We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shibden Mill Inn
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Manor(Honiton)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterloo Cross(Uffculme)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Honiton(Honiton)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Tiverton(Tiverton)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Padbrook Park Hotel(Cullompton)(Great Value!)
$60
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tumbling Weir Hotel(Ottery St. Mary)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
303
81
29
25
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
81
29
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchrestaurant upstairsroll top bathsuperior roomcooked to perfectionyorkshire breakfastthe pubkippersshibden halldvd playerbooked a tableblack puddingbirthday treatbed and breakfastevening mealtea and coffeecooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 455 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We travel from the south coast up to Scotland regularly and break the journey overnight in different places every time. Now I suspect we will always want to stay at the Shibden Mill - it's by far the nicest place we have found. It's set in a beautiful peaceful valley and the inn itself is really pretty. We'd booked a standard room but when we arrived, to our surprise, they upgraded us for free to the master suite. This does have the wow factor if you are looking for something special and romantic, but when we left we asked to be shown a standard room so that if we stay there again we know what to expect. It was freshly decorated and pretty, we'd have been perfectly happy in it. The bar was buzzing the night we were there, possibly because there was a pub quiz on. The quizzers were having a curry. We dined in the adjacent dining room. The atmosphere was cosy and the food - nouvelle cuisine - was very special, although that is reflected in the set price for the meal. The diners in the dining room were invited to take part in the quiz and even though we're not usually into that sort of thing, we found ourselves joining in and really enjoying it. Breakfast was as wonderful as we were expecting after the superb evening meal. There were local jams and honey which the waiter told us we could buy at the farm shop in the village. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in June 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were a party of 8 adults and 2 children so booked 4 rooms. The double rooms were luxurious but small, but this is to be expected from a place built in 17th century I suppose, the triple room however was spacious and beautiful. Tea and coffee provided also free WiFi. It is nestled in beautiful surroundings in a wooded area with a little stream close by. The hotel itself is very comfortable and charming so if you want to treat yourself to a typically British experience in magnificent surroundings this is the place! Breakfast needed to be seen to be believed, it was superb, we didn't eat again until the evening! Choice of cereal and fresh fruit followed by a full English cooked breakfast, a must-try if you are an overseas visitor! We ate in the bar one evening and most thoroughly enjoyed their meal, however it is not particularly cheap and I was disappointed in the menu choices but I'm not a fan of rabbit, venison etc. Presumably they have a regular menu change (?) so you can check this at time of booking. Staff are polite and very helpful and overall a wonderful traditionally English experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

No.This place has it all.had breakfast here for my birthday.Spot on.Cant fault it and I am picky.Really tasty.service excellent.Give it a try.didnt stay here live too near but rooms look nice!I might book in as a treat for hubby you never know

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank loumella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nestling in a deep wooded valley this delightfully quaint inn, with its combination of history and charm, provided a gorgeous quiet room, while the bar and restaurant would be hard to beat anywhere.
It was originally a 17th century watermill and retains many of the original features. Although the Inn has only has 11 guest rooms, it is a great place to stay.
The food in the evening was really wonderful, and breakfast a total joy. Our guests at dinner had the same difficulty as us, knowing what to select from the fantastic menu

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at this hotel. We were very lucky with the weather and were able to sit out and enjoy a drink in the garden. The service was warm and friendly throughout from management to the cleaning staff; all were exemplary. We stayed in a superior room which was a decent size and was bright and welcoming. There was tea and coffee making facilities and lovely biscuits. There was also bottles of water but both were sparkiling and we would have preferred still water (normally hotels provide one of each). There were the usual toiletries in the bathroom but there was no shower cap or the usual makeup pads and cotton buds; there was however a sewing kit. There was also bathrobes but no slippers so bring your own. I personally would have preferred slippers to a robe and normally if a robe is provided you also get slippers so I was a little disappointed with that.

The hotel itself was lovely and the bar area particularly nice; a typical old english style pub. The food in the restaurant was excellent; we had the barnsley chop for two people and it was delicious! Breakfast in the morning was equally good with excellent service throughout. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a superior room or the Bower.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZocindaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews