We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room!”
Review of Shibden Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shibden Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shibden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic room!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

When my partner and I arrived at the Shibden Inn, the receptionist automatically upgraded us as it was our anniversary, and the room they upgraded us to was stunning! It had a beautiful vintage style bath in the room and a lovely large, comfortable bed. It was a shame that we werent able to use the little garden area that backed into our room, as the weather was miserable. The restaurant was great, although mainly aimed at meat lovers rather than vegetarians. The staff were lovely and even called in the morning to ask if we would like our breakfast brought to us. A full English breakfast arrived within a few minutes and was very tasty. The Inn is set in a very quiet area so was perfect for a relaxing stay. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to the room with the bath in the room and a garden backing on to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelleS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    72
    24
    23
    16
See reviews for
78
188
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lovely restaurant inside and out. Service was excellent and food superb. Good range of beers. The outside sitting area is vast and covers busy and quiet places to sit and eat or just have drinks with friends on way home from work.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GaryCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Me and my wife where taking our 8 month old to eureka and decided to make a weekend of it. Not knowing the area too well we booked this, well I can honestly say this was one of the best places we have stayed. Everything started well, it was really nice to walk into the room with the radio on (a little touch that made it feel homely). The room was the smallest double they had ( we where told this before booking) but it fit us and a travel cot in fine. We decided to eat in the restaurant which was the second best idea of the weekend! Food was great, staff where lovely too. Had a good nights sleep (well as good as you can get with an 8 month old) only bad point was the room was a little warm for me. Next morning we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast, the waitress even got my son some scrambled eggs and a bit of sausage to try. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonynclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

First impressions - a lovely room with beautiful furnishings, a small courtyard and all toiletries etc needed. Lovely warm pub atmosphere with lots of alcoves, great food, attentive and friendly staff. What more can I say? One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. Wifi and phone connection a bit hit and miss but I guess that goes with the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ideal for a short break. About a fiver taxi fare from Halifax train station. Tucked in a little dip in the ground, so mobile reception is nonexistent, which makes it even better for a stress busting little get away. There's free mobile throughout and it's actually possible to connect to.
Very friendly staff, the service is good but not too attentive.
Although it is quite pricy the standard of finish in our room was impeccable, they'd certainly not scrimped on furniture.
The food in the restaurant is great, locally sourced ingredients and an exciting choice of dishes.

Room Tip: The Bower Suite is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

really nice cosy place for a relaxing break , superb food a litte pricey but we thought it was worth it . breakfast is really very good . the staff are very attentive and the finishing touches are so nice.you really have to try it for yourselves .

Room Tip: we went laterooms but we had a room with no view and no wi-fi but was 26.50 cheaper but we used the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewalker1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nestling in a secluded little valley (within easy access of Halifax, yet "far from the madding crowd"),
the Shibden Mill Inn is one of the most effective stress-busters any traveller could wish to find. We stayed two nights (one at either end of a week in Harrogate). After the hair-raising experience of
an hour's drive on the M62, the sense of calm as we turned into the hotel's car park was nothing short of magical. Everything about this place tells the same story - people have invested a huge
amount of time and energy in restoring the original building, and from the moment you check in at reception it is clear that the staff are 100% committed to making their guests feel completely at home. The rooms have been tastefully decorated and furnished to conform with the prevailing rustic theme, and if you're tempted to linger in your room you can enjoy radio, TV, or watch a DVD from the hotel's impressive collection. You can eat either in the Bar or the Restaurant, and the quality & value for money is quite outstanding. Waiting staff are very attentive and charming. Breakfast, served in the Restaurant, is amazing (with a huge selection of home made jams, marmalades, etc) and all ingredients in the cooked breakfasts are locally sourced. One recent reviewer has described the Shibden Mill Inn as "stunning". I don't think anyone could have put it better.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 on the way out and Room 7 on our return. Both were fabulous. This suggests that they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibden
1.6 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.9 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
343 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibden Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibden Mill Inn

Property: Shibden Mill Inn
Address: Blake Hill 1 Shibden Mill Fold, Shibden HX3 7UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Shibden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shibden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shibden Mill Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shibden Mill Inn nestles in the fold of the Shibden Valley overlooking the Red Beck, near Halifax, West Yorkshire (England). This 17th-century inn is steeped in history and has been sympathetically renovated and restored so as to retain as much of its original charm and character as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shibden Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibden Mill Hotel Shibden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing