We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and beautiful place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lillingstone Lovell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My parents and I stayed here on the Sunday night after a long day at Silverstone for the Moto GP. Everything was just wonderful, from the welcome to the goodbye on the Monday around lunchtime after a pleasant extended breakfast sitting and chatting with Nicola and Bruce about their lives and our lives. They really do make you feel like you are a family friend within minutes of your arrival and nothing is too much for them! Our rooms were arranged pleasantly and catered for our every need. The bathroom facilities were lovely. The breakfast was perfect way to start the day, not too greasy, just right!

And the additional bonus of their four-legged family members made it feel really home from home as we are animal people for sure! On returning in the evening after a meal around 9.45pm, we were greeted by their dog wanting lots of fuss which she well and truly received and then one of the cats made herself quite the centre of attention in my parents room demanding cuddles and fuss, which she also of course received.

Have promised that we will definitely return next year for the Moto GP so look forward to seeing you all again then! Thank you for a fab stay! :o) Natalie, Glen & Tracey! x

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here at the end of the F1 gp before the long trip home to Scotland. This b+b is set in beautifull countryside and i was made to feel very at home, nothing was too much trouble for Nicola and Bruce, even a later breakfast time of 11am so i could catch up on some much needed sleep! Room was very clean and comfy with a lovely large shower/bathroom opposite. 3 course evening meal was delicious! And i was kept topped up with cups of tea while Nicola and i put the world to right;) Im definately hoping to return next year:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishlassx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Nicola and Bruce were extremely welcoming and great hosts. They welcomed in, looked after and spoilt the dogs, who in the end didn't want to leave. They were very accommodating to our hectic weekend plans. The rooms were perfect, the views and location was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay in contact and would love to come and stay again. Thanks again, Adam, Rob, Dolly and Billy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adz1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nicola and Bruce are the best hosts. They treat you as friends of the family after 5 minutes.

The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Nicola is a fantastic cook and don't forget to ask for a packed lunch, it is sumptuous!!

We will be back for sure, if only to get some of the fabulous home made marmalade!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Miriam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nicola and Bruce were very warm, helpful and friendly. We had a nice, clean & tidy double room at front of house. Peaceful, restful nights' sleep. Good-sized bathroom with bath, shower, sink and wc. Nice touch having bathrobe available. Plenty of tasty food for breakfast. Be prepared to play with Harrop (dog). We stayed here 1 night to attend a function at Whittlebury Hall (2.5 miles away). Taxi to Whittlebury cost us £10. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Also enjoyed a quick trip to Stowe House & Gardens.
Paul & Elaine, Wakefield - W Yorks

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What can I say but brilliant, friendly, welcoming and perfect "bloke sitters"! My husband and son stayed one night as they were going to silverstone I booked the gables for them after reading very well laid out and informative website. Although I didn't meet Nicola and Bruce I could tell they were very nice people right from the first email and the boys confirmed that! Room was spot on, clean and comfy with everything they needed. Breakfast set them up for the day and I understand harup the dog was a joy and just a bigger version of our mutt! Thank you for looking after them, I will have to come next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed a few nights whilst attending racing at Silverstone with friends from Holland. Excellent immaculate accommodation, very comfortable, nothing was too much trouble for Nicola and Bruce. We felt like family after a few moments. Their home is charming & beautifully appointed, with quality linens, plenty of resident's space and it's all immaculate yet homely.
Nicola's food is a joy and she seems to be able to put together tasty treats in a trice. We had a sumptuous picnic prepared at a moment's notice - so much better than any of the food on offer at the circuit, including luxury sandwiches, delicious fresh home made onion bahjees, a huge slab of zesty fruit cake.... need I go on? We came home to a tasty supper. To top it all our stash of beers was welcomed in their fridge - as I said nothing was too much trouble....superb hosts. Even their pets are fabulous! We shall be back!
Lynne , Lucas and Kasper - Team HAT on tour.... (Honda/Alfa/Twingo)

Room Tip: Ground floor double is fab, has door to garden, bathroom separate & right opposite & has end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lillingstone Lovell
2.2 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,497 reviews
4.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
313 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,421 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
2.9 mi away
Silverstone Golf Club
Silverstone Golf Club
#1 of 6 in Silverstone
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3-4 Brookside, Lillingstone Lovell MK18 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Lillingstone Lovell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lillingstone Lovell
Price Range: $46 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque village of Lillingstone Lovell, North Bucks (near Silverstone), The Gables Bed and Breakfast (B&B) combines old world charm with modern convenience and has fantastic views over open countryside. We're just a few minutes from Silverstone Race Circuit and only a short distance from Milton Keynes and Buckingham, and make an ideal base for holiday or work with free WiFi available. Nicola is a Cordon Bleu trained chef who can provide evening meals as well as picnics and packed lunches. Special diets can be catered for. There is off-road parking, and pets and motorbikes are welcome by arrangement. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing