We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old hotel but a bit out of the way for me!!!!”
Review of Shibden Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shibden Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shibden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights on business in Halifax and found it to be fine.

The food in the bar and restaurant area was superb and the staff were very attentive and friendly.

The hotel is extremely old and very homely but with all mod cons. There are a good selection of DVD's at reception for your use and when travelling alone this is ideal.

Not sure if I would like this hotel in the winter as it is very isolated but in the Spring / Summer it is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuairiBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Shibden Mill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

We booked a 'superior' room for 1 night at a cost of £117.00.We were allocated Room 9. On looking around the room the carpet was soiled, the wallpaper stained. There was damp around the window and sill. In the bathroom the enamel of the bath was chipped at it's base, anyone slipping during a shower could have drawn blood. There was black mold where the bath panel met the wall.. On visiting reception to complain we noted the tariff board was showing £111.00 for our room. The receptionist said this was the January price which had not been changed! She also said the room had been recently refurbished, which was clearly wrong. The manager's excuses were that the bath damage was 'recent' and refurbishment had not taken place, but 'it was due as part of a rolling programme'. If this was a superior room heaven help those in a standard one! We don't know what the food was like, we did not stay more than 15 minutes in the place

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Cancelled a booking for our wedding night and meal for 20 as the staff couldn't accomodate our request to look at the rooms when we popped in on a Sunday afternoon. We were made to feel like we were in the way so have booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincetheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

It was a very warm welcome to this homely inn with the low ceilings and beams you would expect in a building of this age. It is pleasing to stay in a room which appears to have a personal touch and is dfferent to the thousands of identically-roomed mainstream venues. The bar is very olde-worlde and has quite a lot of different areas to sit, many of which are located around the real fire. The food was good and service attentive. It would be a nice place to take the wife but when staying away on business it exceeds the needs and almost the company budget when a starter, main course and a single drink are nearing £25. It is a place where I would stay again but would like to see an additional bar-meal menu choice offered.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wessex_Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This was my second visit to the restaurant with my partner and his parents - we booked a table for 4 on 1.9.09. The portions were disappointingly small. My partner's father also booked his 80th birthday party at the restaurant in Sept 08 and after a complaint was made regarding the insufficient quantity of vegetables, further dishes were served. Although the quality of the food is very good and has never disappointed, prices are very high considering the meagre portions served. My partner's father thought he'd only eaten his starter when the waitress brought the sweet menu last week. My sister in law was considering her 50th birthday party for around 40 guests later in the year, however we will not be returning due to the continually small portions and my family and I left still hungry again from our most recent visit. Very disappointing. Our comments were passed on to the waitress when she brought the sweet menu.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank coopersnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

My wife and I travell a lot we always rate hotels and restaurants out of 10, just for a bit of fun.
We stayed 1 night, our room excellent (we think the rooms have recently had a make over)/the price more that excellent/food and wine absolutely spot on, we where given a choice of tables either in the upstairs restaurant or in the pub we stayed in the pub area/the staff were perfect, nothing was too much trouble/Breakfast was superb nice little touches, how many times has orange juice been brough to your table for a top up, and just a hint of back ground music playing rather than that awful "scrapy plate" silence. The pub/restaurant :- old beams, dark, old and interesting with perfect lighting, there was a great buzz to the place.
Our room was on the front of the hotel and with the windows open in evening we could hear the stream and small water fall. There are only 11 rooms, all in the old building, so no 1960's/70's crap extension hidden at he back.
It took us a while before the penny dropped but if a hotel discription states, 15th century coaching inn with 95 rooms, 90 of them are usualy in the Colditz block hidden at the rear.
Any way back to the "Hibden Mill Inn" for the first time in a long, long time we have no complaints what so ever, we give it a much deserved 10/10

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

we spent a couple of nights at this hotel. Our room was small, did need up dating a good lick of paint would not come a miss. The shower room very small and not clean, the bin had not been empted and the sink, taps, mirror was dirty. Asked at reception to have the bathroom cleaned. On our return to our room 3 hours later the shower room was in the same state, phoned reception who said that it had been cleaned, they then sent up an assistant manager who cleaned it himself.

The staff in the restaurant area (boys) all need a good kick up the back side, they were slow and lacked any energy. The breakfast bar was not kept topped up so very little to choose from.

The hotel on the whole is ok, have breakfast there, but would recommend looking in the many other pubs/restaurants in town for an evening meal. This hotel just passes for a night/ two night stay at the most.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloydstsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibden
1.6 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
381 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibden Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibden Mill Inn

Address: Blake Hill 1 Shibden Mill Fold, Shibden HX3 7UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Shibden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shibden
Price Range: $122 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shibden Mill Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shibden Mill Inn nestles in the fold of the Shibden Valley overlooking the Red Beck, near Halifax, West Yorkshire (England). This 17th-century inn is steeped in history and has been sympathetically renovated and restored so as to retain as much of its original charm and character as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shibden Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibden Mill Hotel Shibden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing