We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KopTown Hotel Segamat”
Review of Koptown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koptown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Segamat B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good location, next to the shopping mall. Just need to walk to the mall where there is cinema, cafe, supermarket, bookstore, etc..... it is also near to the bus station and train station.

TV with astro, free wi-fi (streamyx), free simple breakfast.

Free carpark, just at the entrance of the hotel.

Everything is free. Cool, right?

Room Tip: If you are looking for good location, this is the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeijingTrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koptown Hotel S, Manager at Koptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Beijing Trip 2012,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your comment about your room. Look forward to welcoming you & families here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived in Segamat not knowing where to stay and what to expect. We came here because we were told that it is next to the only mall in Segamat. The hotel is conveniently behind One Segamat (mall's name). When we arrived at about 9pm the hotel rooms all looked dark. We weren't sure if the new hotel is fully completed, so we asked to view the rooms and the staffs gladly obliged. We saw a few room types and eventually decided on deluxe (RM$108 nett per night).

I'd have to agree with the previous reviewer about the disparity between price and quality. The room was very basic. It was generally clean except for the bathroom which had many strands of hair on the floor, and the fit and finish left a lot to be desired. Housekeeping here is not 24/7, in fact it ends at 6pm if I remember correctly. We slept quite well though. Breakfast is served at the tables next to the reception lobby. We did not have that but went off to the mall for breakfast.

The only memorable thing about our stay was the staffs on night duty. Not only were they friendly and patient in showing us the rooms, they helped to move tables and chairs outside so that we could consume durian. In addition, one of the staff helped to open the thorny durian. Outstanding! Can't get that kind of service even in 5 star hotels. If it weren't for them, this would have been a totally forgettable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koptown Hotel S, Manager at Koptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear jpmugen,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate for the compliments on our staff & service quality and we have taken note of your comment about our rooms. Look forward to welcoming you & families here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel can do with better quality furnishings for the price quoted. It is new and clean and service is good but the front desk should not allocate rooms on the north side where the neighbouring shop did its renovation well past midnight. It should not allow more than the allowable number of guests per room as we discovered the extra students occupying the room next to us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segamat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koptown Hotel S, Manager at Koptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear segamat75,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take note of your comment about our rooms, and we will definitely look into the issues that you highlighted. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Segamat hotels
0.5 mi away
ID Hotel
ID Hotel
#5 of 8 in Segamat
15 reviews
1 mi away
VIP Hotel
VIP Hotel
#1 of 8 in Segamat
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#6 of 8 in Segamat
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Icon Hotel Segamat
Icon Hotel Segamat
#2 of 8 in Segamat
13 reviews
2.8 mi away
ID Hotel Yayasan
ID Hotel Yayasan
#3 of 8 in Segamat
1 reviews
3.7 mi away
H Hotel
H Hotel
#1 of 1 in Segamat
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koptown Hotel

Address: Jalan Kolam Air, Segamat 85000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Segamat District > Segamat
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Segamat
Price Range: $18 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that travel should take you places. Value KopTown Hotel is a chain of concept hotels offering the ideal combination of comfort and value to the savvy and cost-conscious traveler who wants to make the most out of each trip. Contemporary and tasteful interiors and locations easily accessible by public transportation make it a great choice for business or holiday. Located in the heart of Segamat, KopTown Hotel aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing & value for money accommodation for all. Adjacent to 1 Segamat Shopping Mall and walking distance to Segamat KTM Station and Bus Terminal. The entire hotel design, from the logo mark to the interior was design by KopTown Hotel, a team of architects with visionary skills. The hotel can be enjoyed by the lifestyles of all people today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Koptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing