We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
bolton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we stayed on the 17th Feb 2013 as a valentines treat. my husband booked it as a surprise an what a pleasant experience it was. A couple of negative points first, we found a voucher code to have a 3 course meal which stated "any day, everyday!" when we rung up to book we were told "oh that's a mistake on the website and no offers run on a sunday." Secondly I would have to say the receptionist on arrival wasn't very welcoming. she wasn't rude but didn't go out of her way to give guests a warm welcome. we were told our room wasn't ready even though it was past our check in time. this wasn't a problem but she didn't seem particually bother by it. It was extremely busy as the ice rink was on, it is nice to see the owners generating business on what could be a quiet period. when we got into our room (35) we were thrilled. it was finished to a high standard and very modern. the spa bath was to die for and after a long walk by the scenic canal and a lovely evening meal it was the perfect way to unwind. unfortunately you could hear the spa bath in the next room too which is unfortunate as its such a lovely touch. the price of the room was great value and it had a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. we would return without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    215
    97
    55
    72
See reviews for
139
318
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed there and the last. The first impressions were not good. The whole buildings looked in need of repair and renovation. It appears there had not been any work done there in years. My fiancee booked an executive room 56 with jacuzzi. The tiles round the jacuzzi and in the toilet would benefit from being cleaned, they were grubby and dirty. some cobwebs round the ceiling. Stained ceiling tiles which were there sixteen months ago. This was confirmed by my fiancee who stayed in the same room then. Damp on the outside wall. Toilet smelt like a hamsters cage. Drain in wet room area filthy. grime round edges of wet room area and in toilet. The bed was broken which I repaired and was very noisy.!
On the positive side bed sheets were clean and the breakfast was superb.
This was not a cheap place to stay and the accommodation standards overall were very poor.


Not an experience I will repeat

Room Tip: Upwill be betterper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bilsborrow hotels

Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had the best night's sleep in ages here!!! Had a lovely meal in the bar. Didnt stay for breakfast, as had an early start! The room was spacious & the bed was very comfortable. The hardest part was finding where to register! All staff very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueblueruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed over with a large group for a family birthday. The double room we had ( no.5) was okay but the ceiling had a brown water stain. We ate in the hotel, food was okay in the evening, but nothing special. Breakfast was better.
Great thanks to the lads who had the job of clearing the snow from the road- you worked so hard!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed anywhere quite so bizarre. It was like the set for a western movie !! There were numerous locations on site which I didn't know the purpose of or whether they were open during the summer. The room I had was huge and nice and toasty warm.

The main downside of Guys is that if you are on the ground floor, which I was, you could hear everything that was happening above you including slamming doors and people retuning to their rooms at night.

If you are a walker Guys is situated on the canal side and I had a beautiful walk one late afternoon.

I wasn't impressed with the food but you are a captive audience when staying here on a business trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeacefulWarrior67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Myself, hubby and two friends booked a 3 day break from 30th December to 2nd January. We had a terrific time. The two non-smoking rooms were brilliant and ours even had a sofa in it, it was huge. The meals in both Owd Nell's and the restaurant were first class and the staff were always helpful and ready to please. Bar staff in both establishments were good, even on New Year's Eve which you can imagine was extremely busy. Would recommend this place in an instant and hope to return this New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: We had rooms 18 and 19 and they were brilliant. They were on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Me and my partner have just got back from a two night stay at guys thatched hamlet - this was our second stay here. It was our three years anniversary and he organised as a surprise we arrived at the hotel check in was easy and quick we arrived to our room and i had champagne on ice and a lovely bouquet of flowers that my partner paid for. The room was spotless couldn't find a speck of dust anywhere the only thing letting this room down was the carpet it had quite a few dark stains on it and there was no mirror near the plug sockets so it was a real struggle to do my hair but i managed, the hotel room was cold even though we had the heater on full so in the end we took the through over off the bottom of the bed and had to put it at the bottom of the door because there was a big draft coming through. we will be returning here as we love it, the food at owd nells and the restaurant is beautiful and cheap they have some amazing deals on at the moment, we also had breakfast here too which was lovely all staff was friendly and polite - defiantly recommend guys thatched hamlet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
978 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Property: Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing