We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11/10”
Review of Amanda's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanda's B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Gonubie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“11/10”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was our second visit here and it was as good as I remembered. We had the same upstairs room, with a beautiful bathroom and with a lovely view across the road to the sea from the covered balcony, the perfect place to sit and watch the stars and the sea with a glass of wine. This is one of the few places I have stayed where the room is so well equipped, microwave, plates cutlery, wine glasses, bottle openers etc. The room was spotless as is the entire property. Amanda, was away, but we were looked after extremely well by Belinda, her sister, who did a brilliant job, and whose breakfasts were wonderful and she made us feel so welcome We WILL be back. In my opinion this is the best B&B ever!!

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

In preparation for a long drive the following day, Amanda's was a wonderful, relaxing place to spend some quiet time. We arrived early in the afternoon and our room was already ready. The room was bright and cheery and immaculate. Breakfast was delicious and we appreciated the extra effort for an earlier breakfast as we wanted to leave early.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greytraveller_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was a really nice place to stay and we wished we were there for more than one night. It was just a stopover on our way North. However the rooms were very spacious, luxurious and immaculate. We were made very welcome and the breakfast was really good. As a birdwatcher I got up early and spent a half hour in the Nature Reserve just behind, finding a beautiful Crested Crane! Quite a location between the Reserve and the sea!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Amanda looked after us real well and the room was excellent, clean & comfortable. There is a great beach with boardwalk nearby, but you can also access the beach just across the road.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and there is selection of places for other meals nearby.
I would just point out that there is not a lot to do if the weather is not kind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst traveling from Addo to KZN but it would have been a pleasure to stay longer. Our room was spotlessly clean; with all the white tiles and white linens that is no mean feat! Our host was charming, friendly and helpful. A great overnight stop or good for a longer stay (the beach at the river mouth looked very inviting).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This B&B was a bit of a surprise for us and we did'nt expect much from it, since it was a stop for us somewhere in the middle of ZAF. Amanda was very welcoming, we felt like coming home to a family member. Her B&B , the rooms, the descriptions, the furiture, bathroom, all is simple perfection. I have never seen something as tidy and clean as this place before, this B&B princess really takes care of her business and this is what a B&B is about. She lives this, so I can highly recommend a stay. She's also right at the beach, with the fantastic calming sound of the sea. The town nearby is not spectacular but hey this place is great for a short stay, cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The decor of the room was really classy and the breakfast was wholesome! For me, the BnB set-up doesn't suit me personally as I want my key and to be left alone. There were too many rules plastered all over the cabinets in the room, I felt more like a teenager being scolded than a guest! I am sure there are compelling reasons for these notices to be placed, but they do make you as a guest feel as if you are imposing yourself in someone's home! Something that the management must think smartly about going forward!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a seaview and a balcony especially if you are a smoker, like me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gonubie
0.7 mi away
Benri B&B and Self Catering
3.0 mi away
Areena Riverside Resort
Areena Riverside Resort
#1 of 46 in East London
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbird B&B
Rainbird B&B
#7 of 21 in Gonubie
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
Cloud 9 On George Randall Drive
0.3 mi away
Ocean Dreams B&B
Ocean Dreams B&B
#5 of 21 in Gonubie
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's B&B

Property: Amanda's B&B
Address: 2 Hart Street, Gonubie 5257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Gonubie
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Gonubie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanda's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Amanda's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing