We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great way to see our native wildlife”

British Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Lingfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a great way to see our native wildlife”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Simply a very enjoyable day out for all.. The talks are very informative. Always something new to see or being created. A chance for everyone to get up close to animals you would not normally see in daytime. Especially good if you are a keen photographer. When weather is good are some picnic areas when not so good the cafe is good. Staff are very friendly and always happy to answer questions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    92
    24
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wildlife made accessible”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

not sure why most of the most of the dens were empty but., i am going to stick my head out and recommend this attraction from end of march onwards. most of the wildlife is made accessible for your enjoyment here that usually would not come anywhere near you, so especially the children will have a chance to see a fox or otter at close range,, yes, the entry fee is a bit steep but i can not fault the facilities for the animals and the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. toilets are clean and there is food(though not a huge selection) at the cafe , ok the sausage roll was cold but you can always bring a picnic ad eat it oustide in designated areas.. come and support id say..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank manonamission38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our lovely wildlife”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great for all ages. Very interesting. There are talks on all the animals. We love it and visit regularly. Expect to find some of the animals sleeping during the day. There are glass screens indoors for you to view the sleeping animals. The cafe is really good too. Very clean and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Empty cages!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Payed £10.50 each to get in and only saw otters and foxes, the rest of the inclosures were empty. Have to say I was extremely disappointed!

Helpful?
4 Thank 1991Sparkle_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

love love love this place, sitting and watching our wildlife amazing! return time after time ! always welcome

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank joek99London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to British Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing