We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Cyrus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Fishing Station
Ranked #1 of 2 St Cyrus B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's clear at this B&B that they've thought of everything a guest could need! The facilities are lovely and very comfortable, the food is excellent, and the price is reasonable. Being able to take a morning stroll on the beach out front is gravy on top. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location is a quiet, beachside area near the St Cyrus Nature reserve, ideal for local wildlife, seascape-horizon, cliffs and walking trails. Nearby Montrose, with its own basin, with extensive bird life and observation posts, is very well equipped for shopping for all provisions, etc. you'll need to self cater. Also, there are good tearooms and restaurants within easy reach. The North East Coastal Trail passes through the area, giving access to delightful coastal villages and towns on the way to Aberdeen. The accommodation, as noted by other reviewers, is first-class. Each room is a suite, with its own door and all facilities. The breakfasts, with good choices, are like the best at home. The prices represent excellent value given all that's provided. A home-from-home!

Room Tip: They all seemed good, so no special tip needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val D'illiez, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Everything about The Old Fishing Station is faultless. Anyone visiting this part of Scotland should include this B&B in their itinerary. The breakfasts were plentiful and excellent. Alison was a wonderful hostess.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishingStation, Owner at The Old Fishing Station, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for submitting a review. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesteren, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Absolutely a fantastic B&B. It's a little bit hard to find, but definately worth the steep road down! Look for a little sign beside the road south of St Cyrus. Through a few fields on a small steep road you end up on a lovely beach where this B&B is. Only a mile from the beach, you can hear the sea if you open the bedroom window.
The room was wonderfull. Very spacious, luxurious and very clean. The bathroom is specious aswell, and the shower has good power behind it and is nice 'n warm. The beds are fluffy and tidy. In short: This B&B has it all.
Very good freshly cooked breakfast with a wide variaty of cereal, fruits, toast and ofcourse a full scottish.
A great place for those who want to relax and enjoy being close to the beach. A jewel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Slightly remote but awesome location w/great beaches. If you like long walks and wildlife look no further, this is the place.
Arrived late evening had a nice, clean and comfy seaview room. We had a peaceful sleep.
Friendly hosts and great breakfast.
Definitely we'll return and stay longer w/you.
Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank yewtahjazzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Had a lovely stay, relaxed setup but beautifully presented, clean and modern B&B with a great breakfast. Stunning walks on the beach are a must as the location is exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My partner and I were delighted to discover that the Old Fishing Station at St Cyrus has reopened - under new ownership - as a B&B. When I visited several years ago, the place was in need of this much needed upgrade. So, we were so happy to discover that our spotlessly clean room & bathroom had been fully refurbished, with contemporary comforts - including an I Pod dock, complimentary toiletries and fair trade drinks. We enjoyed a cooked breakfast with nice touches like good quality ingredients and mini jars of jam - not wasteful plastic sachets. Also, our room enjoyed private access, views of the nature reserve, sand dunes and the sea beyond. This brings me to the highlight. St Cyrus beach is like a wonderful secret. You could easily pass through the village without knowing that below the cliffs there are breathtakingly vast stretches of sand, overlooking the dramatic north sea. So, with all of this elemental perfection on ones doorstep, the positive change to the The Old Fishing Station itself is just a truly welcome bonus! We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Cyrus
16.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Cyrus Village Inn
St Cyrus Village Inn
#2 of 2 in St Cyrus
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Seaforth Guesthouse
Seaforth Guesthouse
#14 of 18 in Montrose
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fishing Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fishing Station

Property: The Old Fishing Station
Address: Kirkside, St Cyrus DD10 0AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > St Cyrus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Cyrus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the beach on the edge of St. Cyrus National Nature Reserve, The Old Fishing Station is a former salmon fishing bothy which has been refurbished to a high standard. All accommodation is en-suite and has beautiful views of the dunes and the sea beyond. At the moment we offer three doubles and one twin bedroom - the twin and one double are on the first floor and accessed via a separate external stone staircase. The double rooms on the ground floor also have separate access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Fishing Station St Cyrus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing