or fish. That was quite disappointing.

Having said that, we had a great, great time at WWL. The only reason why I can’t give them 5 stars is the food. Considering the price you pay (570$/night for 2 people), we expected better food.

*Something that could also enhance the experience at WWL would be to offer a happy hour every night before dinner. It would give an opportunity for guests to meet and discuss and it would give the place a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthology-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear mnonthego,

Thank-you for your recent review, it is so lovely to hear your positive feedback.

The team and I work hard to ensure our guests experience the best the “Top End” has to offer and we really do hope to see you visit us again when you return to the NT.

Best wishes from us all here at the lodge to you both for the upcoming festive season.

Guest Relations
Anthology Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Son todas las habitaciones similares.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vete a otro lodge... Esto no es lo que esperas
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews