We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone downhill Im afraid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gone downhill Im afraid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2006

We stayed at Guys a few years ago and it was in much better condition, maybe it was the time of year we stayed or rose tinted glasses but things have changed, we stayed recently and the whole experience was dreadful. The room was shabby, the sheets on the bed were threadbare, the carpets were dirty, the toilet was broken and the steak in the restaurant was served completely raw (yes completely red raw, never seen a flame, straight off the cow!) with sauce on. We complaned to the manager who knocked the price of the raw steak off our bill (lucky us!). The restaurant was very busy but no excuses for that guys! Im afraid Guys Hamlet now feels like a cheap knocking shop for covert liaisons rather than a nice place youd go to celebrate with family and friends.

  • Liked — The exit
  • Disliked — Raw Steak
  • Tips/Secrets — Either dont go or take a frying pan
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barry1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    195
    93
    53
    65
See reviews for
122
300
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

Not sure where to start!
I stayed here with my husband and baby in a ground floor room which was shabby and outdated.
The basin was in the main bedroom and the taps didn't work.
The 'En-suite' was a pokey cupbaord with a toilet and a grubby shower that has cigarette butts in the tray!
We went for dinner at the adjoining restaurant and the quality of the food was abismal........
We had zero sleep due to room parties above us continuing all night, and two very frisky couples each side of us.
We are certainly not prudes but, the noise of couples having all night marathon sex each side was unbearable.
We admitted defeat the next morning and bleary eyed we checked out pronto!
The reviews on Trop Advisor did state all of the above..so it really is worth your while reseaching before you book!!
Never Again!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Give it a wide berth!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
6 Thank AskMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bilsborrow hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We have stayed here many times and just love the place. The food is superb and so reasonably priced. The pub has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff so helpful. The surroundings are perfect, even though a main road is close by there is no noise. The walls of the chalets are a bit thin but so are many hotel rooms. Its never been a problem. The rooms are beautifully furnished and clean. Well worth a visit!!

  • Liked — location and pub
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oakmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

superb accom. food excellent, friendly and very welcoming. 24 in our party thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

Just returned from a visit to this very strange place. It is not (as you might suspect from the adverts) in the middle of the countryside, but beside a roundabout on a busy main road. True it does overlook a pleasant canal but the accomodation blocks are set round the car park and are not scenic at all. It is like a really naff tiny theme park, the shops were shut and on a cold March weekend there is not a lot to do. Having said all that the food was plentiful and tasty and the service was very good.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny.M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2006

We stayed over for a night in one of the rooms with the spa. Even though it was a Sunday, it was pretty rowdy and a lot of young couples drinking until late as the disco runs till 2 as mentioned elsewhere. The walls really are paper thin, and we were stuck in between two rather energetic couples on either side which spoilt the entire evening. We have stayed before and this was the case that time too - we had presumed a sunday would be better. The spa bath is nice, except most guests seem to use theirs at silly times and as such, the spa machine keeps you awake with the noise.

Could be better!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2006

At last a place that is family owned and run!!!!!!

What a fantastic stay, meal, drink and even shop. Our room was over looking the lancaster Canal with Spa bath and room for the kids.

The welcome on our early arrival was warm and friendly. The room was ready for us at 11am and it was great. We had a bite to eat in Owd Nell's Tavern for lunch, home made steak & kidney pud with loads of gravy (Proper!!!). The kids had their own menu which they coloured in and posted in the competition post box, there was a vimto watch up for grabs. We fed the "well fed" ducks and swans, had a walk down spout lane, Maria bought a little something from one of the craft shops. In the evening we ate in Guy's Eating Establishment were the kids helped the pizza chef make their own pizzas before popping off to bed and leaving us to enjoy the rest of the evening. We kept in touch with the kid via Guy's own in house baby listening. What a great idea.

All in all what a brill place this is. There is something for everyone, young and old.

The colouring comp i refered to earlier on in my review Anna won it!!!!!!! We got a letter through the post inviting Anna back for a free meal when she comes to claim her prize!!!

Well done to the Wilkinson family!!! We'll be back very soon.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.5 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Property: Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Guy's Thatched Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing