We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brompton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Booked two rooms for an overnight stay with my sons prior to the Great North Run last weekend. Both the double and twin rooms were super comfortable and spotlessly clean. The motel style works really well and privacy isn't compromised at all. We enjoyed a superb meal on Saturday night and felt very disappointed that we wouldn't be able to sample breakfast on Sunday due to our early start. Many thanks to all of the staff who couldn't have been more welcoming.

Gail McGrath

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price11, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Village Inn. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your short time with us. Don't wait until the next Great North Run to visit us. And next time let us know and we will arrange an early breakfast for you all. See you all soon. Kind Regards, The Price Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    67
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
182
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Humberston-on Sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed overnight 27th august for a friends wedding reception.This place offers fantastic value.Rooms we had were super,the staff were first class,very friendly and welcoming.The village setting is very idyllic.
Ticks all the boxes for a perfect stay.
Many thanks to the staff and owners

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RumpoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price11, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
This is a wonderful review.. Thank you and it has been shared with the team here. Please think of us again next time you are wishing to stay in the area. Kind Regards, The Price Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in a family room. The room was huge with a double and 2 singles and absolutely spotless, lovely big bathroom with power shower. Breakfast was delicious as was the evening meal we had on Sunday evening. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming to us and our 2 children. My parents live in Bedale and we will definitely stay here again when visiting. I would recommend this to everyone, as couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen72w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price11, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your short break with us at the Village Inn. The bedrooms and the rates have proved very popular since the recent launch. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the family. Kind Regards, The Price family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

A very comfortable stay at The Village Inn - the staff are friendly, helpful and competent, the rooms are spacious, modern and very clean and the breakfast was fantastic.
The location is in a peaceful and charming village 5 mins away from Northallerton, which has supermarkets, banks, cafes, shops etc.
We stayed two nightsand ate in the bistro at the Inn on one of those nights. We enjoyed a tasty, well prepared meal with a glass of wine at a reasonable price.
We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to friends travelling to the UK next year

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price11, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for the great review. We have received lots of positive feedback regarding all aspects of the Village Inn since opening. If you are back in the area again please let us know and we will get you booked in. All the Best, The Price Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have recently moved to Brompton and decided to give the village inn a go one Friday night. We were greeted by a friendly staff and a great ambiance. My husband and I are real foodies so have high expectations and the village inn did not dissapoint. Our starters were superb and presented to a high standard. The main courses were cooked to perfection and the ingredients were obviously fresh and of high quality. We unfortunately could not make it as far as desert but we saw other peoples deserts and they looked divine. We will definitely be back and can't believe our luck at moving to a village where we have the option of having some tremendous food right on our door step. I only expect things to get better as this newly opened restaurant finds its feet.. keep up the good work.. we will be back very soon !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price11, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for the lovely review. This is excellent feedback and we will continue the hard work to ensure these early standards are carried on and improved further. Make sure you leave some space for dessert next time. See you soon, The Price family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here overnight on Mon 15 Aug 2011 and what a delight it was. The Village Inn is set in the lovely village of Brompton near Northallerton, N Yorks. The accommodation is chalet style, tastefully decorated, very clean, comfortable, with a hi tech TV, hairdryer, power shower, plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, quality furniture and the ability to park your car right outside in a massive car park! Not only was it fabulously priced at £50 for two of us, including a scrumptious breakfast BUT the food itself at the Village Inn restaurant is truly amazing. I swear you could dine at a 'posh' expensive restaurant and NOT eat as well as you could at the Village Inn. For just over £20 we each had a three course meal, soup, rib eye steak and lovely delicate cheesecake. My husband had the belly pork starter, rib eye steak and an indulgent rocky road dessert!! Beautiful fresh ingredients superbly presented by friendly interested staff who just can't do enough for you. To top it off they serve real ale as well! We tried the 'gun dog' ale, brewed locally in Northallerton. The village itself is pretty with a couple of local hostelries and is conveniently situated for seeing plenty of this part of North Yorkshire. When The Village Inn completes its renovations to accommodate weddings it will be a truly wonderful venue. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Very clean, comfortable, quality furniture, TV, power shower, tastefully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john p, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
This is wonderful feedback. We have posted this on the staff notice board already. As one of our first customers to stay with us we are delighted you have enjoyed your short time with us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind Regards, The Price Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I recently visited this restaurant with my partner for Sunday Lunch. Considering it is newly opened, we were extremely impressed with the professionalism of staff and ambience, and both of our meals were excellent.

Starters were imaginative and modern, with a gastro-pub style, trendy theme running throughout the menu. Mains were perfectly cooked, with my partner commenting it's the best chicken he's ever tasted. We were too full for desserts, however those on offer sounded lovely too and we'll definitely leave room to try them next time.

Value for money was fantastic, we're looking forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlingtonFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john p, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for the fantastic review. We have only just opened and it is great to receive feedback this positive so early on. The early signs are good and we are receiving many more comments such as this regarding the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Village Inn soon. Kind Regards, The Price Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brompton
1.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.9 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porch House
Porch House
#3 of 23 in Northallerton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 88 Water End, Brompton, Northallerton DL6 2RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Brompton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brompton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family Run Inn is ideal for any occasion from a casual dinner to a romantic weekend away from the kids. 10 newly refurbished bedrooms all along with a 100 seater function room. The restaurant/pub has a weekly changing menu alongside the pub's classic dishes to suit everyone. Eat - Drink - Party - sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Brompton
The Village Inn Brompton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing