We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Well, after having read so many poor reviews, it is fair to say we were very hesitant about staying. We were attending a friends birthday in The Pavilion [which was excellent - food was a BBQ with own chef, perfectly cooked], and a few of us booked to stay the evening. We had a family room, for myself, husdband, 7 and 12 year old sons. The room was refurbished and lovely, very clean and comfortable. Fair better than some big chain hotels. Lots of attention to detail. Other friends had rooms, including the deluxe and standard - again all wonderful. Will we be coming back, absolutely!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowther1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 702 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I won a night at Guys at a charity event we attended. I'm not sure what the other reviewers were thinking but take this place at face value. Quaint and Oldy Worldy it's a Thatched old english tavern with lodging! We thought it was just brill. We stayed in room 61 and ate at Owd Nells pub which again was excellent. The pub was packed out when we strolled in at 8 ish and we couldn't find a table anywhere. We asked at the bar about a table through the droves of drinkers having a great time and the chap located us a table no problem. Yes it was wobbly and yes the pub was packed but it was just awesome, exactly what we wanted. More over, the place doesn't pretend to be anything its not. We also visited Barton Grange and had a stroll down the canal.
The ONE and only bad point. The blumming fan, extractor thing drove us crazy all night long. Then my fella figured out how to turn it off as we were making our way to breakfast, which we laughed at alot! Please go and enjoy this place for exactly what it is and what its not! (NB not a fusty, pretentious snot fest hotel, go elsewhere). Thanks to all at Guy's Thatched tavern who made our stay fab.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_Wareing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I have been a customer at guys for maney years since my teens, i am now bringing my children here and i have to say what a great easter weekend i have just had!! The egg hunt was great and my kids loved the easter egg at the end, the famers market was good to, they never stop trying to keep things interesting and fun, can not wait for the next event... the staff make the place and my kids love it

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stopped here at Owd Nell's Tavern for an evening meal ,myself hubby and mum. Mum ordered lasagne it was just a bowl of sauce and soggy lasagne, hubby orderded steak pud which was not the best of steak to say the least and no taste with it, I had the cheese and onion pie which was a tiny portion ,it had been microwaved as the pastry was so tough around the edges you couldn't cut it, served with the most disgusting combination of tasteless cold carrot and turnip ,peas, and the most unappetising salad I have ever seen. The price for each meal was about avaerage for what was on the menu but the quality was appalling.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

like an american motel. rooms good, probably be nice on a summers night, but it was feb and it was pouring down. food needs looking at. breakfast not bad. waitress was good craic. paid and left. doubtful if be back. Stayed here because Longlands was full

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffineater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have stayed at Guy's several times over the last three years and it has always been a pleasurable experience. We have stayed in the family room, deluxe room and deluxe superior room and the rooms have always been clean, well prepared etc. However this time we stayed in Room 27, which had been beautifully refurbished , but it was so dark as it had no windows so it was a little like being in a cave. I have to say by the third day I was ready to come home.
Breakfast was great and very filling and served by Agnes, who is absolutely great. She always brings a smile to the morning.
Overall I would still recommend Guy's to friends but tell them to avoid Room 27!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappycoupleBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife and I have visited guys at least twice a year for the past eleven years usually to tie in my birthday and our annaversary and i can honestly say i have never been dissapointed, especially with the champagne weekend! The staff are friendly and helpfull, the food delecious and certainly not from a microwave (the pizzas are made in a corner for all to see, with the pizza chef tossing his dough high into the air to indeed make the start of a pizza or with a flick of the wrist to cover an unexpecting waiter.) I can reccomend the surf and turf and the buffet breakfast where you may visit as many times as you wish is as good as a breakfast can be. The rooms are large and comfortable and i agree were in need of a makeover, which i belive has now been done but even without this they have always been clean and tidy. Guys is set in nice surroundings and has its own pleasing atmosphere, especially on a nice day by the canal. I have reccomended guys to friends and collegues and they are on thier second and third stays, which i believe speaks volumes. Its my birthday next week and can`t wait to have the champagne weekend and to stay in the new rooms which I`m sure will be like the rest of guys a pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalifaxBigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
758 reviews
9.7 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range: $72 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Guy's Thatched Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing