We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday special”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

we recently stayed at guys for the sunday special offer, this was our third visit and am pleased to say was as ssuccessful as always,
we dined in owd nells , and the quality of food was excellent, opting for traditional gammon steak , it was mouth watering , the service was very good with the waiting staff very polite and helpful , small concerns were the table cleaning was very slow, but got there, the overall tidying up in the bar and out side could have been better , bar staff needed cheering up a little, but it was a very busy time.. overall this was yet another enjoyable stay - rooms were clean (albiet a little tired but comfy ) but value for money - well done guys team , before departure next day we enjoyed the best breakfast on offer, able to help ourselves to whatever we needed was a bonus,

Room Tip: when booking request a refurbished room - although the old rooms are good the improved rooms are mag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    199
    95
    53
    66
See reviews for
124
306
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been going to guys regularly with my wife and family for over 20 years and never had a bad experience, love the restaurant, dinner and breakfast always spot on!, and staff always friendly. However just got back from celebrating a 70th birthday and noticed some areas are looking a bit tired and smelly (bar toilet).
Going back again soon (group booking for a 50th) looking forward to dinner in the restaurant just wish there was a bit more evening entertainment afterwards

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peetz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for a few nights visiting family. It's a pretty shabby place. Everything is well past its best and the rooms are in need of a real clean and tidy up. It's very very basic and we found a set of false eyelashes on the carpet. Don't expect too much. We were surprised not to find a fridge in the room and the decor was more 70's and the two rooms we were in were pretty shabby. We were forced to move rooms during our stay and weren't told......so overall it's neither fine dining or, good accomodation....

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor...the ground floor rooms are all blocked by bushes and trees..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeFallAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bilsborrow hotels

Blackpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner and I stay at guys for special occasions. The bar is excellent, there is always entertainment of some description. If its sunny sat outside next to the canal is idealistic!

Staff are helpful and attentive and also ensure you are advised of restaurant bookings available etc.

A visit in may 2012 the restaurant food was not as good. This year in may we could not fault it.

The rooms are basic, but bathrooms with spas are well maintained, spacious and warm.

Room Tip: Pay for the best spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been going to Guy's for years, my hubby and me go to get away from it all. Its somewhere we can stay have a few drinks and stay the night.
WE WILL NOT BE GOING AGAIN!!!! And I have already told numerous people I know not to bother.
We arrived on Friday around 1pm. It was quite a hot day but wasn't overly busy. It took about 20 minutes to get served at the bar to order our food and drinks in Owd Nell's Tavern. It was well staffed, but there was no organisation with the staff. No one seemed to know who was doing what. The food arrived and to be honest we wished it hadn't bothered. The presentation of the food was awful. It looked like somebody had just shoved it on the plates. But it was edible and after waiting for so long we ate most of it.
Late afternoon we checked into our room. The room itself was ok, but the bathroom was shabby and needed a good scrub. Dirt all round the edges of the Jacuzzi bath and the floor looked like it had seen better days.
We booked to eat at the restaurant in the evening. We decided to have a few at Owd Nell's beforehand and wish we hadn't bothered. Spent more time stood at the bar waiting to order drinks than we had time to drink them. It was just ridiculous, but the "best" was yet to come.
Got to Guy's and were ushered in straight away and given a few minutes to choose our food. Within 5 minutes of us ordering the garlic bread with tomato, it had arrived. It was NOT good. It was soft and doughy and the tomato sauce was tasteless. You could tell it had been rushed. It was the worst garlic bread with tomato we have both ever had (and we eat enough of it when we go out)!! The shrimp starter I had to send back. It was swimming in oil, but not nice olive oil, like fatty oil that stunk. The piece of toast that came with it was also coated. It was vile to be honest. Why didn't they cook the shrimps in butter like most places do?? They had also "shoved" some salad underneath the shrimps which just seemed pointless. No thought again had gone into the presentation of the food. My hubby said he felt like we were being rushed like on a conveyor belt, and I have to agree. His mushrooms were not restaurant quality. He had 3 and all of them were burnt with no dressing or ingredients stuffed in them. The steak was like an old leather boot and the sauce was tasteless. All in all very disappointed and couldn't wait to get out of the restaurant.
Do NOT pay for breakfast!!! It is buffet style and awful. Everything is swimming in fat. Seriously. Nobody could get the eggs off the tray. People were waiting for ages for things to come out and the staff were miserable and unhelpful.
I hope that the people who commented on the service and food also put reviews on here.
I used to always say to people, "go to Guy's, you will love it, its lovely". Not anymore. I will never ever go again. What used to be a beautiful friendly establishment is now unfriendly has some of the worst service ever and the worst food. Please tell your chefs that food swimming in oil is not the way forward and when paying for a meal we do not want to be rushed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sazzlepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

stoped off what was hoping to be a nice lunch
staff need a holiday or just a smile would do very unhelpfull and cant be botherd attidude
food very poor qulity badly cooked and fresh out the micro vegtables
poorly expland menu
only good thing is the price was not to bad but would of preferd a mcdonlads
will not be returning again sorry hope you need a trip from the hotel inspector to give you all a boost

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTOPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed at Guys on many an occassion over the last number of years (after finding it by accident)

We love the setting and on a summers night the atmosphere is really good. Both restaurants serve marvellous food.

However, over the years we have noticed that the rooms are becoming very dingy and worn.

We stayed for two separate nights in July 2013 (Thursday and on the Sunday) We had to ask for a non-smoking room and also one which has been decorated. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable (even if they are two single beds pushed together). The shower was excellent, with plenty of hot water. However, there had at one time been a leak in the roof and there was an awful brown stain on the ceiling was concealed (not very professionally) with a sheet of hardboard.

Still like Guys but please up grade your rooms as they can be hit or miss.

Room Tip: If you intend to stay in Guys make sure you ask for a refurbished room as some of the other (quirky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RINGFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Property: Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Guy's Thatched Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing