We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, time after time”
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne Saint Giles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bull Inn
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We eat at the Bull regularly, and the food is always excellent. The Bull is genuinely different, in a positive way. The service is homely, attentive without being overbearing, with a detailed knowledge of the dishes. The kitchen is there to see through the hatch, and the dishes are always interesting, well thought out, and local. I think we even saw the partridge being shot that morning!

I would equate it to feeling like you are at home, having a very special dinner cooked for you. Not too many seats, and no rush to move you on before a next sitting, very relaxing.

We will of course be back for more!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Bull was a pub that we had been meaning to go to for ages after reading a positive write up in a good pubs guide and at last we made it there this month.

From the moment we opened the front door we were made to feel welcome in the open plan style pub. Great drinks were served (definitely try the local ale) to our table and the food (although slightly pricey - think restaurant rather than pub prices) was perfect for a cold winters day. Our fellow diners were a mix of foodie and country sport pursuit types all of whom seemed equally delighted with their drinks.

All in all, well worth the trip to Wimborne St Giles (a beautiful Dorset village) and lunch or dinner at the Bull. We are already planning a trip to go again and maybe stay over night in one of the rooms above the pub.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friars17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

After a breath taking hilltop drive through rural Dorset we reached the tiny and historically charged hamlet of Wimborne Saint Giles where the Bull is located. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were shown to our modestly proportioned, but very comfortable en suite room.
The hotel itself a former "Spit and sawdust" pub, still retains most of its redeeming features such as an open fire, wooden beams, irregular interior, but no spit whatsoever.
There are however two attributes that stand out about this establishment. Firstly the food is some of the best I have ever eaten, and I have eaten a lot!
The menu is loaded with attention to detail, for example, of the ten main course options available the vegetable accompaniment was different for each dish. We stayed for two nights and found that the breakfast was so extensive, and tasty that we were unable to manage any lunch on either day which was a shame as on the Sunday we missed the Sunday lunch!
Secondly it should be noted that the location is about as quiet as you could possibly imagine! So quiet I was able to hear my tinnitus in absolute full fidelity. No traffic, no TV, no musac. Just the sound of my own thoughts, and those of my lovely wife. Bliss

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were Warmly met by Mark, He gave us his full attention, very relaxed, personal but ever so proffessional.Once shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, decorated to the style that one would expect of a great, loved and cared for building with lots of character. The bar area was comfortable, only suppassed by the inviting log fire and Leather armchairs and sofa.
Our drinks brought to us along with the menu, Mouth watering! and tasted even better! Dining was within the Bar area (not at all busy) service was perfect no intrusion of our privacy, no rush, very chilled atmosphere,
Breakfast and Neil, Neil welcomed us enquired on our nights sleep, Very informative of local area and places to visit kind enough to give advice of places to visit and to avoid. Breakfat fit for Royalty...! Locally sourced food products expertly cooked. set us up for the day.
Evening Meal menu differed from previous evening with more exciting temptations.
Service , charm, character, Food, comfort, ambience all a must. We will visit again.
Thank you Mark, Neil and Chef Dean.

Gerard Robinson

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paramechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I live very close to this pub but have not been to eat before.
Me and my partner decided to try somewhere different for a birthday celebration and decided to come here.
What a wonderful meal we had!!
I had the steak, tho it was £22 it was well worth it!! The manager said they had added new seasoning and garlic butter, and it was perfect!!
My partner had lamb and enjoyed it thoroughly!!
Unfortunately neither of us had room for desert after the generous portions we had for main so we will be going back for a desert soon!!
Good service and friendly!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank S666skh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After finding The Bull Inn in the dark of night, the warmth of the fire was equally matched by the warmth of the welcome by young Neil and his staff. After helping us with our luggage to our beautiful little room, we were left to settle in before joining other guests in the dining area for a dinner I could never have expected.
There was no 'pub fare' on this menu. It was an amazing array of Michelin Star quality offerings, so if you're after a plain serve of bangers and mash this is not the hotel for you.
We had entrees of duck, and delicate crab cakes with fennel and caper slaw, followed by a Pork Fillet Wellington and a cod with wilted spinach and smashed potatoes. Neil recommendations for matching wines was spot on, and the table service was prompt but totally unobtrusive.
What I also noticed was the care and attention Neil gives to his guests, in particular some older folk who he not only helped to the door but saw out to the front whilst telling them he very much looked forward to seeing them again upon their return. That's personalised service.
The dining hall was adorned with old hunting prints and French decor and the ornate bar added to the Bull Inn charm.
Our room was clean, cosy and very warm which was perfect on a -2degree night. Soft bed, coffee machine, and refurbished bathroom with French toiletries.
Whilst this is not on the main highway or thoroughfare if you are looking for something unique, or a foodies experience then we thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Grixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in early October and were impressed by the friendliness of the new manager Neil and his staff, the incredible food and the cosy atmosphere. The Bull's fantastic food is a draw on its own but the rooms attached make it a great place to stay in a beautiful part of England, you feel very far away from urban life or bustle and very spoiled to be there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne Saint Giles
5.3 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home Farm House
Home Farm House
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Saint Giles
185 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#2 of 3 in Cranborne
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
10 Castle Street
10 Castle Street
#6 of 27 in Wimborne Minster
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheaf of Arrows
Sheaf of Arrows
#3 of 3 in Cranborne
56 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#22 of 23 in Blandford Forum
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: Coach Road, Wimborne Saint Giles, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Saint Giles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne Saint Giles
Price Range: $86 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing