We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit with friends or kids”
Review of Gouffre de Padirac

Gouffre de Padirac
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Padirac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Gouffre de Padirac, the most famous cave in Europe, is considered as one of the most interesting geological sites in France. After a vertiginous descent, by lift or stairs, of 103 metres, you embark on a boat trip along the subterranean river with spectacular views on the galleries. That's when you discover the "Grande Pendeloque" - a gigantic stalactite of 60 metres high - hanging by a string, it appears to admire itself in the "Lac de la Pluie". You then walk towards the "Lac des Gours" or the "Salle du Grand Dôme" with its 94 metres high vault.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great place to visit with friends or kids”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A great place to visit. Book in advance using the internet in peak season as queues can be enormous. You won't need to print your reservation, simply bring a passport and the reservation number. It is really worth the trip. Inside temperature chilly so bring a jumper or sweater.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Palgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,740
    935
    280
    80
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went to two gouffres in the region, and Padirac was way better! The other was Le Gouffre de Proumeyssac, which was good as well, but in comparison Padirac gives more bang for your buck. We took the stairs down, and walked to await the boat. We waited about 10 minutes for the boat. No photography allowed. When we got off the boat, a tour guide brought the group of us around. It's a very good cave. I've been to many caves and this is definitely one of the best. It was October when we went and we needed to have an umbrella or raincoat. The boat was a bit wet, and the walk through saw several 'rain' spots.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's All Been Said”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a truly great experience. We visited in October and can echo the previous reviewer's comments as we also didn't have to wait in any queues. Once down the stairs/lift there is a relatively level walk to the boats with some amazing rock formations to look at. The boatride was spectacular and although our guide didn't speak any English the views required little explanation. Once the boat has landed you meet up with another guide who takes you further along into the caves to see some more really impressive formations. Our guide made a huge effort to translate as much as she could into English. Note, you must wait for your original boat guide and return with them. We got into the wrong boat (trust us) but a lot of "Desolees" and "Nous sommes Anglais" seemed to amuse the French! Just before you get back there is a pause when a photograph is taken of you in the boat which you can buy for 8 euros - well worth it for a great memento of this very enjoyable attraction. (Clean, non communal toilets are available at the entrance/exit)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeccalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Drove for 90 minutes to arrive at this recommended attraction - was well worth it especially as there was no queue to go in. Boat guide was excellent as was his english. The walking guide wasn't so good but thankfully we had a French speaker in the group that we were with that could translate for us. A very worthwhile trip - the sights down there are amazing

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Slot canyon with a roof”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

If you were in the SouthWest of the USA and saw slot canyons or walked down the Zion River Gorge, well, this is what this place reminded me of, except it had a roof and a high one. It was the single most beautiful work of nature we saw on our trip and definitely worth the visit. What helped is that we came in mid October around lunch time and, with other visitors in single digits, had no wait whatsoever. We completed the entire boat/walk/boat trip and were back upstairs in about an hour and ten minutes. I heard about multi-hour waits during the high season so coming in October definitely made our experience better. The boatman spoke English, the walk guide - not so much, but he tried his best and, combining info in the brochure with his explanation, the group was able to get the gist of the explanations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gouffre de Padirac also viewed

 

Been to Gouffre de Padirac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing