We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racing & Craig David concert disaster”
Review of Lingfield Park

Lingfield Park
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Went to see Craig David and some horse racing with friends on 16/9/17. The worst event I have ever been to by miles, and I go to a lot of events!

A brief list of things I personally experienced, others had plenty of other things to say.

-Awful staff training levels, bar staff that didn't know how open bottles, or use credit card machines. Often very slow and not helping the massive queues.

-Uninterested security and other staff. Little idea what was going on where our when. Handled the passing public very badly. I think the concert started early in the end, causing people to miss it. There was no communication at all. A large percentage of the crowd weren't even allowed in the area to see Craig David, the stage placement was crazy.

-Totally overcrowded. Dangerously so. Children and pregnant ladies being crushed. Very few seats to be seen, children crying. No loo roll or soap, really slippery toilet floors. Fights breaking out with frustrated people.

-Ridiculous queues. They sold this event out months ago, and totally oversold tickets. Nothing could cope with the amount of people there, it was infuriating. Often queuing 45 minutes for food, drink or toilets. Pure greed. Ended up missing just about everything.

-More women in the men's toilet than men (can't blame them based on the queues)

-Portaloos hidden away with no one redirecting the 30 minute toilet queues towards them.

-Half the food and most of the drink sold out early. Prosecco seemed to run out at 3pmish, though I think they got the odd bottle in early evening. £30+ for a bottle, a lot of beer ran out at 5ish. Again, they knew how many people were coming.

-People having perfume confiscated at the gate for "glass safety reasons" but the bars handing out glass beer bottles and prosecco bottles (in cute little bags) to walk around with. And now they've "lost" everyone's perfume they said could be collected after.

The list goes on and on and on!

THEN to add insult to injury we couldn't even hear Craig David, even though we were next to a massive speaker which was turned off!! The concert was in a narrow section of the racecourse, it was insane! You just couldn't get near enough to the front to hear it. A lot of the people there were then blocked from even getting to the location of the concert for safety reasons so missed the whole thing.

So we did what a lot of people did, we left early in a foul mood. Home by 7pm.

Hundreds of people go into more detail on their Facebook page.

It's basically pure greed and a complete disaster in event management, the general public are getting more than a little fed up of this sort of thing. They should be refunding the ticket prices back without any quibble.

This sort of mismanagement needs coming down on with a tonne of bricks.

Disgusting!

Thank Nige74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield Park R, Front Office Manager at Lingfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear Nige74,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences with us.

Please contact info@lingfieldpark.co.uk for further details.

Best regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tribute band"
in 11 reviews
"race course"
in 20 reviews
"finish line"
in 10 reviews
"race track"
in 17 reviews
"finishing line"
in 9 reviews
"hospitality suite"
in 6 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 5 reviews
"main course"
in 6 reviews
"private bar"
in 3 reviews
"booked a table"
in 4 reviews
"waiting staff"
in 4 reviews
"marriott hotel"
in 5 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 7 reviews
"race meeting"
in 5 reviews
"parade ring"
in 9 reviews
"couldn't fault"
in 3 reviews
"race goers"
in 3 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 306 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

Went with my wife and 2 good friend's for what was supposed to be a nice day racing plus Craig David after. Booked a hotel close by got "gold circle" tickets and probably spent the best part of £600 between us and for what? Poorly organised, spent most the day in queues. Too many people. Could not even get to the gold circle as was completely blocked by thousands of people staff were downright rude when we asked how to get to it. Complete waste of money. Will be demanding my money back and will never go back.

2  Thank Essexnick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield Park R, Front Office Manager at Lingfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear Essexnick20,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced during the Craig David event. Please contact info@lingfieldpark.co.uk for further details.

Best regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

We went to Lingfield Park yesterday as a group of 12 for a day of racing and to see Craig David perform in the evening and what a disappointment. The place was far too overcrowded/oversold with horrendous queues for everything (food, drink, toilets) we just spent the whole day queuing! Some stalls even ran out of alcohol! It felt like we were at a festival, rather than a Racecourse. They simply didn't have the facilities to cope with that many people. Added to that the sound system wasn't working properly through the first part of Craig David's set, so that kind of topped it off really! Poor show Lingfield Park, Not your finest day...

2  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield Park R, Front Office Manager at Lingfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Nicola H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused. Please contact info@lingfieldpark.co.uk for any further inquiries.

Best regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

My friends booked this weekend for my anniversary, we had a great time, it does not take long to get in and once you are in there is plenty of food and drink to choose from, we were booked for the Craig David concert in the evening and it was amazing, it rained so hard though but still loved it there!!! I did not think food and drink was over priced, £4-£5 for a drink, £9 for pizza, foot long hot dogs, £6.50! Staff were friendly, plenty of facilities! But beware! Make sure all your taxis are booked in advance to and from the race track and I recommend Forest Cars. Great service

Thank whitstablebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield Park R, Front Office Manager at Lingfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Felicity S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am happy to have read that you had a pleasant time during our Craig David event and found the food and beverage services reasonably priced an enjoyable.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Gergo Jahni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Well what a waste of hard earned money , too busy long ques , dreadful expensive food , no provision for diverse weather situations, terrible acoustics NEVER again , come on get your act together

3  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield Park R, Front Office Manager at Lingfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Claire S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused. Please contact info@lingfieldpark.co.uk for any further inquires.

Best regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lingfield Park also viewed

 
Lingfield, Surrey
Turners Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to Lingfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing