We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Day family meal”
Review of Owd Nell's

Owd Nell's
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Bilsborrow
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Year's Day family meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There was a large family gathering and the staff were helpful . The only thing was due to being New Years Day it was very busy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    125
    76
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“No hesitation to go back”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have stayed here, had restaurant meals, bar lunches and evening bar meals. I have experienced all that this establishment has to offer. The drinks service is good, it has always been very busy on the numerous occasions I have visited. Anybody expecting to receive their food order in 10 minutes is clearly used to microwave food.
Mike W.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch with questionable service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

A couple of friends brought us to Owd Nells Tavern after a long walk out at Beacon Fell for lunch. Understandably, it was busy at 2pm on the Saturday of a Bank Holiday, we eventually found an indoor table to wriggle into however it took quite a while for our very dirty table to be cleaned.

When ordering we joined a long queue which took about 10-15 minutes to get through to the order point at one end of the bar. Other staff were preparing drinks orders while one staff member took food orders, so they were attempting to make it efficient however with 2 or 3 staff down the bar doing very little, it would make more sense to open up another food order point.

The staff were very friendly throughout our visit however they did seem to be struggling to keep on top of demand.

A fantastic selection of beers including local ales, regional ales, fruit beers, bitter and internional lagers was only let down by the fact that quite a few seemed to be off service. It took me until my 4th choice to get one that was available, despite them all being advertised openly.

The food was very nice, tasted fresh, well presented, very hot and excellent sized portions. We'd definitely try again as the location is fantastic and it was nice to have a walk down the canal after lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanDeerskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“In Need of Tidying Up”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A while since we last visited, but called in yesterday for a coffe.On arrival the outside is in dire need of some colour, the outsides were drab and dirty and gave an impression of a run down establishment.However there were many people enjoying the sunshine and the queues for food were healthy. Prices for tea and coffee were ok, but the outside seating area again gave off a poor reflection.Given that the attraction is its quirkiness and quaintness of the old thatch buildings, its a shame that the overall impression is lost.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank chrisnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Pretty standard pub grub nothing amazing but the location and very friendly staff turn ordinary food into a very nice experiance

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owd Nell's also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
 
Bilsborrow, Lancashire
 

Been to Owd Nell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing