We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely eating experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
1 review
“Lovely eating experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Friends and family meeting for a birthday treat. We were made very welcome by a number of staff, the service throughout was brilliant. We enjoyed the ITALIAN ATMOSPHERE, we were totally distracted by the continuity of the pizzas being sent out ,they looked and smelt delicious.Our orders;fish gammon and pizza were presented well and enjoyed by all.Our eating experience at The Pizzeria was satisfying and completely faultless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    215
    97
    55
    72
See reviews for
141
318
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed in the Jacuzzi room for 3 nights of sweet music and romance... we popped out to the pub the odd time and grabbed some food, but other than that we enjoyed the jacuzzi and the quiet.

Well advised for a romantic hideaway!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Called in with grandchildren for a pizza, our pizzas undercooked on the next table they looked burnt. The childs meal portion was very small.
However on another table a man had just proposed to his lady with a ring in a dish of chocolates, so sweet! Hope they have a happy life together I wish them all the best for the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LadyRovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The rooms are ridiculously overpriced. As soon as we got in the room we were met with a sewage smell which lasted until we left. The water in the room smelt also. The mattress didn't fit the bed properly and about four inches were bare wooden frame. The food in the Italian place is really nice, however in the owd nells it is overpriced and there are no options for vegetarians aside from a spinach dish! The food is really disappointing especially for how much you pay. I really would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisypie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bilsborrow hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Friday treat booked for my husbands birthday. along with sister and brother-in-law we both booked the same deal, we got a beautiful room with windows either end, £20 voucher towards the meal ( which was absolutely second to none), half a carafe of wine and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast for £80. excellent value, service and we will definitely be booking again soon as its only a half hour drive away for us too. the setting is really quaint and the canal and barges are an added bonus to blow the cobwebs away the morning after!!!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a window as some only had windows in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed in May for the la Dolce vita weekend what an excellent weekend it was, great entertainment , fantastic music and dancing, late into the night. Food very good and breakfast was very,very good. So good that we have just returned from another weekends stay there for the Lancashire day, very good again plenty of things going on and more good food. Happy Days

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

myself and my wife stayed at this establishment with my daughter and her husband who had come over from Portugal for a couple of nights . first our room was acceptable apart from my mattress which felt like a cover on springs room 8 . the first night we went to the restaurant. I ordered halibut and prawns sounded delicious. rubbish it came cold and when I cut the fish it poured out water . in fairness they didn't charge for it but never offered a replacement . the next day we had a relaxing day by the canal . we dined in the well stocked bar . 3 of the 4 meals came promptly but again stone cold . this time we complained to a young lady called Danya what a refreshing response . the meals were replaced with complimentary drinks she was the saving grace that evening . on check out I told them at reception of our experience what we got was OH DEAR. I emailed them regards our stay upto this date they have not bothered to reply . what a shame from a fantastic place . we stayed there a few times before without any great problems but this time the staff apart from Danya didn't seem concerned .

Room Tip: upper rooms preferable my daughters room on the first floor only had one small window that was in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestfriendted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
212 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Property: Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing