We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Amanda's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanda's B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Gonubie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst traveling from Addo to KZN but it would have been a pleasure to stay longer. Our room was spotlessly clean; with all the white tiles and white linens that is no mean feat! Our host was charming, friendly and helpful. A great overnight stop or good for a longer stay (the beach at the river mouth looked very inviting).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This B&B was a bit of a surprise for us and we did'nt expect much from it, since it was a stop for us somewhere in the middle of ZAF. Amanda was very welcoming, we felt like coming home to a family member. Her B&B , the rooms, the descriptions, the furiture, bathroom, all is simple perfection. I have never seen something as tidy and clean as this place before, this B&B princess really takes care of her business and this is what a B&B is about. She lives this, so I can highly recommend a stay. She's also right at the beach, with the fantastic calming sound of the sea. The town nearby is not spectacular but hey this place is great for a short stay, cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The decor of the room was really classy and the breakfast was wholesome! For me, the BnB set-up doesn't suit me personally as I want my key and to be left alone. There were too many rules plastered all over the cabinets in the room, I felt more like a teenager being scolded than a guest! I am sure there are compelling reasons for these notices to be placed, but they do make you as a guest feel as if you are imposing yourself in someone's home! Something that the management must think smartly about going forward!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a seaview and a balcony especially if you are a smoker, like me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Amanda's website says "Affordable Luxury" and that is exactly what we got when we stayed there last week. We were lucky enough to get the Honeymoon Room, even though we are old crocks celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary but in Gonubie for family reasons, but Amanda really went out of her way to make our experience special. Those extra touches meant a great deal to me because for various reasons we couldn't celebrate in a more grandocious style. The facility was spotlessly clean, spacious and with just enough luxury not to be pretentious. Even us arriving an hour early for breakfast was no problem and taken in their stride. We will definitely stay here again. Comparing to what else was available in the price-range offered, Amanda's B&B was a good choice.

Room Tip: We had the Honeymoon Suite, but I am sure that the other rooms would be great. This room has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenikwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had two night stay with my husband in Gonubie this weekend and what a treat. Remember to ask for the Honeymoon suite which has the perfect scenery. We watched the waves on the bed in the mornings and it was a real treat. Amanda made the best breakfast and it was a lovely short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We spent one night at Amanda's on March 18, 2012, on our way down to Cape Town. The room was tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. We were on the ground floor - so no view of the ocean from there. Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. My son and I were sharing the room and the only negative comment I have about Amanda's is that there is no partition or door between the room and the bathroom and toilet. This may be fine for couples, but certainly not for mother and son or even friends sharing a room. If I had known this, I would not have booked at Amanda's.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, book an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayerfal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our ocean facing room was lovely. Roll top bath, luxurious towels and bed linen. Tasty breakfasts although 7am to 8am for breakfast was too early for us however Amanda was so welcoming I'm sure we could have asked for a later start. Really good value. Ganubie is def worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma101james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gonubie hotels
0.7 mi away
Benri B&B and Self Catering
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
1.1 mi away
Rainbird B&B
Rainbird B&B
#9 of 21 in Gonubie
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Grande Vista
#3 of 21 in Gonubie
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cloud 9 On George Randall Drive
0.3 mi away
Ocean Dreams B&B
Ocean Dreams B&B
#5 of 21 in Gonubie
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's B&B

Address: 2 Hart Street, Gonubie 5257, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Gonubie
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Gonubie
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanda's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Amanda's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing